We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Rincon de La Vieja
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Javy(Liberia)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs(Rincon de La Vieja)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Wilson(Liberia)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    • Free Parking
    • Free Internet
    Reviews (144)
    Filter reviews
    144 results
    Traveller rating
    19
    42
    36
    24
    23
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    19
    42
    36
    24
    23
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbeautiful settingcabinhammocksnaturevolcanotransportation
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    35 - 40 of 144 reviews
    Reviewed 12 December 2011

    This Lodge is located in a beautiful setting at the entrance of the park. Great sunsets, beautiful area, horses, quiet but the rooms are basic with poor insulation. When the wind blows, it comes right through the room as there are gaps at the door and through the logs of the cabin. I noticed all the toilet paper previous guests had placed to fill the gaps. I also did the same as there was a hole in the bathroom coming from the outside and I wanted to prevent insects from coming in.
    There was no hot water and only freezing water came from the shower. It was bad enough shaving with cold water from the sink. My friend and I had to take showers in the cabin of another guest who fortunately had hot water.
    The food in the restaurant is just acceptable.
    This is the closest Lodge to the park but is it worthy it?

    • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Capisce
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 July 2011

    We enjoyed our 3 nights stay at this lodge very much. The room (we did not stay in a bungalow) was basic, but clean and big enough for our family. The hammock was nice with a good view on the beautiful garden. We saw many lizards and iguanas just sitting there. The staff at the lodge was a bit shy in the beginning, but very friendly when we got to know them. Prices for the room and food were very good!
    There is enough to do in the surroundings. The trails in the lodge property are not spectacular. But the staff advised us to visit the waterfall outside of the park on our first day and this was great (the guy at the kiosk just before the National Park will try to charge you 5 dollar, but if you tell them you are from the Rincon lodge, they let you go for free). The National Park was unique and beautiful and one of the best places we visited.
    The only negative experience we had with the Rincon de la Vieja Lodge was the arrival of a big group from a travel organisation. They dominated the atmosphere, which was a bit of an anticlimax.

    • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Vanderweide
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 May 2011

    We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights and it was a very pleasant experience. Already the first impression was very good, the setting seemed like an oasis of peace. Carefully landscaped garden and lovely spacious bungalows with wooden walls, ours was directly overlooking a little river with a small waterfall (the sound of the water during the night was nice). The receptionist was very friendly, and we received a free map of the Rincon de la Vieja park upon arrival. Around the hotel there are ponds and pastures for horses. And nice views of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. There were lemon and orange trees in the garden and lots of birds, frogs and we even saw a snake once! There are trails directly leaving from the garden of the hotel - a one hour trail to the Mirador and a trail to thermal waters belonging to another hotel. It is also a short drive away from the Pailas entrance to the Park. The only downside was the dinner - seemed like a pre-fabricated dish, potato puree coming from a box (who would expect that??) and little choice (besides being quite expensive, the cheapest dish was 10$). The restaurant seemed like geared towards organised trips rather than independent travellers (but at the time we were there, there was nobody else eating, so seemed kind of weird). Luckily the breakfast was good and included in the price of the hotel - lots of fresh fruit and good strong coffee a volonte, gallo pinto and eggs, toasts, jam and cornflakes. A good start of the long day of walking the trails of the Park! The service was very friendly. One more thing - there are lots of insects at night, so bring repellent, despite the fact that windows have a mosquito net, but some insects enter nevertheless through the door. Swimming pool was tiny and not really worth going in, but we didn't mind, plenty of other things to do in the nearby Park.

    • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank KlaraAleksandra
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 April 2011

    This is not the place to go if you really want amenities. Basic cabin, with holes on walls, but good food in the restaurant. The bar was also a goode place to rest and get a cold drink. José a local guide and the rest of the staff were OK. The local is beautiful and very close to the park entrance but it needs a big and profound renovation.

    Room Tip: You get better in Guachipelin Hacienda
    • Stayed: April 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Coutito
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 1 January 2011

    The Rincon de la Vieja Lodge was by far one of the worst hotels we ever stayed at in 31 years of travelling. It's run down and in very bad need of renovations. We had booked for 3 nights and left after 1 night. Luckily, they did not ask for a deposit or a credit card number before arrival. I would rate it a 1-star at best. The chalets are old and run down. The bathroom is even worse, a mere trickle of hot water in the shower and no hot water at all in the old dirty sink. There are holes everywhere: under the door, windows, walls, etc. God knows what can come crawling into the room. I did not sleep all night, which never happens to me... The dining room and food are equally bad. It's too bad really because the grounds and the location would be excellent. We moved to the Guachipelin Hacienda just 5 minutes away, an excellent decision, no comparison.

    • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Roadstariders
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews