We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wooded Wonderland Close to the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambria Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
YoYoYogis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wooded Wonderland Close to the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We loved our stay at the Cambria Pines Lodge. This gem of a hotel is nestled in the trees above the Storybook town of Cambria, gate way to the central coast and Hearts Castle. The main building is a rustic looking lodge that houses the restaurant and lounge and is surrounded by beautiful gardens.

The guest rooms are arrayed around the 25 acres of well cared for forest and gardens that are cris-crossed with walking paths.

Our King Suite was huge. Two fireplaces, tons of windows, comfortable bed and furniture and even a dining table. The kitchenette was complete with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

Perhaps best of all for us is that the Cambria Pines Lodge is pet friendly. we travel with our 13 year old cocker spaniel and he was as welcome here as we were.

We thoroughly enjoyed being able to trek into town, down 257 stairs, to shop and sample the local restaurants. Although we made a point of taking advantage of the full cooked breakfast each morning; eggs, pancakes, biscuits, sausage, fruit and cereal.

We would highly recommend the Cambria Pines Lodge to anyone looking to enjoy the quiet charm of the Central Coast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YoYoYogis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,813
    939
    318
    118
    83
See reviews for
824
1,792
42
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (545)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We booked this room via Virgin Holidays and I'm amazed that they do business with this hotel. The front desk staff were blunt and quite unhelpful. The room was dirty and the fixtures and fittings were old and worn out. Our shower had pubic hairs in it, the toilet kept blocking up and then back flowed in the night! The bathroom fan was worn out and made a real racket...

Unfortunately, our bed's matress stank of urine and this smell was evident mid way through the night when our body heat obviously vapourised the offending stain.

The breakfast staff were very unfriendly and cleaned away our table while we were at the buffet getting our breakfast!

There are lots of very nice places to stay in Cambria - I suggest you go here as a last resort (if the others are all full!).

Sorry but this place was a real disapointment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RU1ofUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 25 August 2009
Our property has some older and some newer accommodations. All showers are checked before arrival. Our mattresses are clean and odor-free. Unfortunately, we cannot influence what this guest has chosen to say. It's a shame the most recent reviews of our wonderful property do not reflect the fact that the vast majority of our guests enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We were excited to come here but after our check-in experience, we will never go back. I had to wait over 5 minutes as the girl (Kathy) stared at a computer and completely ignored me during that whole time. When she finally acknowledged me, there was still no Hello but a rather cold, "Who was next." I was only standing right in front of her. The paperwork given to me was not handed but rather flung at me and flew on the small counter which I ended up catching.

The grounds are lovely, the room was nice, I killed two spiders though. But the whole check-in experience was unbelievable and due to that, we don't care to ever go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvblackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
It's good to see this guest enjoyed our grounds and her room. All of us in the hospitality business understand that first impressions set the tone of a hotel stay. The Front Desk associates at Cambria Pines Lodge are trained to greet guests with a welcoming smile. It seems Kathy was distracted by a situation she was resolving as this guest arrived, and she did not succeed in refocusing her attentions in order to provide an enjoyable check-in experience. As hard as we try to be perfect, we sometimes make errors. It's our hope that this guest might remember the enjoyable aspects of her stay and give us a chance in the future to live up to our usual guest-friendly standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, england
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2009

On a recent trip with Titan Hitours we stayed at this lodge. It is a group of buildings with a central restaurant and lobby area. These buildings are 2 storey with very flimsy floors you can hear the people above you very clearly. The rooms are quite spacious with 2 double beds. The lodge is not centrally situated to the town so you have to eat in the hotel. We had rather a difficult time finding our accomodation as the grounds are very poorly lit after dark.This hotel also accepts dogs. We did not know this when we booked our holiday as it did not state it in the brochure. The breakfast which was not part of our package and had to be paid for was basic. We would not recommend this hotel, the main reasons being its location and the fact that dogs are allowed in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
As this guest was here with a bus tour, we feel it's important to clarify a few points. Some of our rooms and suites are in single- story buildings. We are in a beautiful wooded location which is a one-minute drive from Cambria village and four minutes from Moonstone Beach. Of 152 accommodations, we have 12 pet-friendly rooms that require call-in reservations to assure availability. Our property uses ambient lighting on the grounds in order to enhance the atmosphere. The vast majority of our guests appreciate our location, ambiance, service, and accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

We were booked in here for one night by our travel company as we drove down the coast road from San Francisco to LA. I had read all the reviews here and, frankly, I had even considered asking to be changed. I had checked out all the reviews for all our properties for our month long trip and I have concluded that the world is full of people looking to find fault.
We found hotel easily from the directions on their web site. Grounds are lovely with room blocks scattered round the site. Check in took a couple of minutes and we drove to our room block. Room was large, clean and perfect for our family of 4. Bathroom was good, good towels and beds were large and comfy. Essential when sharing with teenage son! Did not hear a sound form any one else in the block though it was fully occupied. We ate dinner in the restaurant because we were tired from driving. It was a very pleasant meal although service was a little slow. But we were in no rush. The included breakfast was not the biggest buffet we encountered but there was juice, cereals, danish, muffins, fruit, coffee, teas, sausage, bacon, home fries, pancakes and scrambled eggs. Surely that's Ok for an inclusive breakfast? Check out was easy and we were on our way.
For an over-night on Highway 1 it was superb. We spent a while in Cambria town and at the elephant seal rookery. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GMcC_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

I agree with previous posts, the housekeeping service needs attention. I happen to still be at the property and in talking with other guests, I am finding a lack of customer service. Lots of promises, very little action. Perhaps they are understaffed.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GOMichiganState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this review, 31 July 2009
We appreciate this guest's feedback. I wonder which service we did not provide for them or other guests who have made requests. Every item on our daily request list (extra towels, remote not working, etc.) has been checked off by the employee who attended to the request. If a guest does not receive the service they expect, I am always happy to speak with them personally in order to make things right. Our goal is to provide the very best service to each guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Everything was superb! Over-all appearance was very pleasant. Staff was great! Beautiful landscaping, flowers and lush green plants everywhere! Architecture, design and appearance of lodge and building is very esthetically appealing. Rooms were unbelievably nice. The rooms were large and accommodating for my family and very nicely decorated. We especially liked the fireplace! The restaurant was great and the complimentary breakfast was the best! Over-all the experience was one of the best I have ever had! Incredible value too! My family and I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.4 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
2.2 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Property: Cambria Pines Lodge
Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing