We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Everything was wonderful about this hotel, especially the location. It overlooks the beautiful California coastline on one side and the golden hillsides of Cambria on the other. The ocean was full of sea lions as deer grazed on the hillside. The kids loved swimming in the pool. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. And most importantly, the staff was warm, welcoming, and most helpful in selecting a restaurant.

Next time we plan a trip up the coast, we're definitely staying at the Fireside.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeavenlyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked an ocean view room during pricey season summer/$300. It was a special occasion. Room was OK but not great. View of ocean across the highway. mini fridge has no freezer. TV in bad location hard to view. Internet works well. Average pool and small spa.

Room Tip: Single story so you won't have to shlep bags upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We spent 2 nights here as part of a vacation driving from LA to San Francisco and really liked it. The room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace didn't put out any heat, but it was pleasant to have "running" while we were relaxing in the evening. This was one of the few hotels on our trip that we did not have any internet connectivity issues. The pool and hot tub were clean and we didn't hesitate to use them. Breakfast was not a big variety, but we found it adequate. The coffee was good, cream kept cold. Breads and pastries were fresh. The pastries were actually quite good - hand made from a local bakery rather than the standard muffins we got at other hotels. Location was convenient to town and Hearst Castle, and wonderful to be on the boardwalk at the beautiful beach. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Only downside was that the bathroom while clean could use some updating. The water pressure seemed a bit low - not sure if they can control that. All in all, though, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonotasoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Our recent trip through Cambria we stayed at the Fireside Inn. There was nothing I didn't like; our stay was relaxing and refreshing.

We ended up with a room facing the water. It has it's own patio and chairs facing the water too. You are on the road, but it had very little traffic. The king size bed was fine, and the fireplace was a romantic touch.

A pet peeve of mine is places with outdoor spas that don't keep them hot enough. This one was perfect and we loved it.

We're coming back.

Room Tip: You have to keep logging back into the Internet every time your laptop sleeps. My only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oregon97030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Extremely overpriced, yes it’s across the street from the ocean, but we still felt sort of taken advantage of as the accommodations and amenities did not match the price. And yes we probably have no right to complaint as we made the reservations based on our own research. This is what I would consider an older motel. The room we were in was OK, not that we will stay there again. The furnishing is pretty odd and mismatched. The bathroom is the smallest I can ever remember being in, maybe back in the early 60’s staying in motels that dated back to the 40’s. The bathroom lighting was the worst I have ever experienced. The room had a pedestal table with two, not very comfortable chairs. The room was way large enough to have a sofa or at the least a loveseat. There are some of their rooms that have a sofa bed, our room did not. The flat screen TV was in a cabinet with a mini fridge and three small drawers. The flat screen TV should have been wall mounted across from the uncomfortable chairs and pedestal table. But maybe the walls did not have 2x4’s in place to mount the flat screen. They did have a pool and hot tub and the carb heavy breakfast in a way to small breakfast room. No AC, we carry a fan in the car so used it at night. The BW information book in the rooms said fans were available at the front desk. Newspaper was available at the front desk, not delivered to the room. Cell service was just about nonexistent and the free Wi-Fi wasn’t any better. The fireplace we didn’t use, but the patio with just about full ocean front view was superb. The boardwalk is just across the two lane road with very light traffic and is really nice; it includes several places where you can access Moonstone Beach. There was a wonderful overlook spot on the boardwalk where we watched the July 4th Fireworks. Only 1 ½ blocks from the motel is “Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill”; GREAT place to eat. Linn’s in East Village great dinner, but there are really big, may want to consider a split plate with someone in your dinner party. Indigo Moon, also in the East Village, we had a steak dinner, it was OK, and service was only so-so. We chose to pass on the BW breakfast and ate at the Pine Tree Family Restaurant in the West Village. We caught a lunch at Old Stone Station; it’s a bar and grill not bad not great. We spent four full days, not counting our arrival and departure days all day trips out of Cambria.

Room Tip: Nice Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NVSallyReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

This hotel is clean and comfortable and provides a good free breakfast. That said, this is one of many inns side by side in a row on Moonstone Beach. All are within walking distance of the boardwalk and beach. All look pretty similar in terms of age and style. I booked online in advance and the rate seemed a bit high. In the pictures on the website, it looks like you will have a room with a porch on the beach. That is not so. The hotel is above the beach, on the boardwalk, like all of the hotels. Only a few rooms have ocean views and ours (like most) did not. The free internet didn't work very well either. On the plus side, the person at the front desk recommended a fantastic Mexican restaurant, Las Cambriatas. Best Mexican we've ever eaten!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RRK0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night after visiting Hearst Castle. It is a short drive from the castle and was perfect after a day of visiting the castle. It is across the road from the beach area, as are all the motels along this road. There is a walkway right across from the motel, so you can see the pretty views and the seals. It was cold and windy when we were there, so did not think of the place as "beachy", but the ocean was beautiful. It was nice to be on this road near the water and not in town. -- The motel is walkable to Moonstone Beach Bar and Grill, where we had a good dinner with a nice view. -- The room was large and clean. I could see the water from the window if I stood at the window and really looked. The room came with breakfast, which was convenient, since we wanted to get back on the road, to get back to San Francisco. The breakfast was like most serve-yourself ones--but you could also make yourself waffles. -- Be sure to fill your gas tank before you get to the Cambria area (like in Paso Robles) because the gas is very expensive in Cambria, and worse on the Pacific Coast Highway. -- We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haveticketwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,148 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £104 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing