We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Guachipelin
Nearby Hotels
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,506)
Filter reviews
1,506 results
Traveller rating
509
541
285
113
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
509
541
285
113
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational parkriver tubingday adventurehorseback ridinghot springszip lininggrand tourcosta ricario negroadventure centerday passfree shuttledinner buffeta la carte menuwhite water tubingcanopy tourbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 1,506 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

As part of our tour of Costa Rica, we stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The stay was orientated more for activities; hot springs, water falls, zip lining, rock climbing, horse back riding etc.
So the hotel itself had fairly small swimming pool and pool area to relax, but the activities were brilliant - especially the zip lining that included also some rock climbing as well - the team arranging this was very efficient and made us feel really safe all the time, it was great.
The hot springs were very relaxing with possibility to get messy in mud if you wanted to - the shuttle buses were actual old American style school busses ! As the roads were quite bumpy you did need something more robust for transfers.
There was waterfall a walking distance away which was really beautiful and clean, loved it !
Rooms were clean and had coffee making faciities - at least in the rooms we were. Really enjoyed our time there - though the size of some of the frogs were bit scary....we only saw one huge one so don't let this put you off.

Room Tip: If you like your cup of coffee in the room - we stayed in Superior room which had the facility, not sure if all rooms have it, so best to check.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Mari S, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

First in order to get there you have to hire a taxi. That means 25 to 35 dollars each way!! Food is good but everything is extra! Massages are high and facials are out of site! Bring money to stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to pool. Otherwise be prepared to walk... Bring water
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Glenn H, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, and we will be taking in consideration all your suggestions in order to make the our costumers as happy as possible and spend the best time here in the hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I spent three nights here with my husband as part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the room was nice as well. When we first arrived there we were just in time to begin our first tour with the adventure one day pass. We didn't have time to check in, but we left our luggage with the people at the desk. They put it in a room behind their desk and I was a little hesitant about it, but it was kept safe!

There is a small pool adjacent to the lobby, we didn't use it. There are two computers with internet access in the lobby (free), but only one was in service when we went. I was glad to use it though. The hotel has a horse stable right on the grounds for their adventure tours, a butterfly farm (was nice to see the butterflies) and a serpentarium (not worth $).

The adventure tours are separate on tripadvisor, so I will rate them separately, but they were a lot of fun and its definitely more in budget and rational to do the one day pass then pay for each one separately.

There is a restaurant on site that has really good food at the buffet, things are cooked to order, and service is great. The location is nice, overlooking the trees and you can see the city lights in the distance. We dined upstairs, downstairs is the bar with music. I will say that they are expensive and it's unfortunate because they are the only place you can get food from. You can't really leave the hotel grounds, there is nothing else around.

The hotel room was nice, air conditioned, slept well. No fridge in the room so you can't save food. We had one of the "nicer" rooms which were more spacious and further from the horses. We inquired about the laundry services...way too expensive. It was by the clothing item, not by a load, so it was a waste of money.

There were some dogs on the property that were cute, we gave them food and they ran around and chased each other.

There is a look out adjacent to the hotel grounds. I recommend going to it to watch the sunset! beautiful. Also, on the same path there's a serpentarium...we just walked in, no one was there to pay, and it was just snakes and frogs in cages. I didn't think it was that great, and wouldn't have paid to see it. There's also a path across from the hotel to a "pink stream"- forgot what it was called. But it was nice and worth walking to. We saw some cool insects along the way.

The hotel provides transport to Rincon de la Vieja park. We used their free buses for two days in the park. Be aware they only come at certain times and one day we decided to walk back ourselves instead of wait 2 hours. We came across symbiosis spa on the way back and we were the only ones there besides one woman that worked there. We took a mud bath and sat in the hot springs, but it was dirty and unimpressive. We got a ride on the bus from there back to the hotel and wow, we underestimated how far of a walk it would have been! YOU NEED TO USE THE SHUTTLES. Also, on the ride back we stopped at another hot spring area which is the one we were supposed to see! We went to the wrong one. I heard good comments about that one though!

All in all, Rincon was one of the most memorable places we went in Costa Rica. The hikes, waterfalls, bubbling mud pots were well worth the trip there. (If you want to hike the summit, make sure its open! it was closed when we went and was the main reason we went there too!). There aren't that many options of lodging near the volcano, and this one is reasonably priced for the rooms, and the adventure activities they have are excellent. I would probably stay there again unless I could find another hotel that was better on food prices but same quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenthehennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Jenthehennifer, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, and above of all, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nites, May 16, 17. We LOVED it, and had not a single complaint. Food was good, rooms clean, and spacious( we got the Superior room ) Horseback ride to waterfalls, mud baths, zip lines, and tubing the Rio Negro...all went smoothly. We live in Costa Rica and were prepared for the delays and complexities that are part of our life here in CR <:...but it never happened, the staff is excellent and everything is very well organized. Worth every penny, great place. Special thanks to Johnny Walker for a great horseback tour...Gracia amigo

Room Tip: We stayed in 59, but if you can, get the end room, 58.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Shawnrat, Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it will be very helpful for all readers, our priority is to make happy our costumers, we are very glad that you enjoyed the stay at the hotel and you can share your incredible experience here, we definitely hope you can come back soon!
Hacienda will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had a bad experience at the Hacienda Guachipelin when we stayed there in March which completely coloured our view. On our first morning there, we enjoyed a nature tour organised by Adventure Tours, a subsidiary of the hotel. But our enjoyment was short-lived as we later heard that our guide that morning, a charming and enthusiastic young man called Hector, had been sacked by Adventure Tours on the basis of a completely fraudulent accusation by another couple. This couple accused Hector of shouting and screaming at them when they asked for advice about entering the national park (they were not part of our organised tour). This was categorically untrue as we were standing beside Hector and the couple when they spoke to him, and he never raised his voice or sounded anything but measured and calm.

When we heard what had transpired, we relayed our comments to the manager of the tour company but, despite our protestations, Hector remained sacked. He was also evicted from his staff accommodation at the hotel with immediate effect, after the last transport had left for the nearest town, some distance away.

We felt that this was a very shoddy and unjust way of treating staff and would therefore not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone. It's a real shame as it was a lovely relaxed setting and the service, food and accommodation were generally good, but this cast a cloud over the whole stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews