We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue River Mistake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Blue River Mistake”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The mistake? Only staying one night was the mistake. We should have booked at least three, or more. After arriving there and seeing the facilities, it was apparent that this is a very special destination.

Our group consisted of 6 people, staying in 3 rooms. The rooms were incredibly spacious, more like small cabins, and would easily accommodate 4 adults without feeling the least bit cramped.

The grounds were manicured and lush. The several hot spring pools were well maintained. The restaurant was well appointed and reasonably priced, very good food.

Our group did the canopy tour and were well satisfied. I had experienced the zip lines at Monteverde a few years prior, and those are hard to beat. The Blue River's were very good, and valued well at $45.00. Regretfully, we were out of time since our flight was leaving the next day from Liberia, as our group would have liked to experienced more of the tours offered by the resort. Next time. There will definitely be a next time.

The spa included a work-out facility that had high quality equipment, and the massage therapist, Rosibel, did an excellent job.

The roads to get there are good until you get to the unpaved portion, but, for those that have traveled in CR prior, they were no worse than the typical dirt roads found throughout the country. However, if it is your first time travelling in rural CR, don't be put off by the roads - this is typical Costa Rica. The resort is well worth the effort to get to it; I can't imagine anyone not enjoying this facility.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    264
    104
    39
    12
See reviews for
367
358
25
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint-Basile-le-Grand, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent 2 nights at the BRR earlier this month.

First of all, you need to know that despite being so close to the Rincon de la Vieja volcano and national park, you can only visit both through the main entrance, the one close to Liberia. So you're 90 minutes drive away from this. We even tried to get a guide and go to the park/volcano by horse through the carribean side, didn't work.

The drive to the hotel is rough, but it is EXTREMELY well signed, thanks to the hotel, 0 risk of getting lost vs driving in the Monteverde area!!!

The hotel site is amazing, clean, top-quality, gardens well maintained, good lights at night.
The rooms are huge, could easily have been 4 in there. Only problem, the roof's material do not absorb the sound of rain, and since it pours down every night, it's very noisy, even for a guy like me who can sleep everywhere!!!

Restaurant is good, a bit expensive but you get good-sized and lovely food.
Front desk is probably where it hurts a bit. It's not that they are not nice, but let say that they will do the minimum and you will have to ask questions and insist to have answers or insights on things to do. Don't give up and keep insisting!!!!! Some training needed!!!
We did the horseback riding tour, excellent guide, great ride, the horses were calm, which was good for a beginner like me.
The botanical garden is great, we spent hours there looking at the hummingbirds, the butterflies and the plants.
And now, the pool/spa...The 4 spas are all alike, huge bassin full of green water with a waterfall to cool off the water. When we where there, only 1 spa at the time at the waterfall running, not always the same one, they were changing it regularly. As the resort was empty, no prb, but I hope that if lots of people get there, they will have all the 4 running, helps having some intimacy. And the pool that you see on the brochures was empty the 3 days....fortunately we didn't have the boys with us!!!

As for the blue river, it was not as blue as the web site, again because of the heavy rain. It gets blue in the dry season. And due to the limited sales speech of the front desk, we didn't really enjoyed it as no excursion were focused on the river.....

Nice place, would'nt go back but we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lebeauceronintrépide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue River R, Owner at Blue River Resort & Hot Springs, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Service is priority #1 and we'll work on this. I'm sorry that you would not return because there are many activities left to take part in.

From Blue River Resort, our hike to the summit of Rincon de la Vieja begins 10 minutes away. We offer a differrent (we think, superior experience) than from the other side because of the lava flows, the greater abundance of wildlife and since only this side has the blue rivers.

Regarding the comments about the blue river, the resort is accross from the blue volcanic river, Rio Celeste. We've created trail that leads to a great swimming spot. Also, the tour, by horseback (or by car) is to a our private park along another gorgeous blue volcanic river, Rio Panjamos. The visit includes the river, the nature, seeing where the water turns blue and the waterfalls. After a strong rain the river can loose its blue transluscense for part of a day. However, pictures on the website are in no way altered or enhanced. Just look at the ones posted by visitors.

We hope this clarification helps. Again, thank your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just returned from Costa Rica last week, last three nights at the beautiful Blue River Resort in the Rincon area. This is a must return location. Wonderful staff, very reasonable day excursions with english speaking guides. Large rooms, internet free but spotty due to remote location in the mountains. We enjoyed the restaurant staff and the friendliness of the local residents. Great hot spring spas, mud bath, nature center made our time here a lasting memory. Thanks Danny for the great experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PecosMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A fine new resort with exceptional guides for tours of the rainforest on the property and for the hikes through rainforest toward volcano. Rooms are large, rustic and comfortable. The volcanic mud bath was highly refreshing, as were the various mineral pools. The staff bent over backwards to meet our needs; very helpful. The roadways toward the property (a short drive from LIberia) need attention. The guides were extremely well-informed and included lots of information about the medicinal qualities of various plants. Meals at the resort were fine; includes a breakfast - and there was no charge for a toucon that perched on the beam!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eurotrash_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I just returned from Costa Rica and stayed at the Blue River Resort for several days. It was an amazing destination way up in the mountains near a volcano. The landscaping was astounding in its diversity and color. There were several warm and hot springs fed from the natural volcano springs that course down the mountain. The rooms were located in casitias scattered all over the grounds. They were roomy, clean and each has a porch with rocking chairs and a hammock to relax in. There is a nature trail with butterfly farm and mud baths to enjoy. The restuarant is open air and the food is excellent. There is a pet toucan who flies in for a bite on occassion. I will deinifitely return to this paradise and recommend it to all my friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

A wonderful new resort (only 1 year old). Incredibly tasteful modern design all around. The suites are huge, the hot mineral pools are clean and built inside the jungle setting. Beautiful art work everywhere. The food in the restaurant is outstanding. They offer good tours to the waterfalls, zip lines, hiking up to the volcano etc.
The staff is very friendly and competent. I can't think of one negative thing in 4 days. $130 per night including huge breakfast and mineral pools and saunas is a real bargain in that area. We will definitely be back

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vali-hai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san jose, ca
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Blue River Resort and just returned home today to san jose, california and want to tell all me amigas to go and stay here. Every moment was perfecto! with 7 nights in the country the 3 we stayed at the Blue River were the most amazing of the whole trip. The room is modern and very updated. The shower could hold 8 people. clean and new with plenty of hot water. its like a huge beautiful wooden cabin with tall ceilings huge closet with a new safe. (which we did not feel we needed to use) the hot springs were HOT and the mud bath was such a spectacular experience.rain off and on but it was warm rain and then the sun came out and the resort glowed. The creatures you would hear, the gardens, the wild cows, the flocks of parrots, the amazing flowers and trees.. the bumpy car ride in (free massage) was just part of the experience. i could go on and on. we did zip lining with Joaquin and he took such good care of us! it was the BEST part of our trip. if you step foot in Costa Rica you must visit BLUE RIVER!! pura vida!! i will be back mi amigas!

Room Tip: all the cabins are very spacious and would cost 5 times as much in the states. ALL cabins are beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
10.9 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,308 reviews
8.8 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
437 reviews
17.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
647 reviews
23.2 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
734 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue River Resort & Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue River Resort & Hot Springs

Property: Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Address: | 600 m West of la Puente and Rio Azul, Rincon de La Vieja 21306, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue River Resort & Hot Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue River Resort and Hot Springs is an authentic Costa Rica experience in the rainforests of Rincon de la Vieja. Our jewel is the spectacular natural mineral "green" hot spring pools – but that’s just the beginning. There is a large fresh water pool & bullet slide, the spa, botanical gardens, butterfly farm, iguana and frog pond and much more. Set out on several authentic eco Costa Rica adventure tours, all nearby. Eco-tours include visits to gorgeous blue volcanic rivers and waterfalls by horseback, nature walks, volcano hike, zip-lining across waterfalls and much more. The breadth of eco-nature tours will amaze you. Blue River Resort & Hot Springs offers luxury accommodation in new, spacious 720 square foot cabanas. Book your dream Costa Rica vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue River Resort & Hot Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue River Resort And Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing