We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Salmon yum”
Review of Old Stone Station

Old Stone Station
Ranked #24 of 47 Restaurants in Cambria
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Salmon yum”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We had lunch here and asked after the catch of the day. It was a favorite: salmon. The choices were the entree size salmon or the smaller version on a salad. Since my 10.5 year old will usually have half my meal, I opted for the former. She ordered a kid's chicken fingers, her friend the kid's burger, my friend the adult's burger, and other friend the salmon salad. I got my salmon blackened and it came perfectly crusted and moist inside. The salad was also very good. My kid, as predicted, had more than half my fish, announcing "yum" loudly as she did so. Her own order was just fine if a bit dry. The burgers looked great too.

Unlike some of the other reviews, we found the waitperson and hostess to be very friendly and competent. They have an outdoor seating area but you have to exit the front door and walk around the front of the building and separately enter the patio area. The hostess had to walk back and forth through the kitchen as we went out around front. She was patient and appropriate while we were vacillating about staying outside. In the end, we decided it was too chilly so we went back inside where she found us a table for five.

We were in Cambria for a couple of days, had nearly ever meal at a restaurant (including one we visited twice), and never had a bad meal. I am not sure if we were just really lucky, ordered well, or if this little town is a foodie's dream. : )

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscotoLDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    79
    34
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

we just ate there today and were very happy with the value and size of portions. Everything tasted fresh, the service was faultless and our waiter was attentive

I had ribs, Janet had fish tacos and we both felt we'd made a good choice

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidMarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reedy Creek, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really quaint”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We decided to have a look at Cambria and amazed on this pretty little town. We found the Old Stone Station and after seeing thre great menu decide to go in. We were greeted by a nice young server who was very attentive. We decicded on a Chicket sandwich which was great it acame with fries. It was large enought for us to share. Fantastic :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noelleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
136 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Top Club Sandwich Lunch”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had just pulled into Cambria having driven the Big Sur Coast from Monterey. We were in need of sustenance and after wandering the pretty main street - all done up for the annual scarecrow festival - decided to try the Old Stone Station. The menu looked unfussy and there was a nice open porch area where we could sit and eat, watching the world go by.

We both ordered the house club sandwich, one with potato salad and one with lattice potato chips. The sandwiches were delicious and their accompaniments were demolished in very little time, washed down with unlimited soft drinks. The waiter who served us was friendly and the service was brisk.

After a long drive the conveniences beckoned and we took advantage of them before leaving. With a touch of humour one could not escape, the management had set up a full length circus mirror in the mensroom. The distortions were guaranteed to give a quite unusual view of very serious business.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Cute place, excellent service, ok food”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I think we'd have been better off sticking to burgers and fries/onion rings.
2 of us had the Flat Iron Steaks - a bit chewy, veggies were no where near cooked enough, baked potato was ok (nice topping of butter, sour cream, chives). the ribs were meaty, sauce reported to be a bit sweet. Tuna steak was "not so good".

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Stone Station also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Old Stone Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing