We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds, Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2005

We just returned from our honeymoon in Costa Rica - We spent the first 5 nights at the Four Seasons and then moved to the Borinquen Resort for the last 3 days to see a different part of Costa Rica.

The grounds of the resort are absolutely beautiful - and the pool is one of the prettiest I've seen. The resort is pretty big and is in the mountains - so walking around (or I should say up and down) gets to be a challenge after a while, even if you are in shape. They will come and get you from your room in a golf cart and drive you to another area of the resort. We saw monkeys, frogs, iguanas, and several birds on the grounds.

We were the only guests when we checked in to the resort, which was in a way neat, but in a way raised some questions (i.e., where are the people??). I think it was just a slow period - by the time we checked out we did see several others checking in. Probably because we were the only guests, some amenities of the hotel were not available - swim up bar at pool was not open, etc., and it was hard to get service in some areas b/c there was no one around. They are currently building a gift shop and adding on a spa around the mud baths, it looks like it will be very nice when they are finished.

The rooms are nice and clean - but the beds are very hard (we slept better during a daytime nap in the hammock on the patio than we did in the bed at night). Also, showers were lukewarm at best, and went cold after about 3 minutes.

The staff was friendly and very helpful, when we could communicate with them. Although my husband does speak some Spanish, no one on the resort at the time we were there spoke English so we did have a little trouble communicating (partially our fault, I know).

The food was definitely not the greatest. The breakfast was the best they had to offer, but still not excellent. Lunch and dinner were mediocre, and price was high for the quality.

Overall, we had a good stay, but when we go again I would probably prefer to visit the Borinquen as part of another tour, and stay somewhere else at night.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jiminycricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 792 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
327
Reviewed 30 April 2005

We booked a room here after I accidentally came across their website and stayed here for 3 days. The resort itself is top-notch. Beautiful grounds, beautiful privat rooms. Each room has a patio with a hammock that is like lying on a blanket instead of a net. The staff was wonderful and even has a "chauffeur" service. Because the grounds are large, they can pick you up from your door on a golf cart and take you to the spa, restaurant, pool, etc... if you prefer not to walk. My ONLY complaint about the place is that for a top notch resort, the food at the restaurant was pretty bad. OUr mixed salad with made up of lettuce and every vegetable (asparagus, mushroom, peas) were canned and not fresh. I am not a picky eater, but I had to return my pesto pasta b/c it was HORRIBLE (and for the price, it was absurd!!!!). The chicken and rice dish I got instead was better, but still not good. Even our tour guide (who works for the hotel) actually warned us about the food and said that the chef constatnly tells the owner of the resort (a Cuban business man) that he would like fresh new ingredients, but the owner refuses b/c of the high cost. You don't really have an option though since you are kind of isolated there (and even with a car, it's quite a drive to other places). Fun fact - our tour guide mentioned that Bruce WIllis was just there about 2 months ago. Also - Temptaion Island will be filmed there this month!

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, Massachusetts
18
Reviewed 26 April 2005

When we were booked into the Borinquen Resort by a travel agent because our main destination on the Pacific Coast was sold out, we expected to be disappointed and eager to leave. We couldn't have been more wrong -- at the end of three days and two nights there, we were trying to figure out when we could come back and stay for an entire week. The resort is in the foothills that adjoin the Rincon Vieja National Park, about a 50-minute drive from the Liberia Airport. The drive was memorable -- roads somewhat bumpy, but we were awed by the spectacular scenery as we climbed into the highlands. We saw cattle, goats, trees filled with cavorting spider monkeys, mysterious outcroppings of pumice, bosque forest, steaming volcanoes (in the distance), sugar cane farms and small villages. We asked our affable driver, Reinert, to stop to let us check out a charming open-air karaoke bar and had our first bottle of the excellent local beer, Imperial. The resort itself is a series of spacious bungalows that sprawl up the hill. Ours was clean and quite spacious, with a mini bar and modern bathroom (shower, no tub). We had a shaded front porch with a hammock, where we sat and watched the twice daily cattle drive every morning and evening (the resort has a dairy farm, and fresh cheese seems to be served with every meal.) At dusk, we'd hear the howler monkeys sing their eerie song all around us. We saw toucans, hummingbirds, iguanas, and momo birds. The pool was lovely and clean, and we appreciated the little bath house and bar near the pool since it was a hike back uphill to our bungalow. (Although we could have requested a golf cart ride at any time.) The sulfur steam baths are spectacular. We didn't try the mud spa or the mineral baths or the horse rides, ATV trips or any of the eco-adventures because we were traveling with a demanding toddler, but they seemed top notch. There was a lovely hiking path that wound through the forest on the resort that was a living botany lesson, and even our toddler could manage that and feel like he had an adventure of his own. The breakfasts were ample, with local treats like plantains. Dinners were geared to North American tastes, with vegeterian entrees like pasta, and beefsteak and mahi mahi for fish and meat-eaters. The management was attentive and enthusiastic, and the staff was friendly and generous. All in all, a peaceful, almost spiritual sojourn in the gorgeous Costa Rican countryside.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2005

We came here as part of an ecotour. This resort offers things that would please both the active traveler and one who wants to relax. The rooms are above the main dining area, so be prepared to do some walking. the rooms were comfortable and had good views.

There is great birding within hiking distance. Monkeys are sometimes visible on hotel grounds. You can see bubbling mud pots, have a mud treatment (no extra charge) and relax in the slightly sulfer-scented saunas. My kids live in fear that I will show their friends pictures of them covered with the mud. Among other things, we saw toucans in the trees near the saunas. The food was good, not fancy cuisine but good Costa Rican food. Note: In Costa Rica breakfast is the big meal, not supper. However, they have a larger dinner menu items available for North Americans. Staff was friendly and helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel for the active traveler. This includes active families.

Nearby (not on hotel property) are some incredible zip lines so that you can see the jungle from a tree top view. My then 7 year old even did the zip line. They had a special small sized harness for him.

15  Thank drcwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank faicobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gabriela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
4.6 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
484 reviews
20.5 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
8.4 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
986 reviews
20.8 mi away
Rio Perdido
Rio Perdido
#1 of 1 in Bagaces
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort

Address: P.O. Box 108, Rincon de La Vieja 5000, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £87 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hot Springs Spa at Borinquen Mountain Resort is your exclusive vacation spot located in Guanacaste in the North Pacific Region of Costa Rica.The Hotel was designed and created in 1999 with the sole purpose of unlocking the exceptional beauty of the Rincon de la Vieja countryside and bringing it to the world. When you visit Hotel Borinquen you are literally stepping into a world apart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Rincon De La Vieja
Resort Borinquen Mountain
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing