We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The location of the hotel was very nice, right across the street from the beach. There was ample space inside my hotel room with a fireplace and my personal little terrace with chairs outside my room. I loved the complementary breakfast with so many choices available. I would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

691 - 697 of 1,261 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

The choice in Cambria is plentiful, I'm glad I chose BW Fireside Inn. The staff are so professional, at check-in I was offered to look at two rooms to decide which one I preferred. The rooms are just gorgeous, the pool area is very nice with hot tub, we used the hot tub after our tour of the Hearst Castle and before dinner. The breakfast was the best on our road trip, thanks for including such a high quality offer, so many motels who offer free breakfast don't do it well. Well done BW Fireside Inn. You set the bar very high! Couldn't fault anything at this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ac_braden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

A complete suprise. More of a boutique feel than you would expect. Cannot beat the location. Very clean rooms and never heard anyone after 9pm. Very good onsite breakfast which isn't usually the case with most places. Would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Best Western Plus Moonstone Beach in Cambria. While we were very short on time to enjoy it, we have already decided to return soon to spend a more relaxed time there. It was a very relaxing place and the location is just great.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank lcmauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Best Western Plus Fireside Inn has beautiful grounds, nice rooms and is a very short walk to the beach. Watching the sun set from our patio was perfect. The bed was comfoprtable but should be of higher qualitiy for the price you pay for the room. The gas fire place in the room is a very nice touch also.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was actually looking forward to sitting out on the patio of my hotel room here and enjoying the sound of the surf. The truth of the matter is that Moonstone Drive runs for about 1.5 miles, with wall-to-wall lodging choices. Not one of them have private beaches, as the lenghty boardwalks across the road are all public, being closed to parking between 10pm and 6am. The only real reason to stay on Moonstone Beach is that if one wanted to watch the high tide coming in under an approaching full moon, but this could only be about 30 minutes at most. As far as sitting on one's patio to enjoy the surf, the main highway is only 150 yards parallel to Moonstone Drive and noise from vehicles doing 55 mph pervades (but the inside of my room blocked this out). Yes, I could see and hear the surf from my patio, but passing traffic behind me ruined it all. Moving up to the main patio open to all guests was much better, but I feel sorry for those who would stay in the most expensive rooms adjacent to these communal patio areas.

Now comes the worst part. This place was decorated mainly with women in mind as there was absolutely no practicality (I happen to be a solo male traveler). The "romantic" lighting in the bedroom and sitting area was so low that I had to read maps and other information in the well lit bathroom. The sitting area with sofas was another point of foolishness. There was a nice table in the middle that was taken up halfway by two bottles of water that were for sale and a pitcher and glasses. Duh! Why have the table at all? Only a fool would buy this water when theire are better choices at the grocery store in Cambria. The soaps in the bathroom were all designer brand, with no consideration whatsoever for the needs of men. At this point, I could only assume that the large padded plaid "headboard" on the bed was there for when some poor man was dragged to this place by his very demading wife, he could at least slam his head against the wall without cracking his skull open. With all of these "decorations", I could not wait to leave this place, but I was stuck there for two nights.

I found great food and a much better atmosphere in Cambria itself, so I should have stayed there instead. However, Best Western is the only reputable chain with accomodations near Cambria and they have never gotten my reservation wrong because I always book through their own website. It was this fear of screwed up reservations and dishonest clerks at independent lodgings that kept me from booking in Cambria. My fears were probably unfounded and I would have done better staying at Motel 6 about five miles further away, since I always had to drive somewhere to get meals.

On the good side, the rooms and grounds were spotless. My room was quiet and very comfortable, and the staff was just awesome. I even ignored the massive work in the back hallways, because improvements appear to be in the works. These points save my rating from a dreaded one-star rating. I did not complain because it would have been, "What fool designed these rooms that I am stuck with?". I cannot reasonably expect the staff to undo some poor designer choices. Frilly types will love this place, but not this former biker. I need something practical.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Paul B.,

I appreciate the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am very glad to hear that you were pleased with the staff and your comfort of stay. As you noticed, we are always working to improve our charming hotel and property. In fact, we have some improvements scheduled that you may really enjoy. I hope we get to see you again another time.

Sincerely,

Justin C Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Best Western on Moonstone Beach Rd in Cambria, CA is a lovely location directly across the road from one of the nicest beach walks on the central coast. The rooms are large, beds comfy and breakfast is fresh and yummy. A perfect location to visit Hearst Castle, hang out in Cambria, and do some local wine tasting. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
472 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,079 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
904 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £108 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing