We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Guachipelin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Javy(Liberia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Wilson(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Daysita(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,491)
Filter reviews
1,491 results
Traveller rating
504
534
284
112
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
504
534
284
112
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkriver tubingday adventurehorseback ridinghot springszip lininggrand tourcosta ricario negroadventure centerday passfree shuttledinner buffeta la carte menuwhite water tubingcanopy tourbuffet style
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
473 - 478 of 1,491 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We started the morning with horseback riding which was extremely fun! We had two tour guides throughout the ride - one of them leading the way and the other in the back making sure we were all together and our questions were answered.
When we finished horseback riding we went tubing which was probably our favorite part of the adventure. We had different tour guides for the tubing adventure - they were very upbeat and kept the group alive and entertained. We saw about two monkeys and many exotic birds. The scenery was absolutely beautiful and memorable. Having to just look at the scenery alone was worth every penny that we spent throughout the trip. Pura vida!
The only negative comment I do have was during our zip lining process. I would say that 80% of the guides that cross checked and made sure we were safe were very respective of everyone's feelings and made sure we were comfortable before telling us to go. We did encounter three guides who were just rushing through the process and were very rude. I hate to even say anything bad about the experience but it made me and my partner feel very uncomfortable and I'm sure we are voicing what others were probably thinking as well.
Overall it was a nice experience and id definitely do it again. I think that some of the employees should just watch there temper and not come across unhappy and rude cause it could scare the traveler.
We didn't stay at the hotel we only experienced the adventure tour they offered. But what we can say is that we looked at the hotel and everything looked really nice. We also had the privilege of enjoying the buffet which was very delicious!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank hluzbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Pura Vida, thank you very much for your comments, readers wiil fond very helpful your descriptions, specially when it comes to the guides for every activity, we work hard on them in order to provide excellent comstumer service and safety.Thanks for the good comments about the food and for recommending the activities.
We are sorry the inconvenient with the guides during the canopy tour, sometimes they are more worried for safety than costumer service, we are constantly training them.
Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This place was great value for money and has a lovely atmosphere and character. It is a working cattle ranch so one morning we go to milk the cows at dawn which was a cool experience. The price includes a visit to the hot springs nearby which were amazing. The breakfast is a buffet with lots of options and they do delicious tica food. The staff were very helpful and there are many adventure activity options in the area. We went horse riding for two hours to a beautiful water fall.overall it was one of our favourite places in Costa Rica and a lot more authentic than monteverde where we really just felt like we were in a tourist trap and being ripped off.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Cliomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for writing this review, I feel glad that you took advantage of the hotel being a cattle ranch and that you woke up to milk the cows, this is a very nice experience. Thank you for the good comments regarding our TICO (costarican) food, glad you liked it, specially our breakfasts where you can get palmed tortillas, made infront of you, and some cheese and sour cream produced in the farm.
We try hard to be authentic and to keep traditions, thank you for appreciating that. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We stayed here for 8 days and I have to say we had a magnificent time. Pros: perfect place to stay if planning on doing the tour adventures. Some are free if you're staying at their hotel. A lot of people were coming from outside the hotel so it was a big plus for us that we were staying there walking distance from a lot of adventures. CONS: Food wasn't that great and expensive just like basically everything else we purchased. You will be away from the city about an hr away. If you did not rent a car, going to the city will cost you about $150 round trip taxi ride. After the third day, we got tired of the same food. Rooms were very simple nothing of luxury. No TV in the room and very small (very small) beds and only two electric connections. Back to CONS: staff was very nice, very helpful. I would stay here in a heart beat-small
beds and all lol

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

8 days ? WOW ! Thank you for staying with us that long, and best of all, , we feel very glad that you enjoyed each and every day. Yes , for our guests we have free transportation to the National Park (Rincón de la vieja) and to our natural hot springs, also you can hike to different waterfalls for free too.
Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room offers the basic necessities. The restaurant offers great buffet meals. The hotel is secluded and peaceful. If you want to commune with nature, this is the place for you. There are several hammocks available infront of each room . Nice place to read while listening to birds singing.
The staff are very helpful and hard working. We were offered fruit drinks as we got out of our tour bus.
My only negative observation is the parking lot is not well illuminated. One of the guests tripped and fell one evening as she is pulling her luggage from the parking lot into her room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you for writing this comments, Trip Advisor readers will find them very helpful if they are planning a vactaion to Costa Rica and are considering Rincón de la Vieja área. As you mentión, we offer great buffet meals provided with very good service.Hammocks are very nice to enjoy nature that surrounds the hotel, I will make sure to tell our staff your good comments about them.
We are very sorry for the guest who fell, thank you for the advice, we will check on better illumination on the parking lot. Please come and visit us soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable. I really liked the breakfast buffet. The cook would ask us if everything was okay and look really happy if we went up for seconds. The best thing was the adventure tour - WOW! It was a very full day. We started the day horseback riding on the trails, then went tubing down the rapids, followed by ziplining (which also included some rappelling, rock climbing and a tarzan swing) . The views during these activities are breath-taking. Rincon de la Vieja is a very beautiful place. This hotel is right next to the park so the location is perfect. We didn't have to travel - everything was nearby and we were able to do so many activities in one day. After we broke for lunch, we did the mud bath in the natural hot springs. At the end we did a snake, frog and butterfly tour. Our guides were all very knowledgeable and made up feel safe. The price was incredible considering we could have paid the same price for each activity if we were to do it on it's own.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mvora_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, we feel very happy that you liked our rooms and surroundings. As you say, yes , we are located very close to Rincón de la Vieja National Park, and we offer free transportation to the park. We are glad you found value for your money in the activities we offer and that you could end the day with our relaxing natural hot springs. Please come and visit us soon agaiin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews