We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Helpful Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Helpful Review”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I like to leave reviews for others because I have found previous reviews helpful to me....

Found the BW Fireside on the internet and thought it sounded the best based on price, pictures and reviews.

My strongest impression....seems overpriced for what you get but having said that, that is an unfair determination. All of the hotels on this stretch charge this amount (more or less) so that is the "going rate" and if you can get it, that's good business and more power to you. Now whether you are getting good value for your dollar...that's a bit more iffy.

The front office staff are very friendly and helpful. The room and grounds are clean. The free breakfast is fine, if only because you can grab a bite to eat without going anywhere. The hotel is old although it has obviously been remodeled. The patios people talk about are pointless IMO unless you have one of the ones in front which face the ocean. The others face the parking lot and you can probably touch the bumper of your car from the patio seating. The pool & the patio seem fine although we did not use. The small breakfast room is what others have stated but it didn't bother us. The thin walls others mentioned also did not affect us as we did not hear our neighbors or we didn't have any neighbors. We were in the furthest building from the office and in the back, facing the Highway 1. I thought the traffic would disturb us but not an issue.

The high side by far is the location!

As others have noted, Moonstone Beach is literally right across the street (and a very small street at that) and we woke up early to take morning strolls which was awesome. The second big plus is the staff which was very friendly and helpful. They took time to find a map of CA for us on checkout as we were looking for an alternate route back south.

Being someone from a creative profession, probably what the Fireside needs IMHO is a design facelift. Everything is neat and clean, just not very "upscale-ly"...and you are paying a kinda upscale price.

Would I stay again...Probably. A lot of the hotels look similar in age and style and I've read worst reviews on some of them. Also, my true rating of this hotel would be 3.5 Stars but you can't give 1/2 stars above. Kudos again to the staff!

Room Tip: got a discounted rate by booking on the Best Western website
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytripper_matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    364
    124
    38
    15
See reviews for
342
527
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This was the second time me an my husband stayed at this BW the staff was so nice...We didnt have reservations but they made sure we where taken care of.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralcalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. The motel is right across from Moonstone Beach, with easy access to the boardwalk (which is wheelchair accessible) and the stairs down to the beautiful rocky beach. We stayed in one of the ocean front rooms - definitely worth the extra money! We had our own private patio where we could sit and watch the ocean waves, plus view the gorgeous sunsets. (The road runs right in front of all of the hotels along this stretch, but it does not disturb you during the day, and it is quiet at night.) We could see the water anyplace in the room, even when laying in bed! There was even a set of binoculars in the room for guests to use - great to see the sea lions out on the rocks! The room itself was very clean and decorated nicely. We had a fireplace (gas logs) which gives off a little warmth, but is primarily for ambiance. Our room also had a coffee maker and a refrigerator (wonderful for snacks, juices, wine!), and the motel will leave real wine glasses for you to use if you request. In addition, the room had a small round table with two comfortable chairs. The bathroom was large, with a whirlpool tub/shower combination. The motel itself is broken into 3 large buildings. The guest rooms are all entered from interior hallways (it is all one-story, and most, if not all rooms have private patios. However, most patios face directly onto the parking lot. It is worth the extra to get the ocean-front rooms, as said before. The facility has a lovely small pool, and adjoining the pool area is the breakfast room where there are the usual free breakfast items - cereals, yogurts, breads/sweetrolls, juices, waffles. You can eat in the breakfast room (which is VERY small and stuffy), eat on the patio tables outside, or get a tray and take your breakfast back to your own room (and enjoy the ocean view!). My husband, who has multiple sclerosis, uses a wheelchair most of the time, but can walk short distances using canes. The breakfast room, which appears to be a converted guest room, could not accommodate his wheelchair very easily, (not enough room for a wheelchair to turn - he could only move forward and back), so we ate outside on the patio (which looks up to the hillside above - saw deer grazing) or back in our own room/private patio. Although we did not have a handicapped accessible ADA room, the room was large enough for his chair to move comfortably without any difficulty. (The ADA rooms appeared to be at the rear of the buildings - no views!) Our room was in the third building (farthest from the office), and these ocean front rooms are level from the outside hallway into the rooms. (The ocean front rooms in the middle building have a step up from the corridor into the guest rooms - not good for wheelchairs!) Our bathroom was also large enough for him to bring his chair completely into it, but not turn- he had to back out. We brought with us our own breakdown transfer bench for the bathtub/shower, which worked great. In closing, the staff was very helpful and warm, even giving us a free bottle of wine for our anniversary. We've been visiting Moonstone Beach/Cambria for 40 years, and we have stayed at various hotels here. We highly recommend the Fireside Inn - especially the ocean-front rooms!

Room Tip: Make sure to get one of the ocean-front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4forFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Everything was wonderful about this hotel, especially the location. It overlooks the beautiful California coastline on one side and the golden hillsides of Cambria on the other. The ocean was full of sea lions as deer grazed on the hillside. The kids loved swimming in the pool. The complimentary breakfast was very nice. And most importantly, the staff was warm, welcoming, and most helpful in selecting a restaurant.

Next time we plan a trip up the coast, we're definitely staying at the Fireside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeavenlyTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked an ocean view room during pricey season summer/$300. It was a special occasion. Room was OK but not great. View of ocean across the highway. mini fridge has no freezer. TV in bad location hard to view. Internet works well. Average pool and small spa.

Room Tip: Single story so you won't have to shlep bags upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We spent 2 nights here as part of a vacation driving from LA to San Francisco and really liked it. The room was clean and comfortable. The fireplace didn't put out any heat, but it was pleasant to have "running" while we were relaxing in the evening. This was one of the few hotels on our trip that we did not have any internet connectivity issues. The pool and hot tub were clean and we didn't hesitate to use them. Breakfast was not a big variety, but we found it adequate. The coffee was good, cream kept cold. Breads and pastries were fresh. The pastries were actually quite good - hand made from a local bakery rather than the standard muffins we got at other hotels. Location was convenient to town and Hearst Castle, and wonderful to be on the boardwalk at the beautiful beach. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Only downside was that the bathroom while clean could use some updating. The water pressure seemed a bit low - not sure if they can control that. All in all, though, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonotasoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Our recent trip through Cambria we stayed at the Fireside Inn. There was nothing I didn't like; our stay was relaxing and refreshing.

We ended up with a room facing the water. It has it's own patio and chairs facing the water too. You are on the road, but it had very little traffic. The king size bed was fine, and the fireplace was a romantic touch.

A pet peeve of mine is places with outdoor spas that don't keep them hot enough. This one was perfect and we loved it.

We're coming back.

Room Tip: You have to keep logging back into the Internet every time your laptop sleeps. My only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregon97030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,831 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
254 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing