We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not French, Just OK”

French Corner Bakery
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Seating, Takeout
california
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not French, Just OK”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Except for the croissants, there's nothing French here. I was hoping for some crusty rolls, typical of France, but they had only ciabatta and bolillo rolls. Disappointing :(

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank alidoremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    81
    31
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
sherman oaks ca
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fresh baked pastries, friendly service”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Stop in for a quick treat! Loved the bear claws. Our teens loved the mocha frapuchinos with swirls of chocolate! Nice local place for a morning or mid afternoon break. We always sit outside as it is a bit too warm inside. Service was friendly and excellent!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grettell v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a true French bakery”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed when I walked in and noticed this wasn't a true French bakery but just an ordinary bakery in a small beach town. The German chocolate coconut cake was very yummy but really rich.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsables07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, CA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great bakery goods but the REAL deal! Eclairs, Napoleons, Bear Claws! Croissants, you name it! You can eat inside or outside and you won't be disappointed! Cookies, rolls, turnovers..a bakery deserving the name French.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jacksondlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pastry overload!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Love, love, love this place! Always stop here after our Moonstone beach walk before heading back to SLO to satisfy the mid afternoon "munchies" and order a dessert. Their pastry case is loaded with at least three dozen selections to choose from. It takes us forever to decide what to choose. They all look so delicious! So much variety and each one a little masterpiece! (don't think about the calories!). The size of the pastry offerings is large so you can share one or just indulge all by yourself! This time we also tried one of their sandwiches. Their hot turkey and cranberry sandwich on grilled homemade sour dough bread was fabulous! Big enough to share. It's a tiny little place with just a few tables but we enjoy grabbing one of the small outside bistro tables and chairs (they just bought some really nice new wicker chairs to replace the metal mesh ones....more comfy). Don't pass up this little gem!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pudge56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed French Corner Bakery also viewed

Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
Cambria, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to French Corner Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing