We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Fireside Inn in May 2012 as Cambria was the perfect rest stop nearly halfway between San Francisco and Los Angeles on Route 1. This is unlike any Best Western I have seen in that the rooms are like a spacious B&B room with a fireplace and nice decor. Service was top notch from the time we made a reservation with the really nice and helpful front desk clerk to the time we checked out.

The location is perfect-- right across from the beach with access to Moonstone's walking paths (along the same strip with most of the other beachfront hotels). There is also a good restaurant within walking distance, and the charming "downtown" area of Cambria is not too far.

There is a heated pool and spa that we didn't use because it was cool during the few nights we stayed. Great value for the money as the room and amenities seemed to be of similar quality to much higher priced hotels close by. I'd definitely stay here again if I am ever passing through Cambria.

Room Tip: Standard rooms seem to be just as nice as the rooms wiht a (ground floor) balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank epac25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

990 - 996 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in May 2012 for a visit to Hearst Castle. It was our first trip to the area and we loved it. The hotel is directly across the street from the beach with great sunset views every night. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful including useful recommendations of good places to eat during our stay. The room was clean and modern with a very cozy gas fireplace. We enjoyed the breakfast both mornings - much more variety than we were expecting. The seating area in the breakfast room is a bit limited, but otherwise no complaints.

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gcoleman40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful, spacious rooms & grounds!!!! We checked in late in the evening, and the desk clerk kept the spa/pool open past the normal hours so that the kids could take a dip... so nice?! The beach right across the street with walking paths was breathtaking... wish we could have stayed longer. Nothing negative to say about this place!!!!! Perfect location near Hearst Castle, just a couple miles down the road. We have never been disappointed with Best Westerns, and this was a truly upscale hotel for the price!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haleysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the BW Fireside Inn in Cambria in May 2012. On check in I discovered that I had lost my credit care. The staff was extremely helpful with hints as to how I could stay in a room without a care. CASH is no longer king I guess. They even reduced the "incidental daily fee" which we had not idea existed because we were not told of this when making the reservation.
The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean. It was right across from Moonstone Beach. Nice pool and spa. A bit more variety for breakfast would have been nice but overall everything was hot and fresh.
BW Fireside, Fog Catcher Inn and one other are all on Moonstone Dr and all owned by Pacifica hotels. Nice folks and pleasant accomodations.

Room Tip: DONT stay at BW Cavalier in Cambria, Ca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Nicely updated older property on a quiet quaint pacific beach. Cross the street to the beach walkways and tidal pools. A beautiful non-touristy part of the California coast. Rooms are nicely updated with the amedities you would find in more expensive properties. Quiet with no road noise in the morning to top it off, so any room will be perfect. Jacuzzi went out the day of our arrival; they even offered the jacuzzi to their sister property down the street to use. Morning breakfast was ok, nothing real special, but still good. All in all, great stay for the money. Within walking distance of dinner options too.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ4UNME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Yes, we stay here at least once a year (you can read prior reviews), which should be an indication of how much we like the place. The staff is especially nice and helpful. The location is ideal. We stayed three nights and had a relaxing time, with walks along Moonstone Beach each morning and some afternoons. The room, which was very comfortable, had a fireplace and a patio with a view of the ocean. One night we ordered in pizza from JJ's Pizza in town and watched the NBA playoffs. We ate other meals at Robin's and Dragon Bistro, a superb and relatively new Chinese restaurant. An afternoon picnic (from Soto's Market) at Morro Bay was a lot of fun. Sorbet from Wild Ginger (we shared lychee, pomegranate, and blood orange flavors) is made in house and is excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KDsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Very clean. Staff was nice. Room with a patio and a fire place for a reasonable price

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutmeg435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
547 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,149 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £104 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing