We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and Relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is our second time to stay at this lodge. I will keep going back because I love it so much. This time we had a regular room with fireplace. It was comfortable, had two beds and nice furniture. The bed was too hard for me, but that is the only complaint. The grounds around the lodge are planted in lovely gardens. You can find a peaceful, quiet bench and read or reflect on the nature. The staff is very friendly and efficient. Breakfast was included in our package and it was a full hot buffet and was wonderful. We also had dinner in the restaurant there. It was it was included in our package along with a bottle of wine. I'm glad it was comped because otherwise it is quite pricey. But the food was delicious. We both had surf and turf. The meat was tender and cooked exactly as ordered. Shrimp were in a tasty scampi sauce. Cambria is a very nice little town to visit, plus the seashore is not far away. This lodge is up in the pine covered hills. We stayed 2 nights. Will go again.

Green Features: Yes, they were very mindful of the environment. That are is in a severe drought and they had reminders about using water wisely, reusing towels if possible, a recycle waste can in the room, etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,801
    937
    318
    118
    83
See reviews for
820
1,785
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Love,love this special property. I loved it so much I thought they would have to evict me from my secluded bungalow ! Private garden patio 2 gas fireplaces, one in the living room the other one in the bedroom! So romantic! It also had a jacuzzi tub. The gardens are secluded, romantic and there are some little hideaway coves with heat lamps if only they would provide the groom!
A mistake is to only stay 1 night. The main lodge is wonderful as we'll.

Room Tip: They also have a dog park on the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and I visited Cambria Pines Lodge for a long weekend getaway. We were pleasantly surprised by how beautiful this property is. We had a superior room with a fireplace. The cozy patio overlooked the forest. It is a very quiet, serene place with wildlife all around.

We ate dinner in their restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

The complimentary breakfast buffet wasn't great but eating outside in the garden made up for the food's shortcomings.

Room Tip: Request one of the newly renovated, superior rooms with a patio and fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey542014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My family and I stayed here on our way back from Monterey. We had a fussy baby in the car and needed to find a place overnight. We booked a 2 queen room for a very reasonable price, and the minute we pulled in in was in love!

The rooms have a very romantic/cottage feel to them with a cute little patio area. Nothing too fancy, but cozy. We ate at cute little Mexican Restaurant in the City for dinner and drove about 10 min to the beach to watch the sunset.

The next morning, I woke up and had breakfast in a little garden area. Breakfast was nice: eggs, potatoes, toast, fruit and coffee and juices. Then we explored the gardens...

The gardens are amazing, not sure how else to describe them. Beautiful, lush, and charming, and covers a majority of the property. We walked around the gardens for a few hours taking pictures and letting the baby play! they even have an organic vegetable garden. We met one of the gardeners who was originally from our area in So Cal and he was one of the nicest friendliest people.....I wish I could remember his name ....from the Chino area....and he gave me some great advice about growing my own pumpkins. Thank you!

Overall this was a fantastic place to stay...charming, close (like a 5 min drive) to the beach, and minutes away from Hearst Castle. Great place to stay!!

I booked another stay here for November 2014 and can't wait to come back and do more exploring!

Room Tip: We were on a bottom floor and everything was very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: The gardens are well maintained and beautiful and are environmentally-friendly
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schererville, in
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best internet rates available for a two queen room. Very affordable. Stayed in the moonstone section. Very quiet in a wooded setting not far from the main building. Lovely grounds and lodge building. Had a great time at the bar meeting people from a over the world. Awesome friendly bartender Jeff was great at imparting local knowledge of restaurants and stops along the pacific coast highway through big sur. Cool staircase leads down to town. Don't walk down though if you're not in shape to walk back up. They also had a lodge cat who would frequently be found in his bed in the main building who gladly accepted some affection. Breakfast was great and free. Huge spread of pretty much every type of breakfast fare you could think of. Best continental breakfast I've ever had. Rooms were large and very clean. Well decorated with lots of natural light. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danwad5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

This would be our first time staying in Cambria. We choose The Cambria Pines Lodge because of Value, and what appeared to be a somewhat OK location. When we first arrived, and angry customer was at the front desk demanding a clean room!!! She was very angry!!! The front desk person, a young man!!! (LACKING LIFE EXPERIANCE) and KNOWLEDGE of what CUSTOMER SERVICE TRULY MEANS!!!!!! was not coming up with the proper answers for this angry woman. He kept trying to upcharge her $50.00 for a room upgrade, rather than saying WHAT CAN WE DO TO MAKE YOUR STAY WITH US A PLEASANT ONE!!!!! REALLY??? Our room wasn't too bad, had spider webs in the window sill behind the blinds, and a very musty smell. NEEDS REMODEL!! The next morning I looked over the hot breakfast, not bad actually, they had plenty to eat, I will give them that. The town of Cambria is not DOG FRIENDLY in my opinion. Signs all over the beach!! NO DOGS ON BEACH with or without a leash!!! Do your self a favor- See Hearst Castle, then travel down the coast another 15 minutes and stay in Morro Bay!! That's what I will do next time. Cambria Pines Lodge at least welcomes your pets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
We're sorry you had to witness an angry guest at our check-in counter. This guest wanted to move because her room had a spot on the carpet. As we were almost booked solid, our only option was to offer her a deluxe spa tub suite (usually a $100 upgrade for a suite that is $150 more than the regular room). The front desk associate was new on the job and consulted with our guest services manager before offering the guest a 50% reduction on the regular upgrade amount, which did not make the guest happy. Although we do everything possible to satisfy our guests, this does not generally extend to taking a $150 per night loss on an upgrade due to a spot on the carpet. Please accept our apologies for the cobwebs and musty smell in your room. We do intend to remodel many of our older rooms within the next year. There are five areas in San Luis Obispo County where dogs are allowed on the beach; although Cambria is not one of these, you can take your leashed dog for a walk along the spectacular Moonstone Beach boardwalk. Even in Morro Bay, the only dog-friendly beach is north of Morro Rock at the extreme northern end of town. Not only does Cambria Pines Lodge welcome pets in our pet-friendly rooms, we also have a dog park right here on the property. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Calif.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights with a Travel zoo special. The room was very nice. Comfortable beds and great view into the pines.
Staff is helpful and friendly. Had a great area to sit outdoors. Took the stairs into town, which we loved as well.
My only negative about the Lodge is the food. We ate dinner here two nights and the food is just not good. Absolutely no flavor. Eat at Linns or Robins in town. Much better!

Room Tip: Loved the superior room. Request this updated room when you make a reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1socalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Agoda so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing