We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for Family vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Simi Valley, California, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ideal for Family vacation.”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here last night. There were 2 adults and 3 teenagers in our party. The place is older but I would say that it is well kept. We had a "suite" and the "Murphy" bed worked well and the pull out couch wasn't bad. Plenty of room in the suite. I had booked this through Tavel Zoo so it came with dinner for 2 and a bottle of wine. The service in the restaurant was great. Our server took off the 2 most dinners on our ticket. So we ended up only paying for 3 dinners. We walked to town down 257 stairs on the property. Got the exercise for the day coming back up. Breakfast this morning which was included was nice as well. I felt well treated and value received from this place. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,078
    1,018
    345
    122
    87
See reviews for
922
2,010
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I need to say straight up that this place was not for us. The rooms are large but poorly thought out. & in need of an update. There was a large bathroom in both the rooms we had but still the sink was outside the bath room, there was nowhere to put your stuff (shelves at least guys please!), the sink was in a quasi lobby out of the room and was the only place to wash after using the toilet but it also had the coffee machine there. Didn't really work so well! There's no room safe & no air conditioning though it was very quiet so opening the window gave no problem, it wasn't hot during our stay so we were ok. The TV was in a cupboard which could not be fully opened as other furniture was in the way. The beds we're comfy & it was very clean. There's no room service. The pool & jacuzzi were nice but the pool towels ran out each day we were there. Bizarrely you cannot use the bar/lounge after 9 if you are under 21 (the pool stays open till ten so this makes no sense if you have a family). You can order take out from the bar (restaurant closes at 9) and the garlic fries were really good. The breakfast was good and staff very helpful. The gardens were very pretty and there was a good food shop in the east village (fresh fruit etc). It's a good location if you want the lovely beaches which abound on this coast but there are nicer places to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar. No real bits to avoid. Possibly the pool area could be noisy especially if y...
See more room tips
Green Features: Nothing except the towel reuse in evidence at this hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickyperson910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
462 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Other than the very noisy rooms, this place is wonderful.. It is dated but the location is beautiful. Easy access to Cambria, an exceedingly lovely town. There are excellent restaurants within easy walking or riding distance. The staff at lodge are very nice. They serve an unbelievably great breakfast. They have wonderful on-line deals. They also offer wine tasting deals at local wineries. Just make sure you get and upstairs room. Forgot to mention the first class live entertainment in the lounge.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room
See more room tips
Green Features: The lodge is very environmentally friendly. Cambria is experiencing a terrible drought at this writing and the lodge is doing what they can to alleviate the problem.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

1st time here to celebrate a birthday. Used the "escape" coupon - a great value for the money. I got a "superior" room (915), 2 dinners, bottle of wine, 2 breakfast buffets for $139. This room is one of the remodeled rooms, is spacious, 2 queen size beds with good mattresses & linens, gas fireplace for heat, nice TV, desk, 2 chairs & table, coffeemaker, refrig, microwave. Small, private patio. Bathroom is spacious with separate tub & shower. Very nice accommodations. As part of the package, you get 2 dinner entrees. We chose the prime rib (delicious). Their menu does have variety: you can get filet, steak and prawns, chicken, pasta, etc, All this is included as well as the extensive breakfast buffet. The buffet has 2 kinds of scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits & gravy, potatoes, oatmeal, etc. - very nice. The dining rooms have big windows that overlook the garden area. There is also outdoor dining (pet friendly) with a gas fireplace for each section. The check in process was very efficient and staff are friendly. The lounge serves appetizers and has nightly entertainment. We spent about 1 hour there 830 pm and had 2 drinks ($14 ! ). There's a pool and spa and an enclosed dog park. There are walking paths along the perimeter and a steep path to East Village. We very much enjoyed our stay here and will be back.

Room Tip: For an obstructed view of the trees & mountains, choose a room along the perimeter, i.e., 924-92...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid82001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina Del Rey, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just returned from our first trip to the Cambria Pines Lodge. We purchased one of the Travelzoo deals which included 2 nights, free breakfast both days, two free dinner entrees, a bottle of wine, and a bogo at a restaurant in town. The value of all of that alone was just great!

We arrived in the mid-afternoon, in time to make a full round of the gardens and trails. The gardens were beautiful. On the nature trail, we saw a deer, and were able to get pictures of it.

We were pleasantly surprised by the size of our cabin, which was a freestanding building with two units. From the front, it looks tiny, but once you are inside, it is nice sized. The bathroom has a separate tub and shower, and the shower has a dispenser for shampoo, conditioner and soap, which I like. We had a little enclosed patio and were able to keep the door open and with the front door open, got a nice cross breeze. The air was very fresh and clean there.

The breakfast was an upgrade from most breakfast buffets, with two varieties of eggs each day. The salsa was fresh and a nice touch. The hallway where the coffee and toast is located tends to get a bit crowded. The coffee was drinkable.

There was nightly entertainment in the lounge, which we peeked in on but didn't stay. It was crowded, so it must be a popular feature.

We didn't take the path into town, but if we had more time, we might have done that. It was a work-away-from-home trip for me, so we didn't get to enjoy all that we might have otherwise.

We had to call maintenance for a couple of items, and they showed up right away. Overall, the service was excellent.

Improvements? We had to think long and hard, and came up with just a couple of items. We didn't care for the memory foam beds. We wished the front and back doors had screens to help keep the bugs out when we left them open for airflow. The rooms got a little stuffy with just the windows open. The wi-fi was fine most of the time, but in the evening became spotty.

We found the Cambria Pines Lodge to be quiet and relaxing, and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I have stayed here twice and each time the service and accommodations have been lovely! There was a slight mix up with my reservation with Get a Room however, the staff corrected it right away. The reservationists gave us an upgrade!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolalover38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
So. Cal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Restaurant was great for supper, excellent food and a very nice selection of drinks. The grounds are wonderful & the staff friendly and accommodating. Our room was nice and clean. Had a nice fireplace (I think they all do). Only drawback is that the walls are paper thin (not to mention the Duraflame logs being stored in the same closet as other combustibles and linens, a little unsettling when you're with a Hazmat Specialist!). I seriously hope management reads this and rectifies this potential risk. We didn't notice it until we were leaving.
Breakfast Buffet is spread out, so if you're looking for coffee it's in the back part.
Yes we would stay here again (maybe check out the storage closet first) :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We appreciate the excellent feedback. Our Duraflame logs are supposed to be stored in a location away from other combustibles. We will rectify this error immediately. Our highest concern is for the comfort and safety of all our guests. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing