We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
362 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms, Excellent Location”
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Not the cheapest in town, but among the best. Huge rooms with gas fireplaces. The beach is just across the street. Many rooms have small balconies, but in the parking area. Don't expect cell coverage and wi-fi is weak and spotty. But hey, you're on vacation! Friendly staff and spotless housekeeping. Two night minimum at high season. OK breakfast included.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    554
    360
    123
    38
    15
See reviews for
342
522
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We were in Cambria for a wedding and spent two nights here. The motel was right across from Moonstone beach on Motel Row. The motel was an older property that had been mostly well maintained, but it showed its age. There was no room AC as the place was right on the chilly beach and the small room heater was noisy, but we had no need for it. The office staff was very helpful and friendly. There was an average breakfast included. The internet service was spotty and very slow at night, probably there is limited capacity and the motel was full. Cell service was almost nonexistent in all of Cambria although we heard that a new cell tower was coming in two weeks.
The location is the best part as we walked across the quiet beach road to stroll along the beach or just sit and watch the waves. Yes it is cool and cloudy in the morning but I found that to be refreshing and renewing and the sunny afternoons gave a more comfortable experience. The price was high, but the location sets that.
We had a smaller room which felt a bit cramped and the bath was small. We looked at some other, pricier rooms that had more space and fireplaces and larger bathrooms that would be more comfortable, but for a price.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichS040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2010

As other reviewers have pointed out, location is all with the Fireside Inn, as I guess is the weather. We were lucky enough to arrive in bright sunshine which undoubtedly made for a better first impression, as did the warm and efficient welcome at recepion.

Our large room was comfortable (though as others have also pointed out, the complimentary wifi required a great deal of perserverence), but in truth we required nothing more than a base from which to explore the great beach - opposite the hotel - and nearby town. In that respect it did the job.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LondonPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson,AZ
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

I really wanted to like this property even for the $225 per night fare. But it is ordinary in every way except location. We even had a piece of plaster and paint from the ceiling fall into our bath tub over night. The beach and weather are what they are up and down
the Central Coast, often cold and foggy. Being from Tucson we enjoy it. However, there is ample free access to Moonstone Beach right across the street from this motel by just driving there and parking on the street. The complimentary breakfast was standard fare but the serving room and presentation is cramped and both mornings there was were no places left to sit inside. It felt like and incubator. Fortunately we found the 54 degrees temps outside bracing with ample tables and chairs. . The free Wifi service was weak to non -existent. This is a poor value. If your going to Hearst Castle, Morro Bay is only 30 minutes away and much cheaper. And the ride back and forth is enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maranasam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Cambria a very strange place, seemingly endless fog and colder summer temps make the moonstone beach location a bit depressing. Across the street from a cold dreary beach, this motel is charming from the outside but really not worth much of the $289 I paid. Bathrooms in serious need of some upgrade. There is ZERO cell phone reception (AT&T, Verizon, and Virgin Mobile) anywhere near the Best Western Fireside Inn's location on the beach, and the WIFI code that was provided with check-in was worthless as WIFI was down. The hot tub was broken and asking for extra towels was difficult. the room was on the cleaner side, but not worth the price, TV was circa 1980. The fireplace was jammed in right next to the bed and the patio rooms overlooked the highway. The Fog Catcher looked like a much nicer place to book. Overall for those east-coasters looking for a comparison on where to stay half way between LA and SF, Cambria is a sleepy town where the obvious reason for your stay is either Hearst Castle or a half way point on your drive up 101. Reminiscent of your drive down 95 to Florida, pick a sleepy town like Rocky Mount, NC and you have Cambria, but with a beach. Good continental breakfast in the morning however.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe Springs, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We hadn't stayed there for awhile but recently went back because we always loved it there. This time I was very disappointed with the room, We don't have pet first of all. We opened the door & it smelled with dog. The bathroom needs updating for what they charge you. Of course the location is the best but for what you pay you should expect it to be the best too. We have been having more problem with hotel & pet's. All you pet lover's should leave your pets at home.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marciaclk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

the hotel was nice, had a great location in Cambria, although it was a bit pricey keeping in mind that it's a 2 -star hotel... our bathroom had very little water pressure , the showe head did not work properly ..other than that , it was decent. The fireplace inside the room was very nice .

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WithLove71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.3 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
798 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#7 of 12 in Cambria
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach

Property: Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
Address: 6700 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1814
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Cambria
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our coastal hotel features a year-round heated pool and spa, complimentary hot breakfast, beach cottage accommodations with fireplaces and easy access to the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, wineries, shops and farm-to-table dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Fireside Inn On Moonstone Beach Hotel Cambria
Best Western Cambria
Cambria Fireside Inn
Cambria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing