We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I like it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Everything was awesome. The best of this hotel is their people, very friendly and nice. I don't give maximum rating only because the administration seems to not care about controlling smoking. Even though my room was marked as non smoking and was clean it smelled to cigar. We also had to deal with the next door people who smoke right next to us, in the restaurant same thing. We have the right of clean air, please respect that.
Tours are expensive. Room should have at least a small fridge. I do recommend this hotel, employees are the best, food is good, surroundings are awesome.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the front desk/restaurant as traffic of guests will be a bit of a hassle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your comments, is the only way we can improve every day.
In one hand we are glad you enjoyed the food, the staff and sorroundings, on the other hand , we are sorry for the inconvenient of people smoking near you, we will revise our smoking policie to se what we can do in the benefit of guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great place interesting surroundings. Nice place to visit Rincon volcano and trails, come back to hotel for swim at springs and rest at pool and eat! Thanks for making our vacation special! Would have loved a frig in room and better mattress!

Room Tip: Splurge for superior rooms well worth the expense!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalvay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Hi, thank you very much for your comments, will analyse regarding mattress, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We went to two beautiful waterfall hikes on the hotel lands. These are special-- copper makes the water blue. The thermal hot springs that are included in the hotel price are also nice, with monkeys making a visit when we were there. It is very close to Ricon de vieja-- and we loved the short loop trail with the mud pits (and my husband enjoyed the longer waterfall hike).

The staff were very nice, both in the resturant and hotel. I speak a little Spanish, but didn't really need it here. Our daughter had a very bad ear infection and we didn't have a car to get to Liberia, so they arranged for a doctor to visit the hotel and bring antibiotics. One of the staff, Omar, brought ear drops the next morning.

The rooms were nice and we had air conditioning-- which my older guide book said they didn't have. there is a longer walk to the rooms, so it might be hard for someone who couldn't walk well.

The included breakfast is very good. Our only complaint was the cost of the restaurant for dinner and lunch. There are no other close places to eat-- so you are a captive audience. There is a good and reasonably priced pizza and some sandwiches for around $9 or $10. The buffet was only ok, and at $18 is not worth it. We judge a restaurant's price here by the "casado's" price-- here it was $15. Even at nice restaurants in other tourist areas the highest we had previously seen is $10 (and we have been here for 4 months).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thanks Kirsten S for your review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the waterfalls, specially the blue ones. We are not sure if it is copper what makes them blue. The area has lots of waterfalls, the park and Guachipelin, one of the main reasons to create the park was to protect the water resources.
We are happy to know that Omar helped with your girl's infection.
Yes there are some guides that are not up to date with the info from the property, so asking for the services is a good option. We are trying to improve every year.
The food is always an issue, and their is a small soda in town, and a drive there can be arranged, where prices are a bit different, there is also a soda at the parks entrance with better prices on sandwiches and beer. Just to finish, we find it hard to lower our prices for the buffet with our cost structure, but we are working to see how can guests find more options so they can choose, from the menu, buffet or local "sodas".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

If you want to experience another side of Costa Rica then the Hacienda Guachipelin is for you! They offer tubing, ziplining, thermal springs, waterfalls...you can even milk cows!!! Some people stay at other hotels and pay nearly $200 to experience in one day what we experienced during our entire stay at the hotel. The Rio Negro Hot Springs and volcanic mud as well as 2 waterfalls are included in the price of the hotel. Otherwise pay $85 for an adventure pass and do the tubing, horseback riding, ziplining, etc

But -- the hotel is isolated -- so if you do end up staying there -- you'll be spending your time only there -- eating there, laying poolside, etc! This is why I think its good to stay there for a few days and then move on to another hotel so you can experience the beach and other sites within Costa Rica. They do offer shuttle services to the airport or if you want to go elsewhere --but I found it to be expensive -- for example $60 one way to go into Liberia if you wanted to shop there. So its $120 roundtrip just to go into town and back!

Breakfast is included however and its a buffet that I enjoyed -- especially the fresh fruit juices. Lunch and dinner you have to pay for and I know the dinner buffet was $18 per person. Its good for a day or two but then the food starts to get monotonous -- another reason to keep your stay short.

The have free internet and the staff is super helpful and very very nice! The rooms are lovely as well and offer a/c, a fan/ queen sized bed and a large bathroom shower! I would definitely recommend it and would stay there again!

Room Tip: Many people on trip advisor have suggested getting the superior rooms b/c of the cattle smell -- I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinabethTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is comfortable and reasonably priced. The tours and tour guides are fantastic. I was lucky enough to be the only person on a horseback tour to a waterfall, and two other North American tourists made for good company on my first zip line tour, taken at the age of 55. The staff excelled in making it work for any level of agility.

I would caution travellers that the hotel is a very long way from Liberia, the nearest town, a small issue if you don't come by car. I got contradictory advice from the desk staff as to travel options, and I applaud the young woman who was willing to point me towards the less expensive solution.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carmelincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for the time in writing your comments, we feel very happy that you had a good time while doing the activities we offer, and that your first Canopy tour was a nice experience, the staff at the hotel strives all the time in satisfying costumers needs. We hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A comment cannot do justice to the new experiences provided by the package which included a 40 minute horseback ride with a picturesque waterfall pool break. Zip lining in tropical jungle which included rock climbing and repelling. Honours must be paid to Isreal and crew for their expertise and professionalism. As a novice zipliner I was carefully watched and guided at each platform. The Hotel restaurant provided an excellent and varied buffet, before we completed the three mile class four white water tube adventure. Management and staff must be commended for making a day at Volcan Rincon De la Visja a memorable event for nine Canadians visiting Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Go with the flow, your safety is no. 1 in the minds of all employees at RINCON
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank RetiredCanadian118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Excellente!!!! We feel very happy you enjoyed and had a good time with us and that you found VALUE ! in what we offer... That is our goal. Hopefully you can come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The hotel is beautiful and the massages are great. The food at the restaurant could be improved but the breakfast was great. Also, make sure you visit the national park, they have a gorgeous waterfall, perfect for swimming.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toddwes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you very much for your review, good advice on visiting Rincón de la Vieja National Park, is absolutely amazing. We feel glad you enjoyed your stay and our activities. We hope you can come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
531 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
310 reviews
24.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.6 mi away
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Peninsula Papagayo
Andaz Costa Rica Resort At Penin...
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,759 reviews
15.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Rincon de la Vieja National Park, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £60 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing