We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Riverside, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a week in the beginning of August and we couldn't have picked a better place. It is very secluded, but was exactly what we wanted. No huge crowds, not just another number at a chain hotel and something we couldn't get / see at home. We experienced all that and more. The staff was truly amazing from start to finish. Everything from the road to get there to the dinner each night at their restaurant was an adventure and fantastic.

I do recommend renting a car if you chose to stay here. We had one and was able to come and go when we wanted to go sight-seeing. We booked 3 different excursions with the hotel the week we were there and enjoyed each of them. By far one of the best hotels I have stayed at and already planning on coming back with the entire family next time!

Room Tip: Like others have stated...pick rooms further up...the views are fabulous! Spend the extra money...we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaJacinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    192
    75
    36
    23
See reviews for
256
337
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We spend 2 nights here, enjoying the wonderful garden, the beautiful swimming pool, the incredible natural steam room, the very hot springs, the funny volcanic mud and the spacious villa. The food is also very good... We do the horse back riding, seeing a tamandua in a tree. Even if we had to drive twice 12 km on a bumpy road, we keep an excelent souvenir of this place, the best we have been during our two week trip in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsolutTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed 3 mnights in the rainy season. Upscale resort with spa, hotsprings, mud bath and inhiuse activities including horseback riding and ziplines. very responsive staff! Food was better then we expected. Roads to the resort are bumpy but hey thats part of the experience, scenery is great with tons of wildlife.

Room Tip: choose a room close to the pool. 3 days is enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syed r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Borrinquen for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We stayed in a Bungalow Superior, which ran about 150/night plus taxes after the promotion we booked it with. The room was pretty large and very nice--I would say probably 4 star quality. We really liked how each room was separate from the others--made for a quiet and private stay. One thing to note was that the mattress was extremely firm, which was fine for us but might bother some.

One of the best parts of Borrinquen is the friendly and helpful staff. We stayed at two other resorts after Borrinquen but this was the only place we had long conversations with the staff and felt like they were our friends. They did nice little things like make us extra strong pool drinks when we asked for them and comped us some drinks. Most of the staff spoke pretty good English although a few things got lost in translation.

The complimentary breakfast is excellent (you choose from 3 options). Fresh fruit, delicious cheese, great eggs, yummy toast and butter. However, the food options for lunch and dinner are overpriced. This is unfortunate because the resort is so isolated that you have no choice but to buy the $14 sandwiches and $25 dinner entrees. The food isn't bad, just overpriced for what you're getting. If you budget about $100 for food and drink a day (for 2 ppl) you should be good.

Zip lining at the resort is a must. We were both a little afraid of riding horses but that fear goes away within a few minutes and then you just enjoy the wonderful ride up to the top. There are 10 different lines, each with breathtaking views.

The pool is also very nice, as are the hot tubs and mud area. The steam room is old and funky (and stinky because it comes from the hot springs) but also kind of cool.

Overall, I'd probably give Borrinquen a 4.5 rating if I could. Since I can't, I'm rounding up to 5. We would definitely recommend this as a place to spend part of your trip to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Nice hotel close to the Liberia airport and a great easy way to ease into a Costa Rica trip.
Stayed for 2 nights with two teenagers (17 & 19).
Very small with lots of personal attention. Rooms are wonderful and airy. Everyone was very accomodating and helpful, and very patient with the language differences.
It is also isolated which is both a good and bad thing.
Good: safe, clean, lots of wildlife, nice activities (zip line, horses, ATV, pool, mud) and the bird songs are amazing to wake up to.
Bad: captive for their food service, which was good but very pricey. Honestly, is it really right to have to pay $70 for 4 people for breakfast in Costa Rica? or $150 for dinner?
Because there is no food choices (town is too far) their food pricing is too high (no competition).

I would reccomend to any friend that they include this property on the list of places to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We spent two nights at Hotel Borinquen at the recommendation of a hotel owner we stayed with in Samara; she described it as the place that she and her husband went when they wanted to treat themselves. So glad we took her suggestion!

Borinquen is up on the hill and a bit away from everything, which makes it a great place for a break on a busy vacation, or a romantic stop for any couple. Modern, well appointed cabins that would cost you 4-5 times the money in Hawaii for similar quality. Beautiful grounds, pools, mud baths, saunas.

It's a bit isolated for those who have a short trip and want to see and do it all in quick fashion, but if you've got a longer vacation and want to insure a few days of luxury and tranquility, I highly recommend Hotel Borenquin.

We liked it so much that we booked it again for our final night before flying out of LIberia, only to find it inaccessible due to heavy rains that day that caused the river to swell and make crossing it to get to Borenquin impossible. That fact, and the fact that you have scant options for dining other than the lodge itself, were the only negatives for us in an otherwise great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffRockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I visited Hotel Borinquen on the second half of our honeymoon. The first half of our honeymoon spent on the beach was good, but nothing spectacular. That all changed when we arrived at Borinquen. The staff was so awesome and fun, we even made friends with several of them. The resort is so beautiful and peaceful. The landscapers worked all day every day to keep it beautiful. Everyone was so helpful and happy to accommodate us. We were there in the off season, so every excursion, we had our own guide and they did an awesome job. The bungalows are beautiful and peaceful. The pool is also very well kept. The food, most of it grown and produced on the resort, was great. I didn't mind being so secluded and only having one restaurant on the property because the food was well done. The only minor thing we had to get used to was the wait staff and how they wait on tables is a little slower pace than what we are used to back home in the US, but that is to be expected when visiting another country. Nevertheless, they were still so happy to get us anything we needed. We will for sure be back!

Room Tip: The rooms are literally on the side of a mountain, so to walk anywhere around the resort can be up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandlerjaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
20.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
9.6 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
20.8 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
5.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
3.2 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Property: Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing