We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem - we will definitely be back!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had the most wonderful visit to La Anita. The only downfall is that we should have stayed longer. Pablo was the most wonderful host to us - so gracious, welcoming, friendly, warm. The cabins are amazing - made out of the most beautiful wood. Simple but very high quality. Loved how the cabins were screened only - it was wonderful to hear the sounds of the rainforest at night. The front poor on each cabin is so cute. A really pleasant place to sit and have coffee or read. The hammock was a treat. The food at La Anita is truly unbelievable. So fresh and healthy, but so much flavor and so authentic to Costa Rica. Throughout our entire trip to Costa Rica the food, accommodations, people, and surroundings were the best. Be aware the last 12km to get to La Anita is a little bumpy, but totally worth it! We highly recommend La Anita.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins would be wonderful - I don't believe there are drastic differences between any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Our family of four (my husband and I and our two sons, ages 10 and 13) spent three nights at LaAnita Rainforest Ranch and had a truly wonderful experience. I echo every positive review written about this place and the owners. We still talk about how it was a minor miracle that we found the place in the dark. It was no easy task driving on 14 km of gravel roads with seven bridges at night! When we arrived, Pablo met us in the driveway and dinner was waiting for us.

I wasn't sure how my kids would enjoy the rustic (as in no TV) location, but they really loved it - especially the "dog horse" Trueno that would follow them around. We had two cabins next door to each other; cabins either have one king or two twin beds. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, although pack some ear plugs if you need absolute quiet to sleep. There is no glass on the windows, only screens so you truly feel as if you are sleeping outside. The cabin decks are comfortable with chairs, a built in bench, and a much fought over hammock.

We booked the Toucan package, which included lodging, all meals, two excursions each, and a tour of the farm. We really enjoyed the meals at LaAnita. We were served a nice variety of good locally grown food. Best of all, Pablo and Ana joined us for many of the meals. What a great way to learn about the farm and Costa Rica.

Part of our package included excursions. Before the tour of the farm Pablo talked to us about the history of the farm and their plans for the future. I thought the kids might get a little tired listing to it, but they really enjoyed learning about everything. We learned that there is a strong connection between La Anita and Minnesota, where we are from. They offer a science camp through Seeds of Change, and quite a number of high schools in our area have attended. My sons want to go back when he is in high school.

We did the horseback riding provided by Edgar of Santa Maria Volcanic Lodge and the Canopy tour in Guayabo. Since meals were included in our package, and we were going to miss lunch at the farm one day, Ana arranged for us to eat at a nearby restaurant, Vista Verde, at no additional cost to us. On the day of our canopy tour we also went to Rincon de la Vieja National Park, which unfortunately, was a bust. We entered from the Santa Maria entrance. There were no maps or guides, so we pretty much on our own. And the road to get there was crazy…

Pablo and Ana were so friendly. We felt like we were saying good bye to friends when we left. Beer and soda are available in the ‘fridge in the room, but if you want to have something else while you relax back at your cabin at night, you should stop at a grocery store on your way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nancysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

La Anita Rainforest Ranch was the highlight of our trip to Costa Rica. After spending five days at the southern end of the Nicoya peninsula in Montezuma, our two nights at La Anita were the perfect ending to our Costa Rica trip. The owners Pablo and Ana are a truly warm and kind couple. The food was delicious, the room was spacious and had all the necessities. Pablo and Ana have relationships with many of the local tour/activity owners, and are happy to suggest and arrange activities for any interest. La Anita is also a working farm, and the couple are passionate about sustainable farming and serve incredibly fresh meals from the farm and surrounding area. They are expanding into cacao farming, and we can't wait to return to try their chocolate! If you are interested in a true Costa Rican experience with amazing people, La Anita must be on your list.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

La Anita's location near Rincon National Park makes it a great base for exploring wet and cool jungle on the flank of the volcano.
If you take a bus there, you arrive at a small town that is quiet and genuine. We walked a few hundred metres down the world and found ourselves in a beautiful farm that practices sustainable agriculture (mostly cacao and ornamental flowers) and has first-class accommodation.
The cabins have screen windows, not glass, so the sounds of the jungle at night make you feel like are sleeping outside. The cabins are a few years old and very clean.
The food was great - with extra's like "heart of palm ceviche" - and lots of fresh fruit, salad and vegetables.
Pablo, the host, was very engaged in meal-time conversations with guests and set up tours and trips. Strangers are placed together at tables for meals, so you quickly became friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed two nights at La Anita. The cabins are basic, but comfortable. The windows are all screened so you can hear the sounds of the rainforest surround you while you sleep. The big draw for me was the beautiful porch with its rocking chairs and hammock. It's a wonderful place to relax or explore Rincon de La Vieja. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marvic51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I had a lovely time here. The cabins are rustic but have everything you need. The owners are wonderful people, full of heart. I learned a lot of interesting things and met interesting people that I wouldn't have had the chance to meet. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because I couldn't sleep at all -- a rooster outside my room crowed constantly through the whole night, and it was not possible to close the windows to keep out the chilly breeze, so I was shivering all night. The food was very good and fresh, although extremely heavily salted. If they'd use less salt, it would have been super fabulous! Even so, I would recommend this place and I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

La Anita is located in the northern part of the country, nestled between two dormant volcanoes in a tiny little rainforest community of Colonia Libertad. It is about an hour and a half from the airport in Liberia and most of the travel is on paved road. The last 14 km is on a gravel road and I would suggest you have a four wheel drive vehicle for travel around this area.
The ranch is a truly beautiful property, beautifully maintained and teaming with tropical birds, amazing rainforest plants, and a working cacao plantation to boot! There are about 8 "cabins" which are really beautifully appointed bungalows on stilts, nicely furnished, clean and back right up to lush beautiful plants and trees. There are hammocks on the porch and an endless variety of hummingbirds, small parrots, occassional toucans and a huge flock of egrets that constantly fly here and there around the cabins.
Pablo and his wife Anna own the property and are excellent friendly, knowledgeabe hosts. They both speak english very well and are passionate about their property and the surrounding community. They are well on the way to being a large, busy cacao plantation and retain a keen interest in organic production methods and processes.
We travelled to the Rincon de la Vieja Park (about an hour from the ranch) and had a fantastic hike with a guide named Javier (arranged by Pablo and Anna). He took us for a 3 km tour of both the rainforest side and the desert side of the volcano, explaining (in perfect english) biologic processes, finding birds in the dense forest, and discussing the fumaroles (volcanic vents) that are present on the trail. Pablo and Anna had arranged a box lunch for us to take for the hike and when we left the ranch accidentally without it, Pablo got on his motorcycle and took a short cut trail and caught up to us delivering the lunch before we left town!
We also were able to spend an evening in Colonia Libertad with a local family that put on a wonderful meal, shared wine, and told stories and played games even though none of us spoke spanish and they spoke very little english. Anna and Pablo arranged this and it was a very fun and enlightening experience.
We have been to Costa Rica many times and La Anita was one of the most relaxing and memorable places we have been. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them and left feeling they are our friends. We will definitely return and look forward to seeing the new Cacao plantings and having much more authentic Costa Rican food.

Room Tip: Be sure to take insect repellant for those days that you spend hiking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,355 reviews
12.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
483 reviews
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
813 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
985 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Address: 500 Metros Este De La Iglesia Catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £70 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing