We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Rustic Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cambria Pines Lodge
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 20 June 2010

My Family and i stayed here for one night as a stop over for our long drive from San Francisco to San Diego, we booked the hotel through Virgin Holidays as part of our package.
What a find, the setting is wonderfull and the gardens were amazing at night with all of the Chrismas lights, ok the floor did creak and you could here the neighbors some times but dont let this put you off at all.
The staff were very helpfull and polite, the room was clean and very thing worked well, we all enjoyed the Hot Tub and swimming pool at night.
The Complimentry breakfast was very good, plenty of choice for all in our party including my youngest son who is a very fussy eater.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stuart c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,830)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,523 - 4,529 of 4,830 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2010

We have stayed at the Cambria Pines Lodge several times over the past few years and have had a different room each time, and each room has been wonderful. The grounds are beautiful and we love the leisure stroll to the Cambria Pines Nursery. The meals we have had have been outstanding, in particular we had dinner in the patio area that is covered and it was very quaint, quiet and the service was excellent! We have referred the Cambria Pines Lodge to many of our friends and family and look forward to our next visit. Our last visit was on a getaway package, and it was a great deal!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pfinlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

Motel 6 might be a better choice at half the price. We stayed in room 412 two nights, May 23 and 24. The place should be torn down. Only 14 of the 50 holes in the shower head were open; bad shower! Toilet: didn't know they made them so small. Since most guests are mature adults, perhaps seniors, why is the toilet so tiny? It's so low that we had trouble getting up from it. The faucet in the sink should have been replaced years ago, it looks corroded. Reception on the TV was poor; fuzzy pictures, worn-out remote. Uncomfortable chairs---couldn't sit in them more than a half hour. Noise? Plenty of it from the guests in the room above. Squeaky floor, felt like we were in a drum. Breakfast: no wonder it's included, it was so blah. $125 a night + taxes is about $100 too much. KDW

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank may23242010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2010

Even though KDW seems to have experienced issues in room 412, our maintenance log does not record a call from this room on May 23 or 24. It would have been simple to replace the shower head if we had been informed it was malfunctioning. Likewise, we could have worked on TV reception and replaced the remote. For those guests who find they need assistance getting up from a standard-size toilet such as the one in room 412, we offer accessible rooms with built-up toilets. The faucet does need to be replaced; a new one will be installed within the next few weeks. In my honest opinion, room 412 is charming with its shabby chic furniture, triple-sheeted beds, and private garden patio. I would be happy to pay $125 for it myself, knowing that I would also have access to a beautiful outdoor pool and spa, cozy restaurant, lounge with nightly entertainment, and gorgeous gardens. As for breakfast, we continue to receive a decisive majority of compliments about our selection of scrambled eggs, link sausage, breakfast potatoes, fruit, biscuits & gravy or pancakes (alternating), fresh-baked muffins, etc. We regret that KDW did not enjoy her stay and sincerely wish her luck finding a nicer room in Cambria for $62.50.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

A disappointment. Have stayed here in the past, but things seemed to have gone downhill. The rooms were all dirty, with hair in the shower! Asked to speak with the General Manager - would you believe their GM isn't there on the weekends?? Food was ok, but was much better in the past. Just an overall disappointment. Will look closer to the beach next time for our large group.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhoenixFrequentFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

We check all rooms before arrival. Occasionally something is missed. We regret the single hair this guest found in the shower. We also know most travelers recognize that clean older rooms do not sparkle the way new rooms do. As GM, I have regular days off. I am always available for emergencies and always answer messages when I return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Don't waste your time and money. If only I had realized Paso Robles was just a few miles away. It was our impression that Cambria is a small village catering mainly to out of state or foreign country tourists coming to visit the Hearst Castle. CPL boasts it has been around since 1927 - not necessarily a good thing. We had our on-line reservation for over two months yet upon check-in the young, indifferent girls at the desk shrugged and said a mistake had been made and our pre-paid room was no longer available. (We were also notified an extra $100 charge was pending to cover unforeseen expenses which would be credited upon check out. We questioned this charge and again the young girls shrugged and said "It's our policy") We were sent to 2 rooms before finding one acceptable. The rooms had a musky, stale smell. We accepted a room in the "new" section that was basically clean but it was very dated. Certainly not worth the price we were charged. We had reserved the Escape Package which included a 2 entree dinner with a bottle of house wine. Neither entree was edible (side dishes were okay). House wine was not acceptable so we were given an $8 credit toward a bottle of our choice. Sub-premium wine prices started at $30. (We were careful to pay cash in the bar and for the extra charge for our bottle of wine). The self-serve full breakfast buffet was a joke. We arrived at 8:30 and all dishes on the buffet were depleted with exception of the powdered eggs and over-cooked sausage links. No coffee cups were available. People were standing around waiting for more food to be brought from the kitchen. We left as soon as we could get a cup of coffee. 20 min. later we were in Paso Robles and enjoyed excellent accommodations and delicious meals for a fraction of the price we had paid in Cambria.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParadiseInThePines, General Manager at Cambria Pines Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2010

Although Cambria Pines Lodge was established in 1927, almost all of our 152 rooms are less than 25 years old and about 40 rooms and suites were built from 2006 to 2008. Online reservations are put directly into the system, so errors are very rare and we apologize for the confusion in this instance. The $100 authorization at check-in is just that--an authorization rather than a charge. The hold on funds is removed at the bank's discretion after any incidentals (phone, meals, lounge tickets, etc.) are accounted for. A majority of hotels authorize their guests' cards at check-in just as we do. I am very sorry pamcatx3 was not satisfied with our food, which is well-reviewed and widely considered to be some of the best in Cambria. The Lodge's House wine is bottled by Castoro Cellars, a local favorite. Our sincere apologies for the wait at breakfast. Sometimes everyone seems to come to breakfast at once, causing a short lag time while we refresh the various items. For the record, our eggs are not powdered and are always freshly scrambled.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

While my stay at Big Pine Lodge wasn't terrible, is wasn't very spectacular either. Our room was enormous, really the a size for maybe 6 people, but decorated plainly with poor lighting. We had a fireplace which was nice. Breakfast wasn't the best.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful however. And I love the town of Cambria. It reminded me of Minnesota a lot.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taurenlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

I originally booked a JR suite with a patio and view. They sent me to the worst suite ever. It was on the bottom floor, i felt i was in the basement. Room smelled damp, furniture was old and unclean, no patio and the only view I had was of the grime on the window. I went back and complained and they put us in the newly built section, in a beautiful room with a fireplace. Loved it. Be sure to ask to stay in the new section. The restaurant, and breakfast is pretty good. The gardens are lovely and the town very cute. Highly recommend. Great service by all staff.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
2.5 mi away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
2.8 mi away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
590 reviews
2.3 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#3 of 12 in Cambria
972 reviews
2.2 mi away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#8 of 12 in Cambria
2,142 reviews
1.6 mi away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambria Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambria Pines Lodge

Address: 2905 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Cambria
#6 Family Hotel in Cambria
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price Range: £83 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambria Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 25 wooded acres, Cambria Pines Lodge offers something for everyone. Accommodations range from rustic cabins to elegant suites. Amenities include an outdoor pool and spa, day spa, free parking, and free Wi-Fi. The Main Lodge offers an excellent restaurant featuring local wines, the Fireside Lounge with nightly live entertainment, and conference rooms with full-service catering, all surrounded by world-class gardens. The organic kitchen garden provides homegrown organic produce to the restaurant at Cambria Pines Lodge, while other areas of the theme gardens offer spectacular landscaping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cambria Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambria Pines Hotel Cambria
Cambria Pine Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing