We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Javy(Liberia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Wilson(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Daysita(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
52
109
94
45
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
109
94
45
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverrock climbingnational parkzip liningwhite water kayakingthrill seekinglovely swimming poolmeet your needshorseback ridingincluded zipliningday tourrafting tripcosta ricaan eco lodgeadrenaline rushplantainsdifferent activities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Our cabin was fine, AC, nice bed and a outdated but clean bathroom. The pool was not clean at all (we saw the oily film on the water), which made us worry for the 19 month child we had with us. The food was basic, but not more than that. Our Silvesters day diner was not good, the meat was totally overcooked. We arrived well on time for breakfast to find a lot of things out of stock, which disappointed us. Besides this, the location is well near the national parque. If you only use the resort to sleep, it is a good option.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MJBVerhoeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

This is an outstanding location to launch your adventure in the Ricon de le Vieja area. On site they have white water rafting, tubing, rappelling, rock climbing, zip lining and horse back riding. The volcano is a short 30-minute drive away and the front desk will arrange a top guide to hike with you. The restaurant is slightly disorganized, with many of the tables designed to hold large groups, resulting in one occasionally eating dinner with another family. The food is quite good and the price is very reasonable. The rooms are moderate with few amenities; do not book this location if you want to stay in your room and watch television. This is not a negative comment about the location; this is a location very suitable for families who are looking for outside activities. I look forward to visiting this adventure lodge again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very poor hotel. The smell in the room is awful. The reception told it's wood! And they are right it's wood! The problem is poor care! And I've the prove right on the swimming pool area! See the pictures! It's much better than explanation!!!!

Room Tip: Just avoid
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maria_Salut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed 1 night here as part of a touring group. This is not my type of accommodation at all - its the type of place you would stay in with kids on an adventure holiday -and my days of that are long gone!. The rooms are basically wooden cabins( AKA "sheds!" )and are dark and dingy with a lack of natural light due to small windows and wooden slatted blinds. The room had a smell -the guide said it was due to the wood it was made of, and it was hot and stuffy due to no A/C. Facilities were basic to say the least - No TV,safe, phone nor fridge but there was a coffee machine ,of sorts, which I didn't fancy using and and only one towel per person was given for the shower which was as basic as the shed.. I would not have dared walk from the bed to the toilet in my bare feet.
We ate in the restaurant-(no choice really as nothing else in the vicinity) The food and service was good but the dining area was filled with bugs/moths etc due to the lighting attracting them as it was open all the way round.
On the positive side the pool is lovely and the bar next to it was pleasant - and did have a TV. A torch is needed to walk from the pool/bar or the restaurant to the cabins as the terrain is a bit rough and not well lit. The breakfast buffet didnt have a large choice but there was fresh fruit.
I think this hotel is used for its location near the National Park and the area does have a lot of natural beauty, but seriously needs up grading you will only be fine here if you are the outdoor adventurous type!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brandylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is nice and clean.

Rooms are confortable and spacious but there's no tv and refrigerator which will convert the room in a more confortable place.

Rooms do require some more commodities like a full set of towels.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GustaJimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews