We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little hidden oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned from a two night stay using a travelzoo deal. I upgraded the room to a deluxe suite which was awesome. Two fireplaces, beautiful bathroom with all the amenities taken care of. We ate dinner at the restaurant on site and had a great meal. The Christmas market and light was great and well worth the four dollars.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pismobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,993)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,937 - 3,943 of 4,993 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the Cambria Pines Lodge for tow nights for a family wedding. The grounds and garden area were a very nice location to have a wedding. There is a large bar-lounge with a large fireplace and a big screen tv. Food at the restaurant was average, but the buffet breakfast (which is included) was very good. All of the staff members that we encountered were very helpful and friendly. The rooms however need some work. We stayed in a deluxe king room and the bed was horrible. (Several family members in other rooms had the same opinion.). The carpet was gross and the walls are paper thin so you can hear your neighbors TV or shower. The rooms are very outdated. Unfortunately we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valleytraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, as well as our Fireside Lounge and full hot breakfast buffet. We are aware that some of our rooms are due for remodeling and are making some progress in that area. If you decide to give us another try--and we hope you will--we suggest a Superior Room, which is a newer and quieter accommodation. Thank you for your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We paid about $140 for a night in a cabin room. It was freezing, and the wall heater was outrageously noisy. We could hear our neighbors turn the faucet in the shower. The bathroom is dingy because it's so old. Checkout time is 11:00 a.m., which is about an hour earlier than most of the other Cambria hotels. The bed was clean and comfortable. This would be a great room if they fixed the heater, updated the bathroom, replaced the people who answer the phones, and charged about $60. The grounds are beautiful, but Cambria is better when you stay in a hotel across from the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rantidote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Please accept our apology for the noisy heater and older bathroom in the Fireside Cabin. Almost every hotel property in Cambria has a checkout time of 11am, which is how we are able to get rooms ready for a 3pm check-in. If you compare prices online, you will see that our rates are very competitive with other Cambria hotels. We feel confident that you will enjoy your stay more next time if you book one of our newer Superior Rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Cambria Pines Lodge apparently lives off of one and done visitors to nearby Hearst Castle.

After spending two nights there last week, I cannot imagine returning or recommending the place to anybody I do not dislike intensely.

The place is way over priced and you can tell the help has a "so what" attitude when it comes to customer satisfaction.

We paid $300/night for a room that was large and comfortable but not worthy of the price tag. The food on the "free" breakfast buffet was what I consider "prison grade".

While there we discovered some really nice looking places down on the beach that I bet would have been happy to put us up for $300 or less.

If you are going to Hearst Castle, which I unequivocably recommend, pick your hotel through a Travel Agent or experienced friend. I relied on the Cambria Pines website and got smoked.

Room Tip: No Fitness Center whatsoever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FatPhil0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We're sorry that FatPhil025 did not enjoy their stay. Cambria Pines Lodge has thousands of repeat guests every year who feel positively about our rooms and staff. Our rates are competitive with other hotel properties in town. In the $300 rate range, we would offer a Large Suite or a Deluxe Suite during a holiday or other high season period. As for our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast, I guess there's no accounting for taste; most of our guests appreciate the variety, taste, and freshness of our offerings. We hope FatPhil0215 will reconsider and stay with us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here this past Christmas week for 5 days. Pros: They had a wonderful Christmas light display that you could walk through on their 25 acres. The nursery had beautiful plants and unique Christmas decorations for sale. The restaurant was pretty good and dog friendly. We had a dog friendly room with a real fireplace that was fairly nice and spacious (the bedroom area).

Cons: The bathroom was really small and horrid with that old 50s tile. I was even more mad when I peeked into a new cabin that was being cleaned and it was beautiful. They had the money to build those newer cabins but not remodel our old ugly bathroom. On top of that, the shower head was dripping when we arrived and part of the shower faucet was broken. I called right away to report the dripping and a man did come and check it. He said someone would come the next day to fix it and that never happened. They have a sign in the shower that stated it was better for them to have the push button dispenser for the shampoo and liquid soap since it saved wasting plastic with the little bottles but they can let a shower head drip for five days without any problems!!! The Internet connection was awful-the worst that we have ever experienced at a hotel. (Someone was complaining about it on the phone when we was checking in.) Good luck if you have to get on it for work. The TV channels are very limited. Most of the cleaning staff do not speak English and I couldn't ask them for anything and I should't have to call the office for something simple I need. And the front desk people are not very friendly. The morning buffet breakfast is not bad but they need to change it up a bit for people like us who are staying there for more than a few days. I doubt if we will return there again. Back to Moonstone Drive the next time we visit Cambria.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mooki32248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback. It appears that you booked one of our four 1960s-era Fireside Cabins, which do indeed feature classic small tiles in the shower. The "new cabin" which you saw is probably what your room will look like when it is remodeled into a suite within the next few years. We are very sorry about the shower leak; obviously there was a lack of communication among our maintenance staff. We did have an internet connectivity issue one night during Christmas week. That issue was fixed the next day. Our goal is to treat every guest with kindness and respect, and we apologize for not reaching that goal in your case. We hope that you will consider returning to Cambria Pines Lodge and promise to do our very best to live up to your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed at the Cambria Pines Lodge on 3 occasions and always enjoy our time at this property. We love the landscaping among the wooded areas with great views of the coastal mountains. It is a relaxing and quiet, charming county style oasis. The variety of accommodations are great also. From a large two room suite with two bathrooms to comfortable King size rooms with a fireplace, and cabins of various sizes. The staff are very helpful and extremely friendly. We love the grounds with all the trails, gardens, great restaurant and bar.
Even live local entertainment almost every evening. And then of course its just a mile from the Pacific ocean with splendid views. We feel its a great deal cost wise and with the great accommodations and amenities. Cambria is a charming little town with great shops and restaurants. One of our favorite places!

Room Tip: Two room suite with a view of the mountains. Even had deer come up near our balcony one time when w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagemaker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I decided to try this Inn in spite of the poor reviews. I received an email promotion from them which offered special holiday prices for their rooms. No restrictions were listed. When I called to book a room, I was quoted $219 per night. I mentioned that the promotional I had received quoted the same room at $139 per night. I was told that they would not honor the promotional price because they had only a few available rooms left. I believe this is called "false advertising." My husband and I travel often to the central coast. Needless to say, we will not be giving our business to Cambria Pines Lodge.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rebecca998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

For the record, the vast majority of our TripAdvisor reviews over the past two years have been positive. The e-mail promotion which we sent out to those who signed up to receive our offers stated clearly that the Holiday Spree rate was "subject to discount rate availability," which means that we have to cut off the offer when we are close to selling out. We regret that Rebecca998 was looking for a date which was not available; however, we are still offering the Holiday Spree rate on many dates through the end of February if she would like to try again. We have absolutely no reason to engage in "false advertising," as we are in business to make our guests happy so they will return and recommend us to their friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
641 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
1,000 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £86 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing