We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Javy(Liberia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Wilson(Liberia)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Daysita(Liberia)
View Hotel
Reviews (563)
Filter reviews
563 results
Traveller rating
234
191
79
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
191
79
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshanging bridgessunset bartractor ridezip linehot springshorseback ridingcanopy walkjaguar restaurantcanopy tourcosta ricawatch the sunsetcoffee tourmud bathday triptwo nightssteam roomtour group
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 563 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We came to this place just for the waterslide.
It was a very cool experience to hike up a hillside, through the jungle, with a tube, and a leather diaper for the ladies (you know, to protect certain parts for being engulfed with water) and then slide down extremely fast over 1/4 mile with trees and bridges whipping by.

It was fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This lodge requires a long ride down an unpaved but scenic road. The lodge itself was very nice with good looking rooms. There were some problems with the room. My hot water in the sink was leaking. The solution to the problem was to shut off the hot water at the sink so there was no hot water for shaving. The toilet kept running and was leaking. A call to the front desk got someone there within five minutes to fix it. Others had similar problems. Other than that the lodge was very good. A short walk up a hill brought you up to the sunset bar which had great views all the way to the Pacific. Sunsets there were fantastic. I ordered a margarita at the bar and it took a long time to prepare and was the worst margarita I ever had. Food was so so and I think the final dinner and breakfast were made from leftovers. Despite any negative comments, it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: has many services on location (pool, mud baths, thermal pools, ziplining, etc)
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I loved the country fresh air, the rustic charm of a farm. The food was less desirable but since there was no other choice, we ate whatever was in the buffet. Food is great in Costa Rica, just not here! We did the horseback rides (some of the others did the zip lining too). It was a first for some of us, the trail was not easy but the horses were so calm and mild, it made up for the scary trail. The mud spa and hot pool was superb at the end of the trail. And yes, go for the massage...it's a bargain and the blind lady, Rosa was excellent. We were very lucky, it rained on us when we first arrived and in the afternoon after the activities.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I stayed at Buena Vista as art of an OAT tour...what a wonderful experience. The property provided many different activities: horse back riding, zip lining, steam room, hot volcanic mud for skin care, soaking pools...so many options. The rooms were clean, roomy and reflected the character of the beautiful property. Nature hikes provided an opportunity to see birds and other wildlife. Having an hour long massage was a definite bonus! The buffet breakfast included delicious local fresh fruit and a variety of other choices. Dinners were also buffet style with many choices. I loved the two days spent at the Buena Vista Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JILLANNSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have spent 4 days at Buena Vista Lodge. It is located in the mountains at 35km from Liberia. The road to get up there is particularly rough (1h30 of driving) but it is worth the trip. The cabins are very nice and the site is fabulous. The views are fantastic. We saw parrots, iguanas, rabbits, toucans. They offer a very nice pack of activities that are all on site (zip lines, water slides, mud baths, horseback riding, etc...) Our 2 daughters (5 and 2 years old) loved the place, they are still talking about their stay at Buena Vista Lodge.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews