We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Medusa's Taqueria

Medusa's Taqueria
Ranked #22 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
“Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Not bad. Nice people. Authentic. Price reasonable. Large servings. Spot for locals. very quick service

Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    45
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a tiny place with only 5 tables indoors and some bar stools outside. Very good basic Mexican food. We had seafood enchiladas which actually had a lot of seafood (shrimp and crab) inside. Service (by the owner I assume) was very friendly. Lots of take-out customers. If you just crave Mexican food and don't mind a very simple restaurant I definitely recommend this place either for eat-in or take out

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
322 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is an unassuming little restaurant which is a gem of a find. We had checked the TripAdvisor ratings and our conclusion is that Medusa’s is much better than its rating if you like really authentic Mexican food. My wife & I arrived for a late supper at about 7:30. There are only about 6 tables and some barstool type seating inside. There are also some barstools and a countertop outside.
If the chips are not homemade, they sure taste like it. The salsa, thought not great, is very good and not too hot for any palate. I ordered the chile rellenos which came with the traditional small pile of lettuce & sour cream, rice and beans. Being a carnivore, chile rellenos are about the only meatless entrée I ever order. The rellenos were excellent as was the rice. The beans weren’t bad, but weren’t as flavorful as I would have liked.
My wife ordered the shrimp taco dinner which also came with rice & beans. The tortillas were filled with shrimp, lettuce, tomatoes, cilantro and onion. The shrimp had a spicy seasoning which added a unique flavor to the taco.
If the atmosphere were more upscale, I would have rated this restaurant 5 stars since the food was delicious, well prepared and reasonably priced. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to Cambria Pines.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
319 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Food and service are both better here than at Las Cambritas, and the prices are way lower. This is an "authentic" Mexican Taqueria -- the decor is what one would expect. It's not fancy, but it is good, fast, inexpensive and authentic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank KSSeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We became ill after eating here!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We were looking for a nice Mexican Cafe in Cambria for lunch and have eaten at Medusa"s before. We both got the Burritos, one regular and one Super, both with carnitas (pork). They were delicious! And quite inexpensive. Really great food with chips and a great salsa.
Several hours later we both started feeling queazy and nauseated with vomiting. That night the diarrhea started. After getting everything out of our systems we felt fine and had a great time the rest of the week.
I will never eat here again! Although the food is delicious it's just not worth chancing getting sick again...

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank malerntogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Medusa's Taqueria also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Medusa's Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing