We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ranch Style Hotel with Lots to do!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Guachipelin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Puyallup, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ranch Style Hotel with Lots to do!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was the first hotel that we stayed in on our Adventure tour through Costa Rica Monkey Tours. There was so much to do at this hotel. We went zip lining, rock climbing, rappelling, river tubing, horseback riding, and we visited the hot springs. This hotel was a ranch style layout, there were dogs and other farms animals living on the resort. The people were extremely friendly (i found that all the people in Costa Rica were extremely friendly). The rooms were all spread out, and there is a big swimming pool in the central area of the resort. The rooms are very plain, but clean. There was no alarm clock, or tv in our room but that was ok because we were NEVER in our room, there is so much other stuff to do! There is a main restaurant on the upper level, and then a bar beneath it. The food seemed very fresh and was delicious. I only stayed at this hotel for one night, but we did so much stuff in that one day we were there. This place would be perfect for families who want to get out and do adventurous stuff and not be in a commercialized area. I had so much fun at this hotel and I would definitely go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Brianna, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, and above of all, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    457
    240
    96
    49
See reviews for
345
560
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Either you live in Costa Rica and need a place to relax and have adventure or you are coming from another country you will have the best time here! I went with my family and had an amazing time and the activities they offer are amazing! I need to go back right now!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, it will be very helpful for all readers, we feel so happy that you enjoyed you stay here, that's our priority, that all our visitor have the best time possible with their families. You are welcome whenever you want, definitely Hacienda Guachipelin will be definitely waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Took my husband, nine year old son and father-in-law here for first leg of our Costa Rican vacation. Our second leg was at the Westin so I wanted something different. We had a great time. We tubed, hiked, horse backed and took the best zipline tour I've ever been on. It is a working ranch so it is rustic, but the natural surroundings make it fabulous. Food was good, drinks good, service good, beds were not the best. We did find a scorpion on our curtain, but they aren't deadly and it was one more great story to tell. My family loved and want to return. Good for 3-5 day trip for us. We wanted beach time too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allyson A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Allyson,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at Hacienda Guachipelin. We are happy to read that you had a great time full of good memories to tell and we would be very pleased to welcome you and your family again, next time you visit Costa Rica.

Best regards, Hacienda Guachipelin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel and food were good here. If you stay, try and get one of the two Suites as they are much better than the regular rooms. The food was average.
The highlight of this stay was the Adventure Tours. We had a great time with all of the activities. Some may feel that it is a bit manufactured but we thoroughly enjoyed getting out to see all of the sites and unique animals, plants, geology, and water of the area. We especially enjoyed swimming below a couple of the waterfalls.
This was worth the trip and cost. We would do it again.

Room Tip: Choose a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChadC124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, it will be very helpful for all readers, we always feel very happy with clients like you, that enjoy everything we offer, specially the waterfalls. Please come and visit us again soon, it will be a pleasure to have you wth us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed here as it we didn't have a car and we liked the idea of having various adventure choices at our doorstep. Mind you we stayed in a suite (#2) which was worth paying a little extra for the large space, kind bed (and single bed put in for our daughter) and private porch. The regular rooms are smaller for sure with two double beds so depending on what accommodation you want or whether you have a car or not you may decide to stay at other hotels and drive here for all the fun activities.
The Adventure Tours available range from walks or horseback rides to different waterfalls (where you have a chance to dip in very refreshing waterfall pools), a canopy tour, hot springs, white water river tubing, a canyoning tour and cowboy for a day.
We enjoyed the canopy tour with short zips (7 or so) through the canyon (including one where you choose to slide off and zip in an upside down position), a tarzan swing from one side of the fairly narrow canyon to the other, a short rapell down and short rock climb (with finger and foot holds) back up and a short hanging bridge. All in all it only took us an hour to get through but if you have adventurous children this is for them - our daughter is nine and loved it! We also loved the river tubing, the river was fairly narrow with small rapids but it was so fun and so beautiful. My daughter wished it was longer. The guides were great, splashed us and helped us through when our tubes got sandwiched between the rocks.
The walk (not really a hike) of about 35-40 minutes to the Chorreras Waterfall wasn't very attractive, not much to see but our guide Johnny was informative and friendly and the falls themselves and the beautiful natural surrounding pool was worth the visit and the cooling off (wear or take your swimsuit but there are no changing rooms!)
Our only disappointing activity was the horseback ride to the Orpendola Falls, the falls themselves were beautiful and again the very cool surrounding pool mighty refreshing if you want to take a dip. But the ride itself was boring and longer than we were told - an hour there and an hour back - turned out to be more like 75 minutes there and 70 minutes back which if there had been things to see along the way or if it had been more shaded and not so hot then it maybe it would have been worth it. If you want to go horseback riding I would recommend the hour ride.
With regard to the hotel, the front desk staff and Adventure Tour staff were first rate, as was housekeeping. But service in the restaurant was slow even with only a few patrons, and the food just Ok with little variety from day to day and at times terrible - the roast beef tough and dry. And don't expect tacos or fajitas to be like ones you get in the States. The pizza was the best meal we had.
So overall, based on our suite room and the activities we would give this 5 stars but the food just a three maybe even two stars.

Room Tip: Definitely spend a little extra for a suite, we stayed in suite 2 which was on the corner, very spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice review, I am sure all your recommendations will be very helpful for all the readers. We feel very happy that you enjoyed all the activities that we offer.as you say, our activities are for all ages, we are glad your nine year all daughter had a great time.We are sorry you did not enjoy the horsback ride itself as you did njoy the final destination(Oropéndola waterfall) Thank you very much for the good comments of our staff. Our pizza is very famous, we are glad you tried it. Please come back and visit us again. Sorry the food did not fulfilled your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We recently stayed for 1 night at Hacienda Guachipelin in March 2014. We stayed in superior double and quadruple rooms. The rooms had plenty of space and overall were adequate and clean. The air conditioning worked fine. The beds seemed a little bit lop-sided, but after a 5-hour drive from SJO (especially the extra bumpy last 30 minutes!), we all slept fine that night. They had nice hammocks in front of each room which were nice to relax in. The walk-in shower worked fine and had good water pressure. The lighting could have been better both in the room and the bathroom, though. We were disappointed when we missed the last shuttle to the mud baths (at 4 pm) that afternoon because our tour ran long the next day and we had to cut that part of the Adventure Tour out completely, so we never got to visit them. The hotel restaurant is only option for food in the area. It was fine, but they only offered us the buffet or pizza, even though they had an a la carte menu at dinner. We opted for the pizza as none of us were that hungry and we thought it was pretty good.
I would probably have given the property just 3 stars overall, but I had to bump them up a star for their TREMENDOUS customer service in dealing with a problem after we left the hotel. My father left his camera behind (apparently in his room). We didn't discover this until after we had left not just the hotel, but Costa Rica. When I contacted them almost a week after our stay, I was told that they did indeed find the camera and would send it back to us in the US. The two ladies who helped me were Katia Watson and Ana Luisa Gonzalez. They not only returned the camera to my father in NY but also found a reasonably priced service to send it. Bravo to Hacienda Guachepelin for their honest and helpful employees. All the locals and transplants we met in Costa Rica were friendly and hospitable people. This was just our second visit to your beautiful country, but I'm sure it will not be our last. Thank you again.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the restaurant so you don't have to pass the horse stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmbmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello friend, thank you very much for taking the time in writing this nice review, we are glad that you enjoyed our faciliites, our food, regarding the pizza and specially our cosutmer service. I feel very happy that you got your dad´s camera. For us costumer service is very important and we work hard every day to achieve it. Please come back soon, it will be a pleasure to have you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chassahowitzka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I loved almost everything about this iconic retreat. The landscaping, the patios, the marimba playing as a fun welcome, and the restaurant was very good for breakfast & dinner. The only reason I did not give it a 5 was because the mattress was very thin on my bed and very hard on my friend's bed, so we weren't able to get a good night's sleep, even after an amazing day with Monkey Tour adventures. I used my bedspread to make a pallet on top of the bed but we gave up at 3 o'clock and sat by the pool chatting, which is a nice space separated from the rooms. We noticed there was a security person watching over the grounds all night, and I was glad I packed a coffee pot! Loved the lookout point across the road and wished I could have explored the serpentarium and gardens before we left the next day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Gerente at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we feel very happy that you enjoyed the hotel, almost to a 5 star qualification. I will personally check the situation with the matress. We feel glad that you liked our food and service, as well as all the activities we offer. Please come back soon and this time you may tour around the serpentarium and other atractions we have for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
7.2 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Property: Hacienda Guachipelin
Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing