We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon de La Vieja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The lodge is located on beautiful peaceful grounds and is conveniently located close to the park. The park also is a hidden gem in Costa Rica as it is much less crowded but just as beautiful as other parks.
The staff is amazing and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The manager lived in the states and many other countries and really knows what travelers want. I have traveled all over the world and the staff here is really top notch. They are so welcoming you will want to stay longer.
If you enjoy nature, birdwatching, or want some to get away from the tourist crowds and enjoy a natural beautiful setting in Costa Rica come here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    39
    32
    21
    21
See reviews for
23
59
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were traveling with our 9 month old son who still needs a couple of (hot) bottles per day. They do not have a microwave, so my boyfriend had to go sit in the car with the bottle heater for 30min every time we needed a bottle. Our room was horrible, no hot water and way too many disgusting bugs and insects. We did not see this when we got there and they did not mention the fact that the room had no hot water and they saw we were traveling with a baby. And they asked 70$ for the room :/ We stayed in much nicer places for less during our trip.
When I asked for a guided tour of the park, they said they only had tours in Spanish. This is kinda weird since a lot of tourist don't speak Spanish and everywhere we went, you always had the option of English or Spanish. I would definitely not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinnelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rincon de La Vieja hotels

Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
406 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We didn't stay here but stopped for the horse ride, swam in the hot springs and had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Although the ride was 2 1/2 hours long, midway we swam in the hot springs which was really enjoyable. Our guide however, knew no English but my Spanish was good enough to understand him. He did point out a lot and the ride was enjoyable but after two hours in the saddle, we couldn't go on further to see the waterfall (too bad). Sadly the volcano's peak was also covered in heavy cloud as well.

The location of the lodge is very beautiful and we enjoyed the lunch (typical Costa Rican fare) and our host, told us about his adventures in Canada which made it a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The lodge is in a very beautiful garden and peaceful surroundings. My room (35) was very dark even with lights on. The bed however was comfortable. The shower was not great but there was warm water and clean big towels. Especially because of the surroundings and friendly staff a place worth visiting. Perhaps the rooms are noisy because they don't have windows but gauze. Since I had no neighbours I can't tell. I did a horseback riding trip which I van also recommend. The horses are very well taken care off.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a very lovely, slightly remote place! We were charmed by the grounds and lovely cabins. I can't say we had hot water, though.....But the hammock on the front porch was great and the stream running behind the back porch was so beautiful. The people that work there are very helpful and kind, although I wasn't really impressed with the food there. It is all worth it though for the proximity to the national park and the lodge's grounds.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This lodge is back to basic. No luxury at all... It's very simple, quiet and it has a peaceful setting. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel, where everything is perfect, this is not the lodge for you.

Cabins: They are very simple but you have all you need (bed, lining, clean towels, soap, shower and hot water). We didn't know what to expect so we took a bugnet in case we needed it since some bugs can get in the cabin (an idea in case you are like me). The cabins are very clean, they clean your rooms everyday. Our cabin had a river running in the back which had a clear running water sound all night (cabin #40). It was nice to have a feeling of nature in our stay. There is no air conditioner in the cabins, but you won't need it. The climate is very fresh at night and you just open a little bit the windows and that's it. You have a little fan on the ceiling that you can use in case you need it. In my opinion this cabin is great if you have a family, we had 3 beds and only used one.

Service: Staff is very nice and informative. They treat their guest with respect and answer all you questions and needs.

Food: It was ok. This is what made me give a 4 star instead of 5. The breakfast is included with your stay. It was ok, but not the best I've had experienced in Costa Rica. We didn't have lunch at the hotel but did have dinner with them. Dinner was ok also, but expensive. I wouldn't mind to pay $17/person if the food was super good but that was not the case. We went out to Playa Cocos to eat on our second night, spent half of this with some drinks and had an awesome meal by the beach (Beach Bums Bar & Grillt). If you have a car this could be an option. It was an hour to get there but we didn't mind.

Ambiance: Quiet, peaceful and unique. Grounds are well mantained. There is a trail from the hotel that will take you to the Hot springs that I heard was nice. We didn't do it due to lack of time but there was a family that told us on their way back they saw the monkeys. (Hint: around 5pm they come out to get some food because most people are already done with their hikes, good time to see the monkeys).

Pool: It has a little pool, great for kids. I didn't care about it.

Overall, this is a great lodge, I would stay here again and is the closest lodge to Rincon la Vieja NP.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin instead of a room. They have more room and are very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Rincon was one of our favorite stops on a recent visit to Costa Rica. On the hotel's extensive grounds we saw howler monkeys, very unusual birds, insects and other creatures. Our cabin backed onto a little stream that serenaded us all night long. The most amazing flowers grow all over the grounds, but especially by the stream. The food was great, and we found it to be the most reasonably priced food of our entire trip. Carlos, the head wait staff was awesome. So helpful, knowledgeable and professional. The swimming pool is small but very refreshing. It was delightful. The national park is amazing. We also really enjoyed seeing the extensive geothermal plants harnessing all that volcanic energy. Distribution lines head north, carrying renewable power to Nicaragua and Mexico! I just wish we had scheduled more time there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de La Vieja hotels
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,310 reviews
4.7 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
439 reviews
8.9 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
223 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
773 reviews
10.3 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon de la Vieja Lodge

Property: Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Address: Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Lodge is located inside the Guanacaste Conservation Area at the side of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Dedicated to eco-tourism, it is the closest Lodge / Hotel to the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rincon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Rincon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing