We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty to do right on the Hotel property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Senic hikes, waterfalls big enough to swim in, a really inviting natural riverside hot springs where you have the option of slathering yourself with mud, letting it dry and showering off, quiet nights and a helpful staff make this a destination experience. Free shuttles to the national park a bonus. You have one dining choice here: the hotel restaurant in which dinner is very expensive for Costa Rica but adequate. I loved the fresh tortilla station in the morning. I was so taken with watching the process that the woman at the station kindly allowed me to join her and walked me through making a tortilla. Which in no way resembled hers. But I'm working on it. If the bed weren't lumpy I would've given it all five stars. Note: bring a wrap or light jacket for the evenings, you are in the mountains.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KayRynerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for such a nice description of the hotel, it really seems that you enjoyed everything that we offer and we feel very happy for that. It is great that you shared the making of a real tortilla with our staff, one of our main porpuses is to offer excellent costumer service, and this experiences are part of that. I am sure all readers will find very valuable all your comments and I thank you again. Please come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed here a few days and had a blast. If you choose to go, the adventure tour is a must!! The food, namely the buffet, was excellent and the service was great. The only downfall is the distance from the nearest town. But unless you plan on going to get gas or something, there is no reason to go into town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your comments, we feel glad that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel: the location, the service and specially the food, we make a big effort to offer quality and at the same time keep the gastronomic traditioins of Costa Rica and Guanacastte. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Stayed at Hacienda Guachipelin with Monkey Tours, a working ranch in beautiful setting with an excellent restaurant. Lots of adventures in nearby river canyon; zip line, horseback riding and tubing. What a blast! Also great hikes in Rincon de La Vieja National Park nearby, not to mention the natural hot mineral springs and mud bath we enjoyed to end a perfect day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hattierae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for writing this nice comments, they will be very helpful for all the readers, we always feel very happy when guests enjoy every single aspect of the Hacienda : food, location, tours, activities, service, gardens, etc..and it looks you were one of them. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend getaway here. We got a standard room which was comfortable but basic. The grounds were very nice and the area is beautiful. The food is where this place is lacking. As you are quite a ways from other dining options, the hotel restaurant is your only option . The breakfast buffet was pretty good but the dinner was lacking. The buffet options when we were there were pork ribs and beef in a sauce. Both items were predominantly fat. The chicken and pasta were pretty good however. The bread was horrid. It tasted like chemicals. Our first night there, we tried the pizza. This was a very bad idea. We have lived in Costa Rica for quite a while and have had multiple sketchy experiences with what passes for pizza but this was by far the absolute worst. Thankfully the waitress spilled a beer all over the pizza right after we took our first bites. We told them not to remake it and they removed it from the bill without question.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank McD_In_Ocotal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you for your comments, we feel happy that you liked our breakfast, also that you enjoyed our gardens and location. Regarding food, we put a lot of effort in putting up a nice buffet with varied options, also we offer the possibility to order from the menú. I really don´t understand what happenned with the pizza, it has been for years our best dish. Let me checl what went wrong, please accept my aplogies. Please come back and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed for three nights in late September 2013. Our room was one of the simple rooms that apparently date from the original lodgings. Not surprisingly, it was somewhat rustic … one double plus a twin bed along with a tiled bath, and a couch/futon and table. These rooms do not have television (other, newer rooms do), but the hotel's wi-fi usually came in with a strong signal.

Breakfast (included in the room cost) usually included a wide-ranging selection of items as befits a larger establishment. It was filling but rather pedestrian in terms of quality … two or three kinds of fresh fruit, two fresh juices, gallo pinto, scrambled eggs, pancakes, plus hot coffee and water for tea. Breads were available but the toaster (one of those non-household devices with a continuous mesh belt going through) did not function properly ... guests would repeatedly return their slices to the belt for more "warming" but no toasting whatsoever.

We had a car during our stay, so we were able to drive ourselves to the nearby attractions such as the Aguas Termales and the Las Pailas entrance to Rincon de la Vieja park.

The grounds are attractive and multiple activities are available through an on-site organization including horseback riding and tubing. We did not swim, but the pool looked clean and well-maintained.

Most of the hotel and restaurant staff were helpful, but a few of the restaurant staff seemed less than happy to have their jobs. Given the hotel's relative isolation, the restaurant plays a big role in guests' experiences since even those with a car might not choose to drive down to the nearest town (maybe 20-25 minutes away) for a chance meal at one of the area's soda's. (Particularly true during rainy season, when a dry departure could turn into a monsoon-ridden return.) Although it seemed that many workers and management at the restaurant tried to provide a great experience for guests, we found that food quality varied considerably as did service.

Based on our overall experience there, the Hacienda merits a four star rating. I'd give the restaurant a 3.5 for quality and a 3 for value and service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedDougH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Hello, thank you very much for your comments, we feel glad that you enjoyed our Hacienda. Thank you for pointing out some of the áreas that we need to improve, this comments are the ones that helps us improve our service, we pay a lot of attention to costumer service, therfore your comments are very important.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Nice place. No extras, no tv, limited internet some times hot water, but great location for Adventure Tours. Good food. plan on $15. dinner, which is really good. Nice bar, $3. plus a beer. Expensive for mixed. Tours nice but overbooked and not enough workers. Still gorgeous setting. you will hear EVERYTHING due to thin walls, but gorgeous setting

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobly914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review and we are glad that you liked the setting of the hotel, defenetely the best option if you want to be close to the adventure activities or the Rincón de la Vieja National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We absolutely loved our stay at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin. It was the perfect start to our Costa Rican vacation because it was quiet, not extravagant, and close to the part of the country that we wanted to see (we stayed for three days and then went to the coast for 1 week). The adventure tours are at the hotel so we did not have to travel far (which was a big plus for us since we were not staying in this area long). We did the all day adventure tour which included horseback riding, zip lining, tubing, and the natural hot springs. Every bit of these tours was great and exciting! The tubing was so much fun and the zip lining (although a little scary for me) was adrenaline-pumping.

On top of the adventure tour, there is also a lot of outdoor-type things to do on the ground of the hotel (it's very large) and close by. There is a national park that you can walk around, a waterfall, a spa, and a look-out point where you can see the land. The hotel also provides a free shuttle service to all of these things if they are not close enough to walk.

Last, but not at all least, we loved Alberto at the hotel bar. He was fantastic! He was always smiling and happy to see us, and he made amazing drinks! When our trip was over, we were already planning a time to come back and telling our friends and family about Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin.

Room Tip: If possible, I would ask for a room closer to the front of the hotel. Our room was at the very back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRO525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Hii ! I am soo glad you LOVE IT !!! Thank you very much for your nice comments, it will be very helpfull for all readers.
As you mention, yes, all the adventure activities are very close to the hotel, all the nature related activites, like the serpentarium, butterfly garden and also very close to Rincón de la Vieja National Park, where we provide transportation to all our guests. Thanks for the good comments of Alberto, I will personally tell him what you said.
Please come back and visit us sooon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
487 reviews
7.3 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
706 reviews
21.6 mi away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £71 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing