We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rinconcito Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Anita Rainforest Ranch(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rancho Curubande' Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
597
294
118
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
294
118
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensdino parkmud bathhummingbird areazip lininghot springscosta ricahumming birdsfront officehorseback ridinghot poolsbutterfly enclosuredos riostarzan swing at the endfresh water poolfront porchnatural sauna
Filter
Updating list...
719 - 724 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A fine new resort with exceptional guides for tours of the rainforest on the property and for the hikes through rainforest toward volcano. Rooms are large, rustic and comfortable. The volcanic mud bath was highly refreshing, as were the various mineral pools. The staff bent over backwards to meet our needs; very helpful. The roadways toward the property (a short drive from LIberia) need attention. The guides were extremely well-informed and included lots of information about the medicinal qualities of various plants. Meals at the resort were fine; includes a breakfast - and there was no charge for a toucon that perched on the beam!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank eurotrash_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just returned from Costa Rica and stayed at the Blue River Resort for several days. It was an amazing destination way up in the mountains near a volcano. The landscaping was astounding in its diversity and color. There were several warm and hot springs fed from the natural volcano springs that course down the mountain. The rooms were located in casitias scattered all over the grounds. They were roomy, clean and each has a porch with rocking chairs and a hammock to relax in. There is a nature trail with butterfly farm and mud baths to enjoy. The restuarant is open air and the food is excellent. There is a pet toucan who flies in for a bite on occassion. I will deinifitely return to this paradise and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kassjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A wonderful new resort (only 1 year old). Incredibly tasteful modern design all around. The suites are huge, the hot mineral pools are clean and built inside the jungle setting. Beautiful art work everywhere. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. They offer good tours to the waterfalls, zip lines, hiking up to the volcano etc.
The staff is very friendly and competent. I can't think of one negative thing in 4 days. $130 per night including huge breakfast and mineral pools and saunas is a real bargain in that area. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vali-hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Blue River Resort and just returned home today to san jose, california and want to tell all me amigas to go and stay here. Every moment was perfecto! with 7 nights in the country the 3 we stayed at the Blue River were the most amazing of the whole trip. The room is modern and very updated. The shower could hold 8 people. clean and new with plenty of hot water. its like a huge beautiful wooden cabin with tall ceilings huge closet with a new safe. (which we did not feel we needed to use) the hot springs were HOT and the mud bath was such a spectacular experience.rain off and on but it was warm rain and then the sun came out and the resort glowed. The creatures you would hear, the gardens, the wild cows, the flocks of parrots, the amazing flowers and trees.. the bumpy car ride in (free massage) was just part of the experience. i could go on and on. we did zip lining with Joaquin and he took such good care of us! it was the BEST part of our trip. if you step foot in Costa Rica you must visit BLUE RIVER!! pura vida!! i will be back mi amigas!

Room Tip: all the cabins are very spacious and would cost 5 times as much in the states. ALL cabins are beautiful and remodeled.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and spent an incredibly enjoyable three days and nights at Blue River Resort in Costa Rica. It's a rough ride back to the resort, but that just seemed like part of the Costa Rican experience. Once there, you feel like you've entered a kind of paradise. The grounds are beautiful. Sitting in the hot springs is one of the most relaxing experiences I've ever had. The room was large and clean. The mud bath was a real experience. I even enjoyed the humming bird garden - I've never seen so many humming birds, or sat amongst them while they do their thing. But, the best part, and what set it apart even more than the setting, was the staff. We find all the Costa Rican people we've met to be very friendly and welcoming, but the staff here was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and kind. If you're looking for the party scene and night clubs, this is not the place to go. If you're looking for a piece of paradise on earth, it is. It was very hard to leave.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is farthest from the entrance to the property.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephencru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews