We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Activity orientated Lodge.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
WestCountryTwo
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Activity orientated Lodge.”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This was the second hotel in a 4 week tour of Costa Rica.
Excerpt from my daily log as follows:
Day 5
Early start drove to our next stop near Rincon de la Vieja Park. Hot day.
Arrived at Canon de la vieja lodge late morning. Rustic wood cabins with limited facilities, although had air con, bathroom/ shower. No TV. Lodge had white water rafting. Zip wires etc and seemed geared for young peoples adventure holidays. Food reflected that. Pool looked nice but hardly any shaded areas to sit in around the pool. No-one else there. Wifi only at reception. Poor soundproofing between rooms.
Went into Liberia for a walk around and an evening meal at Restaurante y Marisqueria Paso Real which was substantial and tasty. We liked Liberia, felt safe there.

Day 6
Met our guide Freddy 8am at reception and drove to Rincon de la Vieja National Park. We did the 10km walk to the waterfall in the morning (this was quite strenuous, if you are not fit, don't do it!) and the 4km walk to the volcanic mudpools in the afternoon. We saw capucin and howler monkeys up in the trees as well as several birds.
Afternoon chill out then to Liberia. We had a couple of very refreshing pineapple smoothies, then we had an excellent steak meal in El Bramadero, next to Macdonalds on the big crossroads. A big open air restaurant. We had filet minion topped with bacon and a mushroom sauce. Excellent steak and nicely cooked.

Overall we found this place quite convenient but mostly suited to young people's adventure activities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    98
    87
    40
    17
See reviews for
72
111
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We went on a day tour with a guide from Coco, Alex. We were offered a rafting, a canopy tour, hot springs and a lunch. It sounded a lot to do for the price. The rafting turned out to be kayaking, for the equipment that they use is a tomcat - nrs inflatable kayak and not a raft. The staff didn't now what to respond when I asked about that issue. The canopy tour was just ok, so was the staff, but then the worst was still to come: the hot springs. We found out that the hot springs were nothing but heated water. Worst of all, the heater was not working properly, and the staff got really nervous when we started looking for answers. The food was, at best, mediocre. Finally we requested our money back and our guide accepted to give us 50% back. I should have paid attention to all of the warnings posted here on TA about not using local small companies that sell you cheap tours.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rincon de La Vieja hotels

Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for two nights and were a bit surprised to find such a good loacation not far from the volcano and National Parc!
The rooms are good and the bathroom is very clean!
The restaurant is run by à very nice Group of ladies who are serving quick and friendly!
If it is busy you have a buffet to participatie. Food is nothing special but good quality. French fries are delicious !
The swimmingpool and (pool)bar very nice!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teriben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The rooms were nice, but had more bugs than the average Costa Rican room (though not the worst we've seen). AC worked good. Reasonably close to town and the National Park. The highlight of this place is the activities. Not only were they reasonably priced, but fun! The zipline is by far and away the best we have ever been on throughout Costa Rica. We also did the tubing, which was also fun (ask to walk around the 2 waterfalls, unless you dont mind getting dunked). The ground were nice, and the pool was really nice. We really like the cabin feel as well.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkChw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Spent two nights here with my daughter (18 years old). The hotel was part of a package we bought with Costa Rican Trails (who did a fabulous job for us). It was just OK... Weird thing was that it's now low season and it felt like we were the only guests on property.

Pros:
* a ton of activities that you can do right from the lodge- rafting, rock climbing, rappelling, zip line, horseback riding, and more
* It’s relatively close to town, so if you need to take a cab in its only $12 - $15 each way
* The guides, pool attendant, cooks, and servers were all very nice.
* The zip line is a blast! This is the best option if you're like me- afraid of heights. You'll start off fairly close to the ground (2 - 5 meters up) and as you get started you'll go over the river canyon which is about 50 meters down)... much less stressful than standing on a small platform 30 meters or more up. I think we did 9 different lines. My daughter was doing them upside down and superman style This was a lot of fun.
* The restaurant's hamburgers are awesome! Funny, but true. Better than I've had in almost any US restaurant. Maybe its because all the ingredients, including the beef, are local and fresh.
* The mango juice was the best I've had!
* One night, while dining, we were joined by several beautiful moths, all kinds of chirping geckos, and even a couple bats! We loved the authentic "dine in the jungle" environment.
* The AC worked well.

Cons:
* The front desk people were nice, but not at all client service oriented. For example, I locked my keys in the room and rather than just give me a key, or walk the 100 meters to the room with us to open the door. They made us wait 5 minutes while they called someone else to open the door. Mind you, and I'm not exaggerating, I think we were the only guests on property! They didn't appear to have anything else to do, but making sure we had a great experience clearly wasn't a priority for them.
* We tried to relax by the pool and the ground workers didn't care. Again, just my daughter an I are there, and the only people at the pool (other than the lonely pool attendant) and a grounds keeper is running his gas weed whacker 20 meters away for a good 45 minutes. It kind of spoiled the "relax" part of the pool experience. This wouldn't happen at a hotel that wants to make sure their guests enjoy every moment on property.
* Tin roofs. When it rains it makes a lot of noise! It woke us up.
* No TV’s. Not a big deal for us, but we didn't have any TV
* No telephone in the room. Hard to call and ask any questions.
* No prices on the menu in the restaurant. That's just poor. The prices were reasonable, for a lodge, just a bother.

In all, we enjoyed the activities much more than the room, and the front desk people. Just an average hotel with average staff people- and great guides.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelinMan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2011

The accomodation here is very spacious and comfortable - the air conditioning is far more efficient than others we encountered and the lighting was superior.

The buffet dinner was considerably cheaper than that charged at our previous lodge, was of a better quality and (more importantly) did not run out early in the evening. The staff were helpful, even though not all had a good grasp of English.

There are walking trails and zip wires in the grounds as well as rafting, horseriding and other pursuits. We were just using the lodge as a convenient place to stop en route to the Nicaraguan border, which is a pity given the facilities it seemed to offer.

The swimming pool was lovely but frankly quite dangerous. It was quite steeply banked and the stools by the bar were in the deep end, so if you had a drink and then stepped back, you were suddenly out of your depth. Most pool bars are in the shallow end to avoid this very risk. Be very careful if you have young children and/or inexperienced swimmers using the pool.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

I think what we most enoyed at this lodge was the atmosphere. Cabins scattered thoughtout the grounds, made us think of a really good campgrround, which we love.
All paths lead to the lovely swimming pool, the restaurant, the river. We were lucky enough to hear the screaming monkeys across the river at dusk. Two of our group, the younger ones, waded the river, at even took a video of the sreamers! It was quite an experience.
The whole setup permits a very enjoyable visit! The excursion to the Volcano was fantastic! What trails, what sights!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chago1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,328 reviews
8.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
459 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Boyeros Hotel & Conference Center
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
784 reviews
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Property: Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing