We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great activities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The rooms were nice, but had more bugs than the average Costa Rican room (though not the worst we've seen). AC worked good. Reasonably close to town and the National Park. The highlight of this place is the activities. Not only were they reasonably priced, but fun! The zipline is by far and away the best we have ever been on throughout Costa Rica. We also did the tubing, which was also fun (ask to walk around the 2 waterfalls, unless you dont mind getting dunked). The ground were nice, and the pool was really nice. We really like the cabin feel as well.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MarkChw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spent two nights here with my daughter (18 years old). The hotel was part of a package we bought with Costa Rican Trails (who did a fabulous job for us). It was just OK... Weird thing was that it's now low season and it felt like we were the only guests on property.

Pros:
* a ton of activities that you can do right from the lodge- rafting, rock climbing, rappelling, zip line, horseback riding, and more
* It’s relatively close to town, so if you need to take a cab in its only $12 - $15 each way
* The guides, pool attendant, cooks, and servers were all very nice.
* The zip line is a blast! This is the best option if you're like me- afraid of heights. You'll start off fairly close to the ground (2 - 5 meters up) and as you get started you'll go over the river canyon which is about 50 meters down)... much less stressful than standing on a small platform 30 meters or more up. I think we did 9 different lines. My daughter was doing them upside down and superman style This was a lot of fun.
* The restaurant's hamburgers are awesome! Funny, but true. Better than I've had in almost any US restaurant. Maybe its because all the ingredients, including the beef, are local and fresh.
* The mango juice was the best I've had!
* One night, while dining, we were joined by several beautiful moths, all kinds of chirping geckos, and even a couple bats! We loved the authentic "dine in the jungle" environment.
* The AC worked well.

Cons:
* The front desk people were nice, but not at all client service oriented. For example, I locked my keys in the room and rather than just give me a key, or walk the 100 meters to the room with us to open the door. They made us wait 5 minutes while they called someone else to open the door. Mind you, and I'm not exaggerating, I think we were the only guests on property! They didn't appear to have anything else to do, but making sure we had a great experience clearly wasn't a priority for them.
* We tried to relax by the pool and the ground workers didn't care. Again, just my daughter an I are there, and the only people at the pool (other than the lonely pool attendant) and a grounds keeper is running his gas weed whacker 20 meters away for a good 45 minutes. It kind of spoiled the "relax" part of the pool experience. This wouldn't happen at a hotel that wants to make sure their guests enjoy every moment on property.
* Tin roofs. When it rains it makes a lot of noise! It woke us up.
* No TV’s. Not a big deal for us, but we didn't have any TV
* No telephone in the room. Hard to call and ask any questions.
* No prices on the menu in the restaurant. That's just poor. The prices were reasonable, for a lodge, just a bother.

In all, we enjoyed the activities much more than the room, and the front desk people. Just an average hotel with average staff people- and great guides.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelinMan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The accomodation here is very spacious and comfortable - the air conditioning is far more efficient than others we encountered and the lighting was superior.

The buffet dinner was considerably cheaper than that charged at our previous lodge, was of a better quality and (more importantly) did not run out early in the evening. The staff were helpful, even though not all had a good grasp of English.

There are walking trails and zip wires in the grounds as well as rafting, horseriding and other pursuits. We were just using the lodge as a convenient place to stop en route to the Nicaraguan border, which is a pity given the facilities it seemed to offer.

The swimming pool was lovely but frankly quite dangerous. It was quite steeply banked and the stools by the bar were in the deep end, so if you had a drink and then stepped back, you were suddenly out of your depth. Most pool bars are in the shallow end to avoid this very risk. Be very careful if you have young children and/or inexperienced swimmers using the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I think what we most enoyed at this lodge was the atmosphere. Cabins scattered thoughtout the grounds, made us think of a really good campgrround, which we love.
All paths lead to the lovely swimming pool, the restaurant, the river. We were lucky enough to hear the screaming monkeys across the river at dusk. Two of our group, the younger ones, waded the river, at even took a video of the sreamers! It was quite an experience.
The whole setup permits a very enjoyable visit! The excursion to the Volcano was fantastic! What trails, what sights!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Road is bad but you got to do it if your are going to the national park. Pool is awesome with a insert bar, go under the fall there is a whirlpool !! Restaurant beside the canyon with a beautiful view ,Breakfast is amazing, no fridge in the room, far from the grocery store, you have to eat there ($$) National park is not that far (30 min in car) but worth the detour, really nice trail (3 to 4 hrs), a lot to see (waterfall, mud pud, gecko).No stroller. Even if it rain ( I mean poring rain) it's warm and a must do.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blastdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

The hotel is half way between Liberia and the Rincon National Park, on a dusty road. The hotel consists of bungalows spread across large dusty grounds which might not suit some people (but that's what it is like around here!). Room was clean and comfortable, with A/C and coffee making machine. Swimming pool was nice and there's a river where you could also take a dip. Food was okay, nothing special. A decent place to stay for a couple of nights whilst visiting the park.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

This is a perfectly adequate hotel on a pretty gorge on the Colorado River. Everything about it is good - but the sheets are not as crisp, the towels not as new or the grounds not as tidy as some other places. The cabins are large, but made of dark wood that makes them a bit dingy. The activities - climbing, zip lines etc - are well-run by enthusiastic, personable guys - but do bargain on the price (as with the price for all activities in CR). The evening meal was excellent, breakfasts were OK. With a car, the hotel is within reach of Liberia for other eating options.
You will need a car if you want to visit the Rincon de la Vieja National Park - it's about 30 mins up an unmade track. The Park is worthwhile - all gurgling, volcanic mud pools and sulphurous springs.
I can understand that some people may be disappointed by the quality - but we liked the character, setting and friendliness of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spencerswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
8.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
487 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,379 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,638 reviews
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
989 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £70 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing