We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We felt like family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We felt like family”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My fiance and I visited Finca La Anita for 5 nights (Feb.4th-8th 2013) and consider it the highlight of our trip! I had good vibes about the place from all the warm reviews on this site and I was confident that booking as many nights we could spare would be worth it, and I was SO RIGHT!!! There was still so much to do we could have stayed 5 nights longer!

Our experience went above and beyond anything I could have ever imagined. Everything was PERFECT. Ana and Pablo are personable, knowledgeable and VERY hard working. They seem to remain always available yet they also give their guests space, they communicated very well with everyone and we felt we could trust them. We woke up every morning at 6 a.m. excited for what the day would bring (and I'm not a morning person!)

During our stay we did 2 amazing hikes, horseback riding, visited hot springs, volcanic mud baths, we went zip-lining, and participated in a cooking class in a local's home...oh ya and who could forget our visit to bar Las Vegas?!

This trip was especially memorable for me because my boyfriend proposed to me during our horseback riding/hike adventure to the Cerro Frio waterfall where our lovely guide Edgar excitedly took pictures of my fiance down on one knee beside the most spectacular waterfall I've ever seen! (If you are in fairly good shape I would highly recommend this hike)

I would recommend renting a 4WD so that you have the freedom to go wherever you want whenever you want! Everyone we met at La Anita was doing the same thing.
Half of our adventures were getting lost everywhere we went, it became our main inside joke, as signage is not the same in North America where it's in your face, you gotta be observant to find certain roads leading in and out of the town of Colonia Libertad.

If you are a light sleeper pack ear plugs, but we crashed hard every night from all our adventuring so we didn't need 'em! We heard the mysterious howlers every night off in the distance...

The food at La Anita is super fresh and varied, we inhaled everything they put in front of us! If you are looking to eat out if you aren't near the property visit Dona Rosalba's restaurant (where you do the horseback riding/hiking to the waterfall) her specialty is fresh tilapia and she makes homemade cheese!

We miss you Ana y Pablo!

We will be back one day!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeeCeeSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
133
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We only stayed two nights here and we wished we could have stayed two weeks! The cabins are beautiful and the hospitality was more than we could have asked for. All the food was good, but my favorite was the desert topped with chocolate made from the on-site cacao plants. Even in the midst of Finca Anita's natural splendor, resident horse/comedian Trueno stole the show more than once. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful, bucolic setting. We didn't have a rental car (as most other patrons do) but called ahead and they gave very nice detailed instructions re how to get there by bus. One of the owners was there to pick us up when the bus dropped us off as well (would've been a few km walk!). The owners are super friendly and make extra efforts to get to know the guests and accommodate as much as possible. The room was great, very clean. There are great trails around for hikers including Rincon de la Vieja. The only downside was you have to eat all meals on premises because there is no kitchen for customer use, restaurant, grocery stores nearby. The meals are buffet and are a bit overpriced for the quality. They packed a lunch for us when we hiked the volcano and it was a bit small for the strenous nature of the hike. Had I not brought some of my own snacks (which I bought in Liberia), I would've had a hard time on that hike!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We knew this was going to be a bit of a journey. The Ranch is located outside of the usual tourist spots in Costa Rica in the northwestern area but it was well worth the trip. The road was easy to navigate (with all of the warnings we were tentative)The owners have developed an idyllic world for themselves and their young family. They share it generously with their guests. The instant we arrived we exhaled and were relaxed and were never disappointed. The grounds were beautiful, the individual cottages were well equipped and maintained and the meals were simple and fresh. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KProst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
303 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

What a wonderful experience we had visiting this ranch. Pablo and Ana are truly lovely people doing a lovely thing. If you're interested in seeing a good example of sustainable farming that comes from a lot of heart and is helping the whole community around them, come and learn from these two. The rooms are rustic -- not fancy but well made and they have everything you need including an open-air bathroom, safe, refrigerator, and a large porch with a hammock. And the food -- wow. It was so good, so fresh. Yum. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingyogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenview
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Every now and then when traveling you find a place that is unique and unforgettable. La Anita is an outstanding example, and we wish we could have stayed longer than our three nights. I'm thankful to have found it thru Trip Advisor reviews and now I gladly add my voice and experience to the chorus saying "go!"

Hosts Ana and Pablo have made something truly special here, nestled in lovely unspoiled natural countryside between the great northern volcanoes of Miravalles and Rincon de la Vieja. The property extends across gardens, sustainable plantations, pasture, woods, streams and lakes. It's not a faceless huge corporate resort, it is far more intimate and unique. It's personal in the best way. A handful of comfortable cabins are surrounded by hummingbird-attracting plantings and look out onto the woods and the country with distant views of mountain slopes. It is clear that this couple have put their heart and soul into this endeavor, and it feels like a privilege to be their welcome guest.

Meals are served in a gracious central dining area open on the sides, looking across the lake and gardens. (There's even a yoga platform.) The food was plentiful and delicious, freshly prepared. When they learned we were celebrating a major birthday, on our last morning my husband was presented with a lovely banana cake still warm from the oven, baked specially for him!

Even though the location feels quite remote, it is in the heart of the rural community and the owners have arranged for many activity options. Nothing was too much trouble for them as they made phone calls on our behalf to set us up with whatever we wanted to do to make the most of our time there. Highlights of these special activities included an early morning trip to the dairy in the next village where we milked a cow and helped to make cheese which we then ate with tortillas etc. for breakfast.... and a fabulous dinner with a local family (Aracely and her husband & daughter) where we received the warmest, genuine welcome and had a delightful evening complete with nesting hummingbird.

Can't finish this review without mentioning the La Anita Ranch tour we had with Pablo where we learned so much about the history and geography of Costa Rica and of this region. His expansive knowledge matched our curiosity and we loved being able to ask endless questions of such a fountain of passion and information. He gave us his special Hearts of palm demo (one of their crops) and the ceviche he prepared was delicious.

Our cabin was spotlessly clean and had a very attractive, stylish modern bathroom with as much hot water as we needed (which we did not always find elsewhere in Costa Rica). The front porch had 2 rocking chairs and a hammock to watch the birds. Wow I am so far along in this review and only just mentioning the birds! People come here especially for them, and well they might in this special Northern mountain/continental divide ecozone. Toucans abound in the area - we had several good sightings right on the property and up and down the rural roads - and the singing and antics of the Montezuma's oropendulas had me laughing. Hummingbirds all over, sometimes even zipping through the porch or under the roof in the dining hall, and many other bird species both colorful and tuneful, common and less obvious. (The blazing scarlet & black Passerini's tanagers bopping about right by our porch enchanted me.)

Regular cars can make it here, but I was glad we had a 4WD with higher clearance as it made driving the rutted dirt roads and negotiating the couple of shallow fords more like fun. Yes, fords. Mostly the stream crossings are bridges, but not all. Really you need to rent a 4WD vehicle to enjoy the real Costa Rica. Yes La Anita is off the beaten track, but that is what makes it so fantastic and once you arrive it will be hard to tear yourself away. This is emphatically NOT a touristed area and that is why it's both beautiful and unselfconscious. We passed many riders on horseback and also a bullock cart on the local roads. Oh and a troupe of howler monkeys too. Allow time to get wherever you are going, as the journey TO the activity is half the fun. Specially if you are headed for one of the Park entrances some miles away.

I hope this sounds like a place you would enjoy. If so, don't hesitate to go. We had a fantastic time and really can't say enough about this conscientious, thoughtful, dedicated young family and their outstanding hospitality. They have worked hard to create a very special place. If this is a vision of the future of sustainable small-scale tourism in Costa Rica, then the future is bright. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlisonFromFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My teenage son and I spent four days at La Anita in January and had a wonderful time. Hosts Ana and Pablo went out of their way to make us feel welcome from the minute we arrived. The cabins were spotless and included thoughtful amenities such as toiletries and an in-room fridge. In such a unspoiled wilderness area such items seemed truly luxurious! All the people who work with Ana and Pablo are local, and Finca La Anita strives to showcase the talents and skills of the residents of Colonia Libertad, which results in an intimate and truly educational experience for the visitor. The food is fresh and delicious and focuses on produce from La Anita and the surrounding area. The coffee is to die for, particularly the cardamom scented variety, my personal favorite. Lying in bed at night or resting in a hammock one can hear the hummingbirds and other wildlife in the surrounding forest area; it is just magical. Ana and Pablo sent us on some wonderful trips during our short stay. We enjoyed a hike through a pristine cloud forest preserve to visit waterfalls and swim in beautiful blue thermal pools, accompanied by two friendly and helpful local guides. We visited a local inn where we were able to assist the local chef with making a special ricotta cheese, even milking the cow first. Later we rode horses in the shadow of Rincon de la Vieja where we had wonderful views, returning to a traditional Costa Rican luncheon featuring fresh fish. Perhaps best of all, our hosts were eager to share the work on their farm with visitors and answer any questions. They were the best hosts I have ever experienced in years of traveling all over the world.
For anyone interested in botany or ecology, or who seeks to experience the cloudforest microclimate around Rincon de la Vieja, Finca La Anita is well worth the stay. An unforgettable experience. We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,265 reviews
14.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
418 reviews
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
Rio Celeste Hideaway Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tenorio Volcano National Park
760 reviews
17.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
615 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Property: La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Address: 500 metros este de la iglesia catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing