We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place In Many Ways”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Located about 2 hours northeast of Bagaces, set between two volcanoes, Miravalles and Rincon de la Vieja, Finca La Anita is a family business run by two lovely people, Pablo and Ana. Not only do they grow cocoa and hearts of palm, they also produce ornamental plants and greenery for florists. They have turned the farm in to a multifaceted operation that has partnered with the local village to create sustainable crops that not only preserve the rain forest, it provides ongoing employment for many local Ticos.

In addition to farming, La Anita offers overnight accommodations in well appointed cabins, complete with a porch, rocking chairs and a hammock.

The cabins are set into the edge of the rainforest, and it is a short walk to the main cabin where meals are prepared using organic, local produce.

Although it was warm and sunny on the coast, it was cool and wet in the mountains. The last 14 km were over what could generously be called a "track" and took us about 45 minutes of bumpy driving, but well worth the effort.

While we were taking our bags to our cabins, the resident stallion "Trueno" (Spanish for Thunder) ambled over to check out the new guests . From that point on, every time we ventured out, Trueno would come over to say hi and get his nose rubbed.Thunder

On top of the good food, the conversations with Pablo and Ana were both interesting and fluid.

They are engaged in a wide variety of ventures ranging from finding niche markets for their products to hosting students from the US seeking course credits to experimenting with new products (they have concocted a guava based marmalade that is quietly addictive). They are home schooling their two adorable children, and offer tours of their farm that explain the crops, the programs and their future directions. And to top it off, Pablo and Ana are really warm and welcoming, love visitors and the chance for lively discussion.

Two nights went quickly, and although the afternoons and evenings were sometimes cool and wet, it was fun and interesting.

On the way back, we stopped in at the studio in Guyabe of one of our favorite Costa Rican artists, Tony Jimenez. A young and gentle man, passionate about his work, Tony produces lovely and haunting pieces from exotic reclaimed wood. His work is featured all over CR and he is quickly developing an international fan base for his sculptures. He favors fluid, female forms that seem to simply emerge from the wood. We couldn't resist adding another of his pieces to our collection.

Room Tip: Dress for a variety of climates, as the weather can change quickly, from warm and sunny during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDG1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013

We traveled to La Anita as part of a surprise trip for our anniversary. The biggest surprise was how excellent a visit this is. First you need to know that nobody travels this part of Costa Rica except people just like yourself looking for an experience like La Anita. Welcoming hosts (2 agronomists no less) committed to managing their perfect slice of heaven greet you and explain the farm um I mean lodge :-))

The place is spotless, ridiculously well organized for a place that is literally in the middle of nowhere - yet a destination for all the travelers that day, a destination for explorers, for travelers and for those who want a nice clean cabin and a good bed at the end of the day.

We live in Costa Rica and have, until now, never been able to recommend anything in this marvelous volcanic area. La Anita is a place we'll go back to and one we will thoroughly recommend for anyone wanting to experience real Costa Rica and a couple who make the consummate hosts - even better, unlike many lodges in Costa Rica, owned and run by Costa Ricans.

Ana and Pablo, thanks for having us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alajuelanorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a wonderful, relaxing place nestled in the most gorgeous family farm of Pablo and Ana. We were immediately made to feel like family coming to visit. The cabins were very clean, rustic and comfortable, open air, and private, surrounded by beautiful, hummingbird-attracting native plants. The meals were fresh and beautifully prepared, with vegetables and fruits from the organic farm, served in an open air dining room. Like family, Pablo and/or Ana were always there for meals, eager to visit and get to know us, yet not intrusive. They were happy to answer all of our questions about the farm and community, and to help us plan our activities. The farm is remote, so having a 4wd car was helpful, but there was plenty to do on the farm and nearby, and Pablo and Ana were so helpful in making phone calls to organize. We stayed for 4 nights.....it was not long enough!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM-FortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My fiance and I visited Finca La Anita for 5 nights (Feb.4th-8th 2013) and consider it the highlight of our trip! I had good vibes about the place from all the warm reviews on this site and I was confident that booking as many nights we could spare would be worth it, and I was SO RIGHT!!! There was still so much to do we could have stayed 5 nights longer!

Our experience went above and beyond anything I could have ever imagined. Everything was PERFECT. Ana and Pablo are personable, knowledgeable and VERY hard working. They seem to remain always available yet they also give their guests space, they communicated very well with everyone and we felt we could trust them. We woke up every morning at 6 a.m. excited for what the day would bring (and I'm not a morning person!)

During our stay we did 2 amazing hikes, horseback riding, visited hot springs, volcanic mud baths, we went zip-lining, and participated in a cooking class in a local's home...oh ya and who could forget our visit to bar Las Vegas?!

This trip was especially memorable for me because my boyfriend proposed to me during our horseback riding/hike adventure to the Cerro Frio waterfall where our lovely guide Edgar excitedly took pictures of my fiance down on one knee beside the most spectacular waterfall I've ever seen! (If you are in fairly good shape I would highly recommend this hike)

I would recommend renting a 4WD so that you have the freedom to go wherever you want whenever you want! Everyone we met at La Anita was doing the same thing.
Half of our adventures were getting lost everywhere we went, it became our main inside joke, as signage is not the same in North America where it's in your face, you gotta be observant to find certain roads leading in and out of the town of Colonia Libertad.

If you are a light sleeper pack ear plugs, but we crashed hard every night from all our adventuring so we didn't need 'em! We heard the mysterious howlers every night off in the distance...

The food at La Anita is super fresh and varied, we inhaled everything they put in front of us! If you are looking to eat out if you aren't near the property visit Dona Rosalba's restaurant (where you do the horseback riding/hiking to the waterfall) her specialty is fresh tilapia and she makes homemade cheese!

We miss you Ana y Pablo!

We will be back one day!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeeCeeSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We only stayed two nights here and we wished we could have stayed two weeks! The cabins are beautiful and the hospitality was more than we could have asked for. All the food was good, but my favorite was the desert topped with chocolate made from the on-site cacao plants. Even in the midst of Finca Anita's natural splendor, resident horse/comedian Trueno stole the show more than once. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brad g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed 2 nights in this beautiful, bucolic setting. We didn't have a rental car (as most other patrons do) but called ahead and they gave very nice detailed instructions re how to get there by bus. One of the owners was there to pick us up when the bus dropped us off as well (would've been a few km walk!). The owners are super friendly and make extra efforts to get to know the guests and accommodate as much as possible. The room was great, very clean. There are great trails around for hikers including Rincon de la Vieja. The only downside was you have to eat all meals on premises because there is no kitchen for customer use, restaurant, grocery stores nearby. The meals are buffet and are a bit overpriced for the quality. They packed a lunch for us when we hiked the volcano and it was a bit small for the strenous nature of the hike. Had I not brought some of my own snacks (which I bought in Liberia), I would've had a hard time on that hike!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

We knew this was going to be a bit of a journey. The Ranch is located outside of the usual tourist spots in Costa Rica in the northwestern area but it was well worth the trip. The road was easy to navigate (with all of the warnings we were tentative)The owners have developed an idyllic world for themselves and their young family. They share it generously with their guests. The instant we arrived we exhaled and were relaxed and were never disappointed. The grounds were beautiful, the individual cottages were well equipped and maintained and the meals were simple and fresh. We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KProst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,414 reviews
12.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
515 reviews
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
737 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,017 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Address: 500 Metros Este De La Iglesia Catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing