We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic and comfortable...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hacienda Guachipelin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rustic and comfortable...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

You come here for all of the available activities. If you arrive mid-day, a one-night stay allows you to participate in any activity you want if you leave late the next day.

The rooms offer simple accommodations. If you require a luxury property, this is not it. If you require simple, basic accommodations to access all of the activities available at this property, then this will work for you. The rooms are clean and have window AC units. the beds are okay. The bathrooms are fine. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is average to good. After a bunch of activities, you will be hungry!

Room Tip: Request room #s 30 and up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrequentTraveler560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you very much for knitting on the type of customer who can enjoy our facilities. Of course, after a day of adventure, hunger is present. Thanks a lot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    457
    240
    96
    49
See reviews for
345
560
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel offers complimentary shuttles to the volcano and hot springs. The hotel lobby features a TV and two computers for guest use and there is free Wifi available throughout the hotel and restaurant. The Adventure Tours office is visible from the restaurant and is a two-minute walk from the lobby.

The basic rooms offer no TV or blow driers, but are reasonably comfortable for a short stay. Horse stables (with their accompanying smell) are located quite close to the hotel rooms.

The hotel restaurant offers a reasonable selection, but lunch and dinner are priced somewhat high relative to the quality of the food and service. We did enjoy the pancakes for the included breakfast buffet!

If your schedule permits, the full-day multi-activity package offers the best value at $85 and is definately preferable compared with the pricing of single activities, such as ziplining in the canyon at $50 per person.

The multi-activity adventure package or volcano and hot springs are also accessible as day trips from the highly recommended Barcelo Langosta Beach resort, and this would be our preference for future trips.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you very much for this important comment. It is very helpful for us knowing the experience of each one of our guests in our hotel. We hope to see you soon enjoying the adventure of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

This hotel lies in the middle of nowhere. However, it is a good location, because it is close to the entrance of the Rincon park and it is very easy to book tours and / or activities. The restaurant is good, there is buffet and a la carte and we liked it. Our room was somewhat small for 4 people, and there wasn''t any hot water when I wanted to take the shower. At some parts of the hotel you smelled the horses (it did not bother us, even though we were not that far from the ranche). We booked a tub riding tour and we could choose to ride a horse of the bus tot the river. We took the horses. Nice trip, the horses know exactly where to go. Rivertubing was great fun! Everything starts right from the hotel.
Do take a hike at the National Park. There is a hike that leads you through boiling muds, hot water springs and jungle. About 4 km, a great hike!!! must do!
The hot springs are also a must! Great adventure to wrap yourself in mud and then wash it away in the river and the hot springs. Hot springs are free when you are a guest of Guachepelin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maste2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Propietario at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
We are very happy to hear good reviews about our activity. No doubt that we will take into account reviews to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel stays near the Rincon de La Vieja volcano in a location which is beautiful and perfect to explore the national park. The food at the restaurant is great but the service is terrible, some nights we had to wait nearly half an hour to have our order taken and they kept forgetting drinks and stuff and we often had to go ask for those. If it is not buffet night and you wish to have dinner in less than two hours then stick to the bar where they also serve food.

The internet connection is also bad, most of the days it was unavailable or too weak to work, even where it was supposed to be working.

If you have time, visit the Oropendula waterfall which is really beautiful and take a few hours to relax in the hot springs.

The rooms are basic and very simple but comfortable. The problem is that they offer almost no privacy as you can see through curtains the inside of the rooms and you can hear everything that goes around in the next two rooms. Also there is no point in trying to sleep after 6am as you will be waken up by cows or farm workers anyway.

Room Tip: Avoid first rooms of the corridor due to noise from people passing by
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Hi, thanks for you feedback... we are working on the details you mentioned. Thanks for visited us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The over night room was behind animals which smelled. Did not get a good feeling since we were able to see through doors to outside between wood panels. The bathroom smelled of poor sewage. The light was very dim. The cows woke us in the morning at 530am.

The food seems to be fresh. But nothing outrageous. The buffet lunch was welcomed after a long great day of excursions. The breakfast buffet was nothing was typical. We ordered dinner off menus since the buffet choices were not appealing to us.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank get2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, General Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thanks for your feedback. We are working on your details. Thanks for visited us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is very close to Liberia airport and a great place to start after landing in Costa Rica. The hotel is simple, but very clean and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are nice and quiet. From this location you can have a day of adventure, starting with horse riding in the forest, then canopy zip lining, then white water rafting, a buffet lunch and finally mud baths and hot springs. It is a good opportunity to meet other families traveling in Costa Rica and exchange ideas and recommendations. The hotel also offers spa and massage, pick up and drop off and it is very close to an active volcano that can also be visited and transport is organized by the hotel. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Martine C thanks for recommend us. Nice to read you enjoyed our adventure called "Hacienda Guachipelin." hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I booked a week at this hotel and had a wonderful time, enjoyed horseback riding with Emilio everyday, he took me all over the ranch different directions each trip, he didn't speak any English so it was interesting/fun to try and figure out what each of us were saying. I also did one other adventure activity each day. The tubing was spectacular...loved it, zip lining was scary, but that's my fear of heights I'm trying to overcome, hot springs were great - went there several times, hiking the park was interesting and a good hike. There is a lot of climbing up/down of hills to get to/from activities, lots of walking which is great but be aware of it if you have a hard time climbing. Had a great massage too. The hotel was very clean, loved the decor and the hammock, the staff was very friendly and very helpful when asked. The staffing seemed to enjoy what they do and always laughing or smiling. The only problem I had...I traveled alone here and there was not much to do or anywhere to go after 5 pm. It is more of a couple or family type hotel. I would of like to gone into town for a day but the shuttle cost was expensive, I wish the hotel would of had free shuttles into Liberia. If I go back, I would spend 1/2 week here and perhaps 1/2 week at a ocean resort. Didn't really meet any other people than the staff. Breakfast buffet was good, I don't a big breakfast but they had a good variety for everyone. At night, I ate or ordered food to take back to my room from the bar area everyday. I loved the food that I ordered and their hamburger was awesome, one of the best I've ever had, ordered that several times. I had a wonderful relaxing and adventurous trip...just had a little too much down time, but then that's not all that bad, it did totally relax me. Did make buddies with the ranch dogs :)

Room Tip: I had room 56, furthest from the reception area and it was very quiet. Loved watching them bring the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Diane M we feel really happy with your review. Read about your great experience in our hotel is wonderful. Hope you be back soon with your family.

Thanks :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
7.2 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#4 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
20.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,375 reviews
10.9 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#3 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.9 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge
Buena Vista Lodge
#2 of 6 in Rincon de La Vieja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Property: Hacienda Guachipelin
Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-5010, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Hacienda Guachipelin Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing