We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, tranquil, relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Diriamba, Nicaragua
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quiet, tranquil, relaxing”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

I am still chuckling at the negative reviews -- all of which we view as positive. No TV, no phone, 'family dining'. Thank you, Ana and Pablo, for a wonderful couple of days. All we can say is 'ditto' to all the positive reviews. Your knowledge of the country, the community, the farm is excellent and your passion for what your are doing is shown in all the little ways in which you assist those who come to visit.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellabolivia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
46
137
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I can only confirm what so many others have already written: this is a wonderful place. The owners have a clear vision of Costa Rica's past and future and want to contribute to its environmental leadership. They are highly intelligent, educated and speak excellent english. The cabins they rent (as only a small part of their project) are beautiful, clean, simple and spacious. The meals were excellent, and the tour (rain forest and farming) quite fascinating. We felt privileged to stay 2 nights, and even enjoyed the impressive, and essential rain. There are flowers everywhere and a lot of interesting palms (including beautiful sealing wax palms). A final plus: other guests at La Anita are likely to be as interesting and international as those staying during our visit, and definitely part of the experience.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that the cabins have plenty of screened but glassless windows. You will enjoy the fores...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NervousNerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rahway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

After reading about La Finca here on TA, I was sold! My friend and I took the Hummingbird Package, which is 2 nights' accommodation, all your meals, a farm tour, and one additional tour. We arrived late in the afternoon on our first night, and I really wish we had been able to arrive earlier or stay one extra night. It just wasn't enough.

We followed the directions on the farm's website and had no trouble finding it. However, please do realize that it's in the middle of nowhere and you must drive 14 kilometers on a gravel road. In some places, the gravel could more realistically be called small boulders! We had a small car and we made it, but it was rather harrowing. I would really recommend something with 4 wheel drive.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Pablo and checked into our cabin, which was the second closest to the main lodge. The farm's horse, Trueno, lives in a pasture just outside the cabins, and he loved to come say hi. Our cabin was charming and rustic with 2 twin beds, coffee maker & refrigerator, and a shelving area for our luggage. The bathroom had a large shower with hot water, and the water in the sink was safe to drink. There was also a safe in the room, although we didn't feel the need to use it in such a remote location. By the way, I am very much a hotel snob and I found the accommodations clean and comfortable. The cabin's porch had a hammock and rocking chair, and after 5 minutes sitting there, my friend (who had not been as excited as I was about the farm) said, "Thank you so much for picking this place!" Relaxing on that porch was a tranquil heaven.

We met Ana and had a delicious first lunch which included fresh juice (we would find out they serve a different fresh juice at every meal) and hot chocolate made from the farm's own cacao. Then Pablo gave us a demonstration of how they harvest hearts of palm, and he used the fresh ones to make a ceviche for that night's dinner. Next we went on a tour of the farm with Pablo (and the farm dogs!), where he explained some of their crops and provided really fascinating information about their philosophies of farming.

Dinner was a relaxing affair where we chatted with Pablo and the other farm guests. I saw other reviewers mention that they felt like family, and it was really true for us. We loved meeting other travelers and hearing about their adventures, as well as the unique lives that Ana & Pablo lead at their farm.

It gets really dark out there in the middle of the rainforest, so we definitely needed a flashlight to get back to our cabin. And I had no idea the wildlife would be so noisy! The insects (and whatever else was out there!) were an interesting lullaby for sure. Also, the farm dogs made themselves at home on our porch (our guards for the night?), which we loved.

The next day (our only full day, unfortunately) we enjoyed eggs, rice & beans for breakfast, along with delicious strong coffee and the freshest fruit. We chose to do the excursion to Las Hornillas which I reviewed separately and we really enjoyed. That night's dinner was another enjoyable evening with the other travelers and Pablo. Pablo and Ana are just so open - they really like to share the details of their lives and their philosophies. I was sad we didn't get to meet their kids, although we did hear Pablo's good night phone call with them and it was the cutest thing.

The next morning we had to leave, and Ana & Pablo asked the kitchen to come in a little early for us so we would have time for breakfast before heading to the airport. I found that really thoughtful. We couldn't resist purchasing a few souvenirs from their shop, including earrings that their daughter Ana Paula creates.

Our stay at Finca Anita was like no other place I have ever been, and that's really why I picked it. I would love to go back and take some more of the excursions in the area and just spend time relaxing in the beautiful and pristine setting. If your Costa Rica travel plans permit, you really must book it. It's an incredible and unique experience with the warmest of hosts.

Room Tip: We liked being close to the main house - less distance to travel in the dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majesty318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

It's hard to think of something that hasn't already been said about this wonderful place. As we were driving the long road to La Anita I was wondering what makes people come out to the middle of nowhere to visit this Rainforest Ranch. The answer didn't take long to find.

I am almost reluctant to add to the glowing reviews for fear that too many people will get to know about this fabulous unspoiled spot. If you want swimming pools, TV, air conditioning, room service forget it. If you want an authentic Costa Rican experience staying on a working organic cocoa farm in the rural countryside, hosted by the charming Pablo and Ana, then this is the place for you. The ten wood cabins are nicely presented and have spacious decks with superb views over the Miravailles landscape.

You really need your own car to get here if you want to avoid hefty charges for long distance taxis, but having made the effort you will not be disappointed by La Anita. The meals were delicious and full of farm grown ingredients. Apart from relaxing on the farm there are numerous activities within stirking distance- trips to the volcanoes, horse riding, trekking and hot springs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewart79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights with our 15 month old and 4 year old. What a lovely and relaxing experience! Ana and Pablo welcomed us like family. We even had lunch with their children. The food was fresh, made mostly from ingredients grown on the farm itself. The accomodations were clean, comfortable, and reliable. Make sure to sign-up for the cooking class and dinner with a local family. We got to make tortillas and much more. We even had other villagers join us that even for a truly joyous and festive dinner. This is the real Costa Rican experience! We can't wait to return. Thanks again, Ana and Pablo, for a wonderful vacation!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluet_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2013

even thou we had never met ana and pablo before, we felt like being old friends of them right from the start. we had intense conversations on all kind of topics in a way you only share with close friends, ranging from their personal concept for the farm up to global ecological issues. we also learned a lot about costa rican culture and history, nature and people, including the concerns of the community sourrounding them, who live far away from the modern centres. we came to the conclusion that even across cultures and continents, we share the same concerns.
on top of this, we really loved the place, the nature, the cabins (well equiped), the excellent food (traditional recipes presented in modern style and fresh, local products), the large open dining room, and the advice and assistance in arranging different tours and visits in the area. the absolute highlight was a private reserve with thermal hotsprings at the backside of the rincon de la vieja, about 25 km to the north of la anita.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eva_up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My son and I stayed three nights in March and were so impressed by the welcome from Ana and Pablo, including help trouble-shooting getting a SIM card for my cell phone. Plan on eating at La Anita, first because the food and company are terrific, and second because nothing else is near. Don't miss the farm tour with Pablo and include Sensoria as one of your activities. This moderate hike to waterfalls and hot springs at a private reserve in the forest below Rincon de la Vieja was unforgettable. Plan on renting a small SUV as the unpaved roads here and elsewhere can be deeply rutted and bouncy.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank GKAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
12.2 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,308 reviews
12.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
437 reviews
17.6 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
278 reviews
6.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
974 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Anita Rainforest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Anita Rainforest Ranch

Property: La Anita Rainforest Ranch
Address: 500 metros este de la iglesia catolica | Colonia Libertad de Aguas Claras, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Anita Rainforest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a small valley between the Miravalles, Rincon de la Vieja, and Santa Maria Volcanoes, La Anita Rainforest Ranch is surrounded by an incredible explosion of biodiversity. Our guests have the opportunity to tour our ranch and indulge in gourmet cuisine prepared with ingredients picked fresh from our gardens. We will guide you through rainforest trails, teach you about the flower and heart of palm, fruits and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your La Anita Rainforest Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
La Anita Rainforest Ranch Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing