We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plenty of activities to do here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

we stayed at Buena Vista Lodge for a couple of days. There is horseback riding, watersliding, zip-lining, visiting the hot spring pools, hiking in the dry forest and just hanging out at the Sunset Bar to check out the fireflies. The ziplining was fun. there is a section where you can zipline upside down. The hot springs were nice - you enter the sauna before lathering mineral-rich volcanic mud on your skin. Once you rinse off there are 5 pools to enjoy, each at different temperatures. The area is surrounded by the forest. there is also a place for refreshments and massages.

the lodge itself is beautiful. each villa contains 2 rooms with private baths. there is no a/c but a ceiling fan to cool down. Toiletries include handmade soaps that they sell at the gift shop. The kids love finding ctenosaurs, green iguanas and frogs near the rooms. Abundant bird life, monkeys and agouti in the area. we saw a few snakes during our hike.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rooms remind you of summer camp cabins, wood, tin roofs, fans that move hot air around, holes in the screens.No safes in the room. Nice towels. Drinks at sunset bar are fun, beautiful view.
Food is very basic, No wi fi in rooms.
Horses are very skinny.
Dining room very hot, not a great ambiance.

Room Tip: In a shaded area, away from the horse corrals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aocampo, Director Comercial at Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Hello!

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay. Unfortunately during your visit we have problems with two of our routers, which affected the WiFi service. We are also taking into consideration your comments regarding you dining experience and are working in order to improve the service in that area. We hired a new Restaurant Supervisor to make sure we do so.

We are glad you liked our location, and are hoping you may give us the opportunity in the near future to offer the service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From a hotel point of view, it is average. Rooms are clean but quiet far from the lobby and not all the ways are lit, food is ok but nothing special....BUT: The lodge has a bar with a unique panorama view. You will be able to see a fantastic sunset (if you are lucky with the weather) where you can admire the Erazu Volcano on the right to the pacific ocean.
The barkeeper makes the view even more dramatic by adapting the music to the sight.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Romain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a wonderful time at the Buena Vista lodge. The staff was very nice and helpful. Very clean rooms and the included breakfast was very good. The sunset bar had the most beautiful view. Had a lot of fun riding horses, soaking in the thermal waters, and the canopy tour. Safe equipment and helpful guides.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank lisab1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Secluded! Plenty of space in the rooms. Beautiful scenery everywhere! The thermal waters are not to be missed! Breakfast was included and very good. You have to pay for your other meals. It was a slow time and we were about the only people there so the meal options got limited.

You can do many outdoor things or just sit and soak up the beauty. It is the perfect place for a quiet romantic vacation.

There are groups of people that come in for the day for the activities. There was a large group of students from San Jose one day. That was a loud day at the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LearningToBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aocampo, Director of Sales at Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Hello! We are glad to read that we have accomplished most of your expectations. Comments like yours make us keep smiling and serving with all the pleasure we always do.
... And we want to tell you that next time you visit us, we promise to have you more meal options and a faster service. Every day we work to improve the weaknesses yourselves informed us through comments such as yours.
We apologize for the noise of the day because of our special visitors, but we hope that in our rooms you were able to feel at home. On this day we had a group of students who came to take the environmental tour, as part of our Ecological Footprint Program, as we intend to cooperate with the environmental education of our youth. We thank you for your observation and we will take care that when this kind of groups visit us, they do not alter the silence, tranquility and peace our guests deserve.
We are waiting for you to come back in a near future.
Until next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a fantastic day at buena vista lodge, we went just for a day trip from flamingo beach..about 2 hour drive. We did the mega combo plus Tarzan swing with 4 teen daughters. Everyone LOVED just about everything, the horse ride was more than expected, the zip lines and guides were fun and safe, and volcano mud, monkeys, iguanas and hot springs were enjoyed by all. A fun day and one of the highlights for everyone. One note: if driving, the last part of the road is rocky and vigorous, a four wheel drive with good tires is recommended. Have fun! We sure did

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank fido1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We booked this hotel because of the Mega tour that they advertise. Upon arriving we were less that thrilled. It took an hour of waiting to check in because there was a large tour group that arrived just before us. Once checked in we went to our room which was an individual cabin. The beds were comfortable and room clean but the plumbing was not good. We drove ourselves and there was almost no parking and it was far from our room. We walked around the grounds to see all the mega tour stuff. We were VERY disappointed. The hanging bridges were small and not well kept. Some of them had me worried for my safety. The zip-lines were short in comparison to other places. The water slide looked in need of maintenance and the pool at the end was filled with brown murky water. I wouldn't go on that slide and into that pool if you paid me to. Neither of us wanted to do this tour and since it was the only reason we booked this hotel we went straight to the office within and hour of checking-in with an attempt to cancel our stay. They would not refund the 1st night since we had already checked in but did agree to refund/cancel the second night after some lengthy discussion and hoop jumping. We made the best of the night. We missed the dinner time as the buffet is only open for certain hours. Instead we went to the open air bar and had some drinks while watching the sunset which was beautiful. Some other cons were the horses did not look well cared for in my opinion though I did not get any time up close with them, the staff ignored us, and there was access to food only at specific times. This place has a feel of camp for adults. The grounds are not well lit at night so be sure to bring a flashlight. A pro was the absolutely stunning scenery. Raul was also a shining light to this otherwise dismal experience. He genuinely tried to help us. I can see how this hotel may be fun if you have a family with small children or are part of a very large tour group.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KG D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
3.5 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,355 reviews
8.9 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
20.4 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
792 reviews
8.8 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
986 reviews
8.3 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure

Address: | De Liberia 12 km hasta la entrada a Cañas Dulces, 5 km hasta el pueblo y 18 km hasta el Albergue, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £39 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure is an eco lodge where you can discover the essence of Costa Rica and its natural and cultural richness through authentic experiences in the hillsides of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano, part of the Guanacaste Conservation Area, UNESCO’s Natural Patrimonial Site of Humanity. Since 1991 it offers a warm-hearted service and hospitality in the Costa Rican traditional style in a rustic environment of a hacienda with 76 comfortable rooms in 3 different categories: Cabins, Lake and Hacienda. BUENA VISTA EXPERIENCE! An experience full of nature, culture, adventure, wellness and sustainability in just one day in one place! … Lovers of ecotourism, the adventurers or who seek wellness and relaxation, learn new cultures, entire families with members of all ages, senior citizens, inclusive tourism… it is accessible to all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure Costa Rica/Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing