We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here again but brought a child...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotts Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stayed here again but brought a child...”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Here for 1 night. Great rate, rare customer service. This time was a family stay with our son. Beautiful gardens, pathways & updated pool. Huge hot tub.The outdoor covered dining hideouts with hand-made artsy fireplace for expensive but exquisite dinner. Quiet room. 261 forest steps down to Cambria.

Room Tip: I read other reviews about loud rooms. We had our 8-yr old in tow & asked to be put in a quiet p...
See more room tips
Green Features: Huge collection tank that appears to be water catchment. Signs for hanging & keeping your existing towel. Wasteful plastic bottles were replaced with refillable dispenser.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacTheSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,636 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,068
    1,015
    344
    122
    87
See reviews for
919
2,000
48
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avila Beach
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our two Shih Tzus stayed here in a Superior Room (#900 and up) and it truly was! We had our own private deck (some have a little yard) under the pines. The rooms in this category are new and have coffeemaker, refrigerator, microwave, and hairdryer and ours had both a shower and a bathtub. There is also a gas fireplace, which is operated by the thermostat (not obvious). Unfortunately, we were here during an unusually warm period and there is no air conditioning but a ceiling fan. The pilot light in the fireplace added unwanted heat. I found out that the management can turn it off for you. Next time. Full breakfast is included and the gardens on this 25-acre property are beautifully maintained.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveTrippin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights after a long drive. We were given a huge room at the end of the lodge - worth asking for as it has extra sitting room and walls are paper thin so we could only hear the guy snoring on the one adjoining room. Also probably worth asking for upstairs room as every time someone moved upstairs from us it sounded like they were going to come through the ceiling. Bath had 2 huge chunks out of the side of it one about 7" round filled with rough putty. When I checked under the beds while packing it was filthy had not been cleaned for a very long time. Nice pool area lovely gardens and good (but pricey) restaurant. Would drive further to Ventura Beach another time

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJS-LondonSW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We're glad you enjoyed our beautiful grounds, pool, and restaurant. It appears that you stayed in one of our older buildings, which are slated for refurbishing within the next year or two. Our housekeepers are trained to clean under the beds every day; we apologize for not meeting this objective in your room. We hope you will reconsider and stay with us again sometime, possibly in a newer and quieter accommodation such as a Superior Room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bass Lake, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Definitely an older property. Beautiful established gardens. Plenty of free parking. We stayed in Moonstone room 422 across the street from main hotel and upstairs that we had to climb with the luggage. Wall paper old, carpets old and stained, but they were clean. Hand soap could be upgraded. Coffee pot in the room. Two nice chairs near the fireplace with prefab log. Very quiet on this side (thank goodness) compared to the wedding party across the street. The cocktail lounge was huge with several sofas and chairs. The waitress was fast and efficient. Three musicans provided Live, awesome entertainment. The Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and tasty with eggs a couple of ways, sausage, breads, muffins, fruit, oatmeal, and very good coffee. Old World Charm I recommend to all.

Room Tip: Quiet was found in Moonstone
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeentherD0NEthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My family and I have been going to Cambria Pines Lodge since the mid-eighties. There is much to like about it: the lovely flower gardens, the organic produce that arrives on your dinner plate, the entertainment in the evenings, the walk into town on the trail, the generous breakfast buffet, and the frequent availability of deals which include dinner and wine.

However, over the years the shine has faded a bit and here's why.

1. The front desk workers are all young and callow. They seem to cultivate a business-like air to make up for their greenness. They focus on the computer in front of them and on highlighting the map to your cabin or room (even if you've been there many times before). What they don't do is greet you with a smile, engage you as a person and make you feel welcome.
2. The old pool building has been standing empty and ugly for well over a decade. It needs to be razed and replaced with a garden or more cabins.
3. The evening's entertainment often is a superannuated rock band that plays very loud in a very small space. There is no acoustic music of a pleasing nature, which might actually allow guests to converse without raising their voices. Tone it down for goodness sake!
4. The rooms are often a bit neglected. Our last trip occasioned two visits from maintenance that would have been avoided with routine checking of each room.
5. Rooms are dark and air doesn't move in them very well. It's better to visit the Lodge in cool weather than during summer when it takes a lot to cool the room down. Much of that is poor room design and can't be changed, but perhaps a little previsit opening of doors and windows to air out rooms would help in summer.
6. The garden and grounds looked just a little ragged this time, as if during this drought in California, they did not bother to tend to them. The neatness of the place is important in giving a first impression.

Room Tip: In general, if you pay more for a duplex cottage, you'll get a better, quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines1, Director of Sales at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback:
1. It is sometimes a challenge to teach younger employees the finer points of hospitality. Our training centers on treating every guest with kindness, courtesy, and friendly attentiveness. We regret that we did not reach our training goal in your case.
2. The old pool building is slated to be replaced with a full-service spa, exercise area, meeting rooms, and a demonstration kitchen, as well as other features which have not been settled on. We hope to begin this project within the next few years.
3. Music in the Fireside Lounge is booked according to the feedback we receive from our guests, most of whom love classic rock. We appreciate your comments about the volume.
4. Sorry for the maintenance issues. It's sometimes difficult to stick to a preventive maintenance schedule during high occupancy periods. We appreciate your patience.
5. We count on cool ocean breezes as air conditioning.
6. During the drought, much of our grounds staff's time is spent hauling non-potable water to different areas of the grounds to keep our most valuable plants alive until Mother Nature drops water from the sky. We spend as much time as possible tending to the gardens and receive many compliments on them every week. We hope there will be enough rain this winter to bring the gardens back to the level you remember from past visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visit the "Lodge" several times a year and are never disappointed. The rooms are comfortable with great mattresses that are like sleeping on a cloud. Many rooms have gas fireplaces perfect for those cool coastal nights. A patio or balcony is included with their large suites.
The grounds around the Lodge are beautiful with colorful flowers and native plants and trees. It's a shame the Central California Coast is experiencing such a drought but it is easy to tell the Lodge gardeners are doing everything they can to minimize its effect. It is still beautiful!
Your stay included an wonderful breakfast buffet with scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit and homemade muffins. The restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge serves delicious food at a reasonable price. My favorite is the fillet mignon or the scallops. The have a very nice selection of local wines and beers. Hard to find any better anywhere on the Central Coast. The service is fast, friendly and excellent.
There is a lively bar with live entertainment and Karaoke. Drink prices are reasonable and the bartenders are friendly and funny.
If you are looking for a snooty 5 star hotel this is not your place. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel with great food, friendly service and beautiful surroundings then book a couple of nights here.

Room Tip: There are building that have multiple hotel rooms on several levels but we have never tried them. Th...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do not serve water in the restaurant unless you ask for it. They are not watering their lawn areas. Great job Cambria Pines Lodge!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malerntogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebron, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here after a long day in Big Sur on our trip down the California coast. Upon our late arrival, we checked in at the lodge and heard some live music from next door. We checked it out and found a truly talented acoustic guitar player covering some bluesy oldies while we had a beer. It was a really nice little perk that we hadn't expected. We also discovered the path from our building to the lodge which was gorgeously landscaped and made it feel that much more secluded. Our room was decent - very clean. There was no A/C but because the property is surrounded by trees, the room was quite comfortable and it was easy to leave the windows open without disturbance (it's also far from major roads). The complimentary breakfast far exceeded our expectations as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jennacole6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing