We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Guachipelin
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Javy(Liberia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Wilson(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Daysita(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,504)
Filter reviews
1,504 results
Traveller rating
508
540
285
113
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
540
285
113
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkriver tubingday adventurehorseback ridinghot springszip lininggrand tourcosta ricario negroadventure centerday passfree shuttledinner buffeta la carte menuwhite water tubingcanopy tourbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
451 - 456 of 1,504 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stayed one night at Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin as part of Monkey Tours package. When we arrived, it was a full day adventure tour on the property - starting with tubing for an hour, then lunch, ziplining (with rappelling, tarzan swings, rock climbing, traversing and climbing, and a swinging bridge at the end to complete the zipline portion), followed by horseback riding and closing out the activities with Hot Springs before checking into the hotel. The activities were great- esp tubing and ziplining. The overall property with activities was good even though spaced out and drive to each location.

Lunch was included - the chicken and pork were good, the pasta a bit al dente and dry...desserts need some improvement - flan was a bit firm.

When we checked into the hotel, Wi-fi only worked in the hotel lobby; the signal got weaker the further your room was from the lobby. The room was functional - we had a 1 Queen, 1 Twin and a 1 bed that felt like a waterbed (for 3 people). There was no tv, no closet to put your coats, or lay out your clothes, a small space other than where the beds were. There were only 2 outlets in the room to charge your electrics. The bathroom was small - no real space to put your toiletries or clothes. Would have been nice to have a few more hand and face towels. Would recommend different color tiles for bathroom esp the shower (bright yellow is not a warm color) given the small room. Bright yellow made the shower feel even smaller, given the shape.

We had dinner at the restaurant - food was good - REALLY liked the squash and pork. The seabass was ok. The fajitas were good - the tortilla was freshly made, but I'm used to a different taste, so tortilla was not good for me. The desserts again need some improvement - esp the banana type pie. Nothing to do after dinner except if you wanted to go to the bar, skipped that since we had to be up at 5:30AM the next morning.

Breakfast in the morning was included at the hotel - disappointed no egg whites for omelettes, but nothing special. Although a variety for breakfast, I'm not a rice and beans person or wanted tortillas for breakfast. My omelette was a bit undercooked and it was a long line of people waiting. We only had about 1/2 hour to eat before we left...so just had some cereal. Overall, thumbs up for the activities, the room was functional and the dinner was the most enjoyable of the 3 meals I had there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WinL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review. First of all , we feel glad that you liked the adventure activities that we offer, and that you had such a great time with us.
We feel sorry for the inconveniences you found at your room, we have other categories of rooms that are more spacious, with cable TV and closets, it depends on the category of your choice.
Thank you for the good comments regarding breakfast, I am glad that you enjoyed it, regarding the comment that you had to rush to eat it, I feel that this is totally out of our control, the only way to fix this is showing up earlier in order to have more time.
Overall you had a good time with us and that is what´s important. We will work on your recommendations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed for two nights at the hotel. We enjoyed the manicured and well kept gardens, our room which was clean and nice, the food, the mud bath until we found out that we were robbed of our two debit cards by the very people who were supposed to serve us. It happened the first evening at dinner time. Four different restaurant staff asked three members of our family individually our room number within 15 minutes of our arrival for dinner. We thought it was odd that people were asking us our room number so many times just as we were settling in for dinner. We did not think much of it, until we got notification from our bank the next day evening of irregular spending on the card. Around $1000 were spent at different stores locally including over $200 at payless shoes. Although, the bank protects us from such theft, I dread to think what valuable possession we would have lost if the robber had not found the debit cards.
For all the beauty the place has, it lacks the humane quality of serving people with "Gusto." If you do decide to stay here, please guard all your valuables especially when you will be away from your room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear client, we thank you for all the good comments about the hotel, we feel happy that you liked the hotel and at the same time we feel sorry for what you say happenned to you with your debit cards, however, you can´t be sure it happened at our hotel. First of all, asking for your room number at the restaurant is perfectly normal, it is aked to all clients at the entrance by the cashier and at the table by the servers. Also, you told the food and beverage manager that the card was being used at Cañas, and that is a town very far from the hotel.
We are not used to this serious accusations, because they never happen at the hotel, but just in case we offer, free of charge, safety boxes in the rooms, that you didn´t used.
This is very serious, and I repeat, it never has happend at the hotel,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

The best "comida tipica" of our trip. Casados were delicious - beef, fish and chicken. Burger was fantastic too - curry spiced. Mojitos were great too. Hotel has a funky ranch feel and is in the middle of nowhere. Looks like the extreme adventure options were nice too.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for your review, we feel very happy that you liked our food in every aspect, we put a lot of attention to that and try to satisfy every costumer, also we put a lot of effort to keep it "típica" (traditional), so our guests will taste the real Costa Rican gastronomy. And the adventure activities, they don´t just look nice , they are, really nice. It will be a pleasure to have you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I really loved this place. We just stayed one night and rode horses, swam in a waterfall, took mud baths and soaked in hot springs. Really wish we had stayed 2 nights. All of the staff were great and I loved the horses and cattle. The price is inexpensive and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naturewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Hi, it is great to hear that you enjoyed the Hacienda, and that you did everything we offer, waterfalls, hot springs, horses, mud baths, that is what the Hacienda is all about... thank you for your comments, and it will be a pleasure to see you back with us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We drove our 4 wheel drive and followed the signs towards the park from liberia. Big mistake. We drove 20 miles on rock and dirt roads. Had to pay a private road fee per person or turn around! We arrived and the hotel had us stay in the ..horse section... rooms. We requested another room and got lucky ... room number 60 ...a/c, tv, phone, 2 queen beds, nice shower. Dinner buffet with fish and pork and veggies us$18 or order from fhe menue.
nice surroundings but grounds have water. Mosquitoes! !!
pool needs upgrades. Local tours etc.see website.
since this was our third volcano stop. I personally would not make the drive.
Breakfast buffet, eggs made to order, fruit, coffee and tea. Not bad.
recommend, MeuterMedia

Room Tip: Free hot springs with shuttle
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeuterMedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this review, we feel glad that you enjoyed the food that we offer. I am not sure of what road you took, the road to the hotel from Liberia is almost 100% paved and any car can come. Also we feel glad that you enjoyed the room you were in at the end.
I just want to clear out to all readers that there is not a horse section when you refer to rooms, there are some rooms that are closer to the stables where the horses are and many of our guests even request this rooms to enjoy horses closer. It is just a matter of weather you like animlas and want to be close to them, here at the Hacienda we offer that possibility.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews