We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and comfortable”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rincon de La Vieja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is exactly what it states, it is a mountain lodge, rustic but comfortable. The rooms are basic but its not pricey. Its clean and in a very nice surrounding, the staff are super friendly and hospitable, and we really enjoyed our meals which were very tasty and good value. It is quiet and very close to the park headquarters for great hikes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

The spacious cabins were basic...but who cares....the location was wonderful. Ponies wander over the site and you wake up to hear them outside your window. The bathrooms only seem to have cold water...but this is refreshing on a hot day. The lake has resident frogs which hop over the walkways at night. The stars are plentiful and the pool clean and refreshing.
The horse riding tour to the waterfall was wonderful and the horses were well cared for and very willing. The walk to the hot springs is supposed to take 45 minutes but took us 90 minutes and that was a hard walk. The facilities there are adequate though and if you enjoy walking it is a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. We spent two nights here and could have happily stayed longer. The National Park is closed on Mondays. The restaurant food was not great but it was adequate and although in theory there was only red meat on offer the manager came up with some fish when requested.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreaat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The lodge is located on beautiful peaceful grounds and is conveniently located close to the park. The park also is a hidden gem in Costa Rica as it is much less crowded but just as beautiful as other parks.
The staff is amazing and go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. The manager lived in the states and many other countries and really knows what travelers want. I have traveled all over the world and the staff here is really top notch. They are so welcoming you will want to stay longer.
If you enjoy nature, birdwatching, or want some to get away from the tourist crowds and enjoy a natural beautiful setting in Costa Rica come here.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We were traveling with our 9 month old son who still needs a couple of (hot) bottles per day. They do not have a microwave, so my boyfriend had to go sit in the car with the bottle heater for 30min every time we needed a bottle. Our room was horrible, no hot water and way too many disgusting bugs and insects. We did not see this when we got there and they did not mention the fact that the room had no hot water and they saw we were traveling with a baby. And they asked 70$ for the room :/ We stayed in much nicer places for less during our trip.
When I asked for a guided tour of the park, they said they only had tours in Spanish. This is kinda weird since a lot of tourist don't speak Spanish and everywhere we went, you always had the option of English or Spanish. I would definitely not recommend this hotel for families.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinnelox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We didn't stay here but stopped for the horse ride, swam in the hot springs and had lunch here and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Although the ride was 2 1/2 hours long, midway we swam in the hot springs which was really enjoyable. Our guide however, knew no English but my Spanish was good enough to understand him. He did point out a lot and the ride was enjoyable but after two hours in the saddle, we couldn't go on further to see the waterfall (too bad). Sadly the volcano's peak was also covered in heavy cloud as well.

The location of the lodge is very beautiful and we enjoyed the lunch (typical Costa Rican fare) and our host, told us about his adventures in Canada which made it a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DavidTAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The lodge is in a very beautiful garden and peaceful surroundings. My room (35) was very dark even with lights on. The bed however was comfortable. The shower was not great but there was warm water and clean big towels. Especially because of the surroundings and friendly staff a place worth visiting. Perhaps the rooms are noisy because they don't have windows but gauze. Since I had no neighbours I can't tell. I did a horseback riding trip which I van also recommend. The horses are very well taken care off.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a very lovely, slightly remote place! We were charmed by the grounds and lovely cabins. I can't say we had hot water, though.....But the hammock on the front porch was great and the stream running behind the back porch was so beautiful. The people that work there are very helpful and kind, although I wasn't really impressed with the food there. It is all worth it though for the proximity to the national park and the lodge's grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de La Vieja hotels
2.0 mi away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,359 reviews
4.6 mi away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
484 reviews
8.9 mi away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
792 reviews
10.3 mi away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
986 reviews
3.7 mi away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rincon de la Vieja Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rincon de la Vieja Lodge

Address: Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: £44 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Lodge is located inside the Guanacaste Conservation Area at the side of the Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Dedicated to eco-tourism, it is the closest Lodge / Hotel to the Rincon de la Vieja National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rincon De La Vieja Hotel Rincon De La Vieja
Rincon De La Vieja Lodge Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing