We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Not a luxury hotel by any stretch but it won our affection somewhat to our surprise. The rooms are spartan with slightly dodgy plumbing, and mealtimes a regime rather than a gourmet experience. However the setting is lovely, feels remote and genuine, and the wildlife is astonishing ( even for Costa Rica); we saw monkeys and coati as well as wonderful bird life and the ubiquitous iguanas and lizards. The trip to the nearby spa was well worthwhile. And best of all the hilltop bar has what must be one of the best views of any bar anywhere. If you don't expect great luxury it's well worth the incredibly rough road approach for a visit.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank theF0sters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Everything like i said in the tittle review was amazing. Of all of the things i have done in my visits i have to say that my favorite is the water slide. The food, canopy, horse ridding, pools is perfect. You need to go, if you come to Costa Rica, you need to go to this place, is just the best place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauRivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We came to Buena Vista on an excursion from our beach hotel and had a fantasic day! Horseback riding, hot springs, waterfall, hiking, waterslide and ziplining! A special thanks to Joe Eric and Mano Congo, our zipline team! They were fun and very good at their jobs. Thanks again to Heiner at GeckoTico for a great day!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the lodge, but it looked very interesting!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We didn't have time to stay at the hotel, but we did the day package including the rafting, horseback riding, rappelling, rock climbing and zip lines. Each one of the tours lasted about 1.5 hours and included two guides. For my fiance and i to get everything done in one day was amazing and it felt like a VIP tour. The food was also really good as much of it was grown on property. Well worth the stop ;)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank kiter37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

After a very long and bumpy ride you will arrive at a place in Costa Rica that has a great deal to offer. The room is clean and more than adequate. Ours was in a spot to see the sunrise over the pacific, although it was also a short walk to the sunset bar. Beautiful views from here, but the best thing about this place are the activities that are available on site. We were there on an OAT tour for two nights. In that time we had a horseback ride to the mud baths...ten miles round trip. The horses were very tame and knew the way without much help. When we arrived at the mud baths we donned our bathing suits and headed to the sauna. Next stop was the mud bath, shower and then the wonderful thermal pools. This place was so relaxing. My only advice is to make sure you reapply bug spray after the mud baths as we were all " bug lunch". After we got back we all discovered very itchy bug bites that we never realized when we were bitten. Have been back for a week and they are just disappearing. So remember the bug spray. This is the only time in our two weeks that we had bug problems. All in all it was our most fun day on the trip as after lunch we did the zip line on the premises. Since I am afraid of height this was way out of my comfort zone. However the wonderful guides that run this were great. The instructions and helpfulness of the staff made this a great experience. So happy I did this. If it is on your bucket list..go here as it is very safe and so much fun!! Totally love this place!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rockport4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Eco lodge that succeeds In most every way. Moderate prices interesting food (most grown on premises) I liked the lasanga...big breakfast, good people clean cabins, as many volcanic hike mud bath as you want and a killer view at sunset bar.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffandjanetware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I came up to visit as it was recommended from Tamarindo Shuttle in Tamarindo
It exceeded our expections and I only wish we had our kids with us. We didn't take advantage of the slides, horses, or canopy but we walked around, went to the demonstration of how things were in the past, went to the mudbath and pools which were EXTREMELY relaxing!!
The front desk was totally Bi-lingual, helpful, and accommodating. The cabin was very comfortable, the sunsets exquisite, and the food while not gourmet was very satisfactory and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!!!!
Linda Levenson

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieLev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,386 reviews
8.9 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
299 reviews
16.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Liberia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
804 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure

Address: | De Liberia 12 km hasta la entrada a Cañas Dulces, 5 km hasta el pueblo y 18 km hasta el Albergue, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £38 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure is an eco lodge where you can discover the essence of Costa Rica and its natural and cultural richness through authentic experiences in the hillsides of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano, part of the Guanacaste Conservation Area, UNESCO’s Natural Patrimonial Site of Humanity. Since 1991 it offers a warm-hearted service and hospitality in the Costa Rican traditional style in a rustic environment of a hacienda with 76 comfortable rooms in 3 different categories: Cabins, Lake and Hacienda. BUENA VISTA EXPERIENCE! An experience full of nature, culture, adventure, wellness and sustainability in just one day in one place! … Lovers of ecotourism, the adventurers or who seek wellness and relaxation, learn new cultures, entire families with members of all ages, senior citizens, inclusive tourism… it is accessible to all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing