We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to start an adventure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an outstanding location to launch your adventure in the Ricon de le Vieja area. On site they have white water rafting, tubing, rappelling, rock climbing, zip lining and horse back riding. The volcano is a short 30-minute drive away and the front desk will arrange a top guide to hike with you. The restaurant is slightly disorganized, with many of the tables designed to hold large groups, resulting in one occasionally eating dinner with another family. The food is quite good and the price is very reasonable. The rooms are moderate with few amenities; do not book this location if you want to stay in your room and watch television. This is not a negative comment about the location; this is a location very suitable for families who are looking for outside activities. I look forward to visiting this adventure lodge again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very poor hotel. The smell in the room is awful. The reception told it's wood! And they are right it's wood! The problem is poor care! And I've the prove right on the swimming pool area! See the pictures! It's much better than explanation!!!!

Room Tip: Just avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria_Salut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed 1 night here as part of a touring group. This is not my type of accommodation at all - its the type of place you would stay in with kids on an adventure holiday -and my days of that are long gone!. The rooms are basically wooden cabins( AKA "sheds!" )and are dark and dingy with a lack of natural light due to small windows and wooden slatted blinds. The room had a smell -the guide said it was due to the wood it was made of, and it was hot and stuffy due to no A/C. Facilities were basic to say the least - No TV,safe, phone nor fridge but there was a coffee machine ,of sorts, which I didn't fancy using and and only one towel per person was given for the shower which was as basic as the shed.. I would not have dared walk from the bed to the toilet in my bare feet.
We ate in the restaurant-(no choice really as nothing else in the vicinity) The food and service was good but the dining area was filled with bugs/moths etc due to the lighting attracting them as it was open all the way round.
On the positive side the pool is lovely and the bar next to it was pleasant - and did have a TV. A torch is needed to walk from the pool/bar or the restaurant to the cabins as the terrain is a bit rough and not well lit. The breakfast buffet didnt have a large choice but there was fresh fruit.
I think this hotel is used for its location near the National Park and the area does have a lot of natural beauty, but seriously needs up grading you will only be fine here if you are the outdoor adventurous type!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is nice and clean.

Rooms are confortable and spacious but there's no tv and refrigerator which will convert the room in a more confortable place.

Rooms do require some more commodities like a full set of towels.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GustaJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I recommend this hotel based on its LOCATION, as it is right by this canyon made by river, very beautiful, the rooms are basic but OK; the beds are comfortable, and there are a lot of activities to be done right there. The staff treated us quite poorly and it seems to be generalized, but I didn´t go there for the staff. The ladies at the spa were nice and so was an older gentleman who seemed to work in maintenance. Also, the guide who took us to the national park was very amiable.

But, I feel you can´t beat the location as it is only 10 min from Liberia and 30 min to the national park. We enjoyed going out for dinner in Liberia.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank avdwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

The room was pretty basic with no room safe, but clean. The location just by the canyon is impressive. There are a lot of activities which we would have done with more time. The dining room staff are friendly, the food is good, the bar with swimming pool alongside is a great place for a drink on a hot day.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akalegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We were bumped from our originally booked resort by Swiss Travel and found this a very poor substitute.Staff were not friendly but we did have a couple of good guides on some of excursions to park and riding. Rooms were dirty, with no phone, no tv or other amenities, not even shampoo. There is not a good view of anything, anywhere at the resort. Cabins are kindly called rustic, that is code for substandard. The pool and hot tub were dirty and cold with no jets working. The food was edible, but as costly as at the best of resorts. I would never recommend this resort. Good idea to take a flashlight as my wife fell off the unfinished side walk on the poorly lit street and ended up needing medical attention which some kindly people drove us to in Liberia. Other than our stay at this resort we had a fabulous time and absolutely loved every other aspect of our trip to Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Don't go here as there are no good rooms. Take a flashlight and a phone otherwise you need to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Quentin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
8.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
494 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,386 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
996 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
801 reviews
11.1 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Carretera al Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 0000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £69 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canon de la Vieja Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by beautiful gardens just 8 kms from Liberia, we offer a different way to enjoy the natural beauties that surround the Guanacaste National Parks as Santa Rosa, Rincon de la Vieja and Palo Verde.Canyon de la Vieja Lodge offers 50 rooms of which two have access for people with special needs, each has a small front terrace, equipped with double beds, air conditioning, private bathroom, hot water and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canon de la Vieja Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Canon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing