We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem by the sea!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I stayed there in early June. It was a great stop on our way to Mendocino. The rooms are spacious and the amenities are nice. I liked the robes and fireplace, but it was nice to have a patio also. The breakfast in the morning was good and filling. Enough to satisfy both of us. Across the highway, is the boardwalk area. Beautiful views of the shoreline made for a peaceful walk at sunset. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Pamela B,

Thanks for the nice review! It is nice to read about another wonderful stay at the Fireside Inn. We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful setting and nice amenities that we offer. Please let us know when you are ready to come back!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

733 - 739 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We as a family of five had a stop on our hw1 tour in little Cambria.

Location is almost at the beach, only one small street in between. We saw a lot of seals and squirrels as well, the kids loved it.

The reception staff was very friendly and organized as well. Parking is for free and also breakfast is included. Good value for money.

The room was nice and had a a gas fireplace as well which was not required but gave a nice atmosphere.

Pool and whirlpool appreciated by the kids.
The hotel belongs to the chain pacificahotels.com - and you should watch out for them, we also enjoyed one in the Los Angeles area, also recommended.

Close by you should go to the Moonstone Beach Restaurant, four houses away. Great food, perfect view.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank mavb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear mavb77,

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is always nice to read about families enjoying the Fireside Inn and the great setting of Moonstone Beach. As you discovered, there is an endless amount of activities in the area for all ages to enjoy. I hope we get to see you and your family again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Friend came out from Mississippi for the first time, and so we had to stay in Cambria, and the Fireside Inn was my first choice. Pricy but worth every minute for sure. We had a patio room, and could hear the ocean from the patio. The fireplace was great, and the hot tub was definitely hot. Moonstone beach is the most beautiful place on the central coast and the Fireside Inn was extremely accomodating. The beds were very comfortable, the room was clean and welcoming, the bathroom was a bit on the small side but other than that it was perfect. ave stayed here in the past, and would stay again in the future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Angela G,

It is great to read that you cannot wait to visit us again at the Fireside Inn! We pride ourselves on matching the service and amenities with the wonderful setting of Moonstone Beach. It is always nice to read that we are succeeding in being one of the best places to stay for visitors to the Cambria area. Please let us know when you are ready to come back!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a wonderful surprise. A family of four fit well in a two queen room (was very concerned but it worked out great). The room was clean (my #1 pet peeve - if it is not). The beds were super comfortable (all four of us agreed) and the location was great. The kids (14/11) both really enjoyed our stay.

It was our 1st time in Cambria and we choose wisely. The location was centrally located to the activities we wanted to do (Hearst Castle, downtown Cambria, tide-pooling, kayaking, etc...). Best thing - there is great Tide-pooling right across the street & there are some nice footpaths as well.

Breakfast had something for everyone. While there is a pool/hot tub we did not have time to enjoy it this time. We all wish we could have stayed 1 more night. Guess we'll just have to come back!

Room Tip: Ask for a patio for some "extra' space or an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bodie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Bodie2008,

Thanks for the nice review! We have a great staff and we pride ourselves on offering one of the cleanest and most comfortable hotels on the central coast, so it is nice when it is recognized by our guests. As you discovered we have the best location on Moonstone Beach with the tide pools, sea otters and harbor seals right our front. Please let us know when you are ready to come back and enjoy another stay!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

It may be supply and demand that drives the price up, but this property is not deserving of its inflated rate. Ok, the view of the Pacific Ocean is stunning, but the room reminded me of vintage 60's and, worse, smelled bad when we entered. My wife was convinced a dog had been the previous guest. Maybe it was new carpet? And the fireplace could not have been more cheesy with fake logs and a tiny flame, crowned by a chipped mantle. Maybe not the fault of the motel, but there was zero mobile phone network. It wasn't just me. My neighbors advised me to walk across the street to get a signal, but that didn't help. The staff were very polite, but how much time does one spend with staff in a motel? No point in staying there again unless no other choice in Cambria.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SingaporeSteveL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear SingaporeSteveL,

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. It is nice to read that you enjoyed the magical setting of Moonstone Beach. We pride ourselves on offering superior service to our guests and I am sorry we could not do that for you as well. Please call me directly at 805-927-8661 so we can figure out a way to get you back as one our many loyal guests.

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great location across the street from the beach. The room was nice. We had a little patio overlooking the parking lot. It was nice to have a sliding door for air circulation, but if you are hoping for a ocean view it isn't what you would expect. We had a view as long as we stood up looking over the other folks standing/sitting on their patios hoping for a view. The buildings are perpendicular to the coastline. Be mindful that there is no AC (not that is really needed) but without the slider open there is no air movement. We had a hard time sleeping because it was so stuffy and warm. We didn't feel comfortable leaving the sliding door open during the night. The gentleman who checked us in was very nice. Loved the homemade ginger cookies. In the morning grab a coffee/tea and head to the beach and enjoy watching the fog burning off.

Room Tip: ask the front desk for a fan. First come first serve
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leighof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Leighof3,

I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Fireside Inn. It seems like you enjoyed the hotel and got to experience many different facets of the Cambria area. Please let us know when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We spent one night in this charming little hotel. The lady from the front desk was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in front of the beach and a 10 minute drive from Hearst Castle. Breakfast was good and the room was clean and comfortable.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Aggiecane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin F, General Manager at Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Aggiecane,

Thanks for the nice words about your stay at the Fireside Inn. We offer one of the best places to stay on the central coast and it is nice when our guests notice our attention to detail. Please give us a call when you are ready to stay again!

Sincerely,

Justin C. Friend
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cambria
0.4 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
597 reviews
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
978 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
1,197 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £99 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing