We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 17 November 2008

We were aware this accomodation was little more than a glorified motel but we chose it for lack of any better options on the water in Cambria.We booked the 'updated' queen/queen room without a view or patio. As it turned out we were pleasantly surprised as the room looked exactly as expected. It was spacious and comfortable. I was actually pleased we didn't select and pay more for the patio rooms as they really don't look out on much more than a parking lot with people constantly walking back and forth....no privacy to speak of. And as the weather was beautiful, we were down by the water most of the time.The staff at the Fireside was friendly and accomodating. Breakfast was more than adequate and constantly being replenished. The road in front really wasn't a problem possibly as it was off-season. A walk accross this road puts you on a lovely oceanside pathway. We walked down to the water and watched the sea lions on the rocks. I would recommend The Fireside and would stay again although I might add that had this been summertime, the noise could be a problem .As it was it was very quiet with mostly seniors staying there.

  • Liked — Proximity to the ocean
  • Disliked — Old construction...could be noisy
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bellasusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    364
    125
    38
    15
See reviews for
344
529
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

spent the day traveling thru big sur and ended here at moonstone beach. the hotels along moonstone beach are across the road from the beach which has a wonderful wooden path to walk. a quiet street with older motels and a few restaurants. the inn is beautifully updated with a gas fireplace. typical continental breakfast. we ate dinner at the moonstone grill down the street which was great. in the morning drove a few minutes up the highway to see hearst castle. great stay!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soccerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield. UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2008

Single storey motel on the seafront with boardwalk a short step away for lovely walks. Excellent, clean large rooms with comfy beds, sofas and easy chairs, bath and top notch furnishings. Small patio virtually in the carpark but comfy chairs and some have sea views. Nice pool and hot tub but few sun loungers. Good breakfast and very helpful staff. Two expensive restaurants within walking distance but better choice a short drive away. Lots to do locally. You could do a lot worse than this good value BW which is one of the best of its kind. Recommended.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheSKIers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2008

This is along moonstone drive, one of the many oceanfront hotels/b&bs. Looks better on the outside than the inside. Decent place, but nothing outstanding. My said the interior hallways reminded her of a hospital. Great location and decent breakfast. What you would expect. A little pricey.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frugalguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carpinteria, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2008

The pictures on the web accurately describe this hotel. It was extremely clean and very comfortable. It turns out that all of the other hotels on Moonstone Drive are all next to each other and I'm glad we chose this one! Most of the rooms have a front patio with a slight view of the ocean . The continental breakfast was held in a very pleasant room off the pool and they offered a nice assortment. The employees at the reception desk were very pleasant and helpful. There is a restaurant among the hotels on Moonstone Dr. with a large outside seating area. Great for enjoying the ocean or watching the sunset. The food was excellent - service was a little slow though. Another restaurant we would recommend was the Sow's Ear in town. Great food! Overall, we had a very enjoyable time and would book here again!

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mzkrwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2008

I should say from the start that I was disappointed with this hotel from the moment I arrived. It is old and is set across several outbuildings. My room was dark and depressing and very warm.
The fire in the corner was not on but made a noise all evening. The wifi Internet did not work and the staff were somewhat unhelpful.
On the positive side, the breakfast was good although a vagrant appeared who then proceeded to fill up her bags with muffins etc...
I found this hotel to be overpriced and overdue a renovation.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank WB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Clean, comfortable room. But if you're there in the summer, beware -- THERE'S NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! Despite what the owner may tell you, it can get warm and stuffy in the summer. It's difficult to leave the window open, because most of them face the parking lot and all rooms are on the ground floor.

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable room
  • Disliked — No air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kib57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
261 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,818 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing