We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location, Poor Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It may be supply and demand that drives the price up, but this property is not deserving of its inflated rate. Ok, the view of the Pacific Ocean is stunning, but the room reminded me of vintage 60's and, worse, smelled bad when we entered. My wife was convinced a dog had been the previous guest. Maybe it was new carpet? And the fireplace could not have been more cheesy with fake logs and a tiny flame, crowned by a chipped mantle. Maybe not the fault of the motel, but there was zero mobile phone network. It wasn't just me. My neighbors advised me to walk across the street to get a signal, but that didn't help. The staff were very polite, but how much time does one spend with staff in a motel? No point in staying there again unless no other choice in Cambria.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeSteveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear SingaporeSteveL,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the magical setting of Moonstone Beach. We pride ourselves on offering superior service to our guests and I am sorry we could not do that for you as well. Please call me directly at 805-927-8661 so we can figure out a way to get you back as one our many loyal guests.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location across the street from the beach. The room was nice. We had a little patio overlooking the parking lot. It was nice to have a sliding door for air circulation, but if you are hoping for a ocean view it isn't what you would expect. We had a view as long as we stood up looking over the other folks standing/sitting on their patios hoping for a view. The buildings are perpendicular to the coastline. Be mindful that there is no AC (not that is really needed) but without the slider open there is no air movement. We had a hard time sleeping because it was so stuffy and warm. We didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding door open during the night. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice. Loved the homemade ginger cookies. In the morning grab a coffee/tea and head to the beach and enjoy watching the fog burning off.

Room Tip: ask the front desk for a fan. First come first serve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Leighof3,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Fireside Inn. It seems like you enjoyed the hotel and got to experience many different facets of the Cambria area. Please let us know when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent one night in this charming little hotel. The lady from the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in front of the beach and a 10 minute drive from Hearst Castle. Breakfast was good and the room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Aggiecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Aggiecane,

Thanks for the nice words about your stay at the Fireside Inn. We offer one of the best places to stay on the central coast and it is nice when our guests notice our attention to detail. Please give us a call when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were on 3week vacation on the west coast ( we are from the east), this was one of very favorite stops. Staff was so friendly and helpful. Had great restaurants within easy driving time. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Randy B,

It is very nice of you to take the time to write such nice comments about your stay with us at the Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach. Our staff is always appreciative when their superior guest services are recognized by our guests. Please let us know when you are ready for another wonderful stay!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Great area to watch sunsets, went to a small deli in town and got a picnic dinner to sit outside on a common patio to watch the sunset. Room had everything we needed. Easy and quick to get to Hearst Castle and Elephant seal beach. If you are heading inland from there wait to get gas, Paso Robles was almost a $1 a gallon cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oldtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear oldtraveler51,

It seems like you got to enjoy many wonderful aspects of the area while staying with us. There are so many fun activities close to the Fireside Inn. Let us know when you are ready to stay with us again, and we can fill you in on many other adventures to enjoy close to the hotel such as kayaking and nature hikes.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I asked for an ocean view room and was not disappointed. My wife and I were given Room 131 which is right across from the boardwalk and is featured on their brochure. Along with 6 or 7 other rooms, it also had a patio facing the ocean. The Inn provided binoculars for us to borrow and had a swimming pool and hot tub. They also provided a hot breakfast that included waffles, scrambled eggs, sausage, oatmeal, three different breakfast cereals, muffins, yogurt bananas, apples, O.J., and coffee and tea. The rooms are clean and attractive, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Justin even offered me a discount that was cheaper than what I could get on the Internet. Even then, it was expensive, like most motels on Moonstone Beach Dr. Save your money for a special occasion: ours was our 35th wedding anniversary. Gary

Room Tip: Ocean views rooms that face the ocean are rooms 101-104, 131-134. 134 is the only room that has two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary472014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Gary472014,

I am glad you enjoyed your ocean view room. The ocean view rooms at the Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach are some of the best view rooms on the central coast, so I am glad you got to enjoy that for your 35th anniversary. We will look forward to seeing you next time.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Perfect location. Easy access to Hearst Castle (fabulous) and Elephant beach. Right across Hwy 1 from the beach. Nice wooden walking trail, tide pools. Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and ample. Beautiful scenery, peaceful environment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Norine14,

Thanks for the nice review! It is so nice to ready that you want to stay even longer next time. There are so many fun things to do while staying with us, so please let us know when you are ready to come back!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,152 reviews
0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £104 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing