We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,701)
Filter reviews
5,701 results
Traveller rating
3,516
1,461
452
157
115
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,516
1,461
452
157
115
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful grounds large suite murphy bed dinner package prime rib escape package live entertainment christmas market christmas lights scallops travelzoo deal get away bottle of wine breakfast buffet hearst castle living room love this place
Filter
Updating list...
4,547 - 4,552 of 5,701 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

1st time here to celebrate a birthday. Used the "escape" coupon - a great value for the money. I got a "superior" room (915), 2 dinners, bottle of wine, 2 breakfast buffets for $139. This room is one of the remodeled rooms, is spacious, 2 queen size beds with good mattresses & linens, gas fireplace for heat, nice TV, desk, 2 chairs & table, coffeemaker, refrig, microwave. Small, private patio. Bathroom is spacious with separate tub & shower. Very nice accommodations. As part of the package, you get 2 dinner entrees. We chose the prime rib (delicious). Their menu does have variety: you can get filet, steak and prawns, chicken, pasta, etc, All this is included as well as the extensive breakfast buffet. The buffet has 2 kinds of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, potatoes, oatmeal, etc. - very nice. The dining rooms have big windows that overlook the garden area. There is also outdoor dining (pet friendly) with a gas fireplace for each section. The check in process was very efficient and staff are friendly. The lounge serves appetizers and has nightly entertainment. We spent about 1 hour there 830 pm and had 2 drinks ($14 ! ). There's a pool and spa and an enclosed dog park. There are walking paths along the perimeter and a steep path to East Village. We very much enjoyed our stay here and will be back.

Room Tip: For an obstructed view of the trees & mountains, choose a room along the perimeter, i.e., 924-927.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just returned from our first trip to the Cambria Pines Lodge. We purchased one of the Travelzoo deals which included 2 nights, free breakfast both days, two free dinner entrees, a bottle of wine, and a bogo at a restaurant in town. The value of all of that alone was just great!

We arrived in the mid-afternoon, in time to make a full round of the gardens and trails. The gardens were beautiful. On the nature trail, we saw a deer, and were able to get pictures of it.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our cabin, which was a freestanding building with two units. From the front, it looks tiny, but once you are inside, it is nice sized. The bathroom has a separate tub and shower, and the shower has a dispenser for shampoo, conditioner and soap, which I like. We had a little enclosed patio and were able to keep the door open and with the front door open, got a nice cross breeze. The air was very fresh and clean there.

The breakfast was an upgrade from most breakfast buffets, with two varieties of eggs each day. The salsa was fresh and a nice touch. The hallway where the coffee and toast is located tends to get a bit crowded. The coffee was drinkable.

There was nightly entertainment in the lounge, which we peeked in on but didn't stay. It was crowded, so it must be a popular feature.

We didn't take the path into town, but if we had more time, we might have done that. It was a work-away-from-home trip for me, so we didn't get to enjoy all that we might have otherwise.

We had to call maintenance for a couple of items, and they showed up right away. Overall, the service was excellent.

Improvements? We had to think long and hard, and came up with just a couple of items. We didn't care for the memory foam beds. We wished the front and back doors had screens to help keep the bugs out when we left them open for airflow. The rooms got a little stuffy with just the windows open. The wi-fi was fine most of the time, but in the evening became spotty.

We found the Cambria Pines Lodge to be quiet and relaxing, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed here twice and each time the service and accommodations have been lovely! There was a slight mix up with my reservation with Get a Room however, the staff corrected it right away. The reservationists gave us an upgrade!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolalover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Restaurant was great for supper, excellent food and a very nice selection of drinks. The grounds are wonderful & the staff friendly and accommodating. Our room was nice and clean. Had a nice fireplace (I think they all do). Only drawback is that the walls are paper thin (not to mention the Duraflame logs being stored in the same closet as other combustibles and linens, a little unsettling when you're with a Hazmat Specialist!). I seriously hope management reads this and rectifies this potential risk. We didn't notice it until we were leaving.
Breakfast Buffet is spread out, so if you're looking for coffee it's in the back part.
Yes we would stay here again (maybe check out the storage closet first) :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We appreciate the excellent feedback. Our Duraflame logs are supposed to be stored in a location away from other combustibles. We will rectify this error immediately. Our highest concern is for the comfort and safety of all our guests. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I've stayed here a few times over the past several years, and here is my assessment.
Pros: Professional service. Beautiful gardens and grounds. Great pool. Large room. Comfy beds and linens. Great lounge and entertainment. They've got a kitty!!!!

Cons: Breakfast, while extensive, was terrible, bland institutional quality stuff. If you're going to offer it, make it tasty, not just filling. They tend to be very regimental about rules. While they are important to maintain order, one sometimes get the feeling one is in , a elementary school. Outdated mismatched furnishings, looks like a garage sale even down to the TV.s:

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Cambriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thanks for the great "Pros." As for the "Cons," we're surprised you did not like our breakfast, which is prepared fresh in our kitchen each morning. Most of our guests appreciate the variety and taste. Our "shabby chic" furniture seems to be a matter of taste. We are replacing all our older TVs with flat screens within the next month or so. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews