We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rincon de la Vieja Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hacienda Guachipelin(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure(Rincon de La Vieja)(Great Value!)
US$54
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Paraiso Tropical(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Canon de la Vieja Lodge(Rincon de La Vieja)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
19
43
36
24
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
43
36
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful settingcabinhammocksnaturevolcanotransportation
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place has a excellent one day adventure pass for $85 which is worth it because it includes horseback riding, tubing down fairly mild rapids, zip line, hot springs and a fantastic lunch. The owners have a mint here with the adventure pass. The hotel is nice but seems to be secondary venture. The rooms are clean but the staff is uninterested in the most part and the owners seem to nickle and dime you for everything. Lunch and dinner are expensive at $20 for buttet but lots of add ons for tax and service (1/3 of our bill!). We had a problem with our shower that took 1/2 hour (no lie!) to get right. I asked reception to have someone see about it and a tipsy maintenance guy showed up to tell me that I have to play with the hot and cold to get it right. Wow, thanks for the help. You know the drill they are nice at check in but from there on out you are prey to the old game of "get the foreigners to part with their money". The cheaper option for food is at the bar. The bartender is very friendly.

Room Tip: The rooms away from reception have a great view but you'll have to walk past the horse stables to get to them.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Redzebra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This property is gorgeous and the fact that you are on the edge of the National Park is a huge plus BUT the food is horrendous, the lodgings (because of the holes between boards) let a myriad of bugs in on a constant basis, and electricity is only on for a few hours per day. None through the night to run your fan when you need it most.. We brought a mosquito net but there was no way to attach it (or they just couldn't be bothered). We were eaten alive during our 3 day stay, and to be honest, despite the beauty of hiking in the forest it just wasn't worth it.

They say they're an ECO Lodge but while we were there, they BURNT what they called garden waste all afternoon (great for the asthma suffer) and sprayed god knows what all over the grounds to keep down the mosquitoes. The next morning there was a HUGE toad dead on the path to our cabin. This is not an eco resort so don't be fooled by the name.

We were over charged for everything and the food was atrocious. In fact, they just write out a bill and expect you to sign it when there isn't even a price listed. It was just ridiculous. One night we were charged $40 dollars for a buffet, then the next night we were charged $30 for some shoe leather meat, old bread and soup broth. It was just ridiculous what was going on there... especially when they have computers there.

There was only electricity for a few hours in the morning (when you didn't need it) then it was off all day until the sun went down. So, if you're hot in the afternoon, you can't even turn a fan on in your cabin. Then, at 10 pm it's lights out - they turn off the power all night... so you roast without a fan all night. Good Times! And given that there is a HUGE power station down the road, we can only assume the Owner is so greedy he doesn't care how uncomfortable his visitors are... as long as they pay him what they owe!
Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else until the owner of this place decides hiring a chef and really being an Eco Lodge is the way to go. It seems that right now he hires kids with issues to live on site, pays them nothing and keeps all the profits for himself. Sad way to run a business.

Room Tip: Don't stay here! It seriously is not worth the money.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TooAmigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

if YOU (the reader) wants a more in-depth and over-all assessment (beating my drum here) --> check a recent (as of April 2014) post @ http://www.betunada.wordpress.com with notes on Volcan Rincon and (quite) nearby Rio Negro Hot Springs. we just were driving by and pulled in and were easily and effortlessly checked in. breakfast (and it was good) included -- my kids paid but i think it was about $60/night per room! Dinner was buffet and good, also. I think we were most impressed by the ambiance, "the vibe" if you will, of the place. We were tired from a day hiking at the Volcan and were really ready to just throttle back and be waited on. Like other reviewers said, this is somewhat "basic" -- but, hey! do you want to kick back and relax and soak in the ambiance or find the internet and be mentally elsewhere? i would like to return and stay a few more days -- hike to some hot springs a couple miles away, jog the trails, and use this as a base to be more ambitious in regards hiking Rincon. And -- it's not far to Rio Negro Hot Springs.

Room Tip: we should have taken one of the (slightly) more remote cabins -- there are a few of these (well, more than "a few") but still close. we were in the main motel-like buiding, mostly because we had two small kids.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiburondelnorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is exactly what it states, it is a mountain lodge, rustic but comfortable. The rooms are basic but its not pricey. Its clean and in a very nice surrounding, the staff are super friendly and hospitable, and we really enjoyed our meals which were very tasty and good value. It is quiet and very close to the park headquarters for great hikes.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elainehansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The spacious cabins were basic...but who cares....the location was wonderful. Ponies wander over the site and you wake up to hear them outside your window. The bathrooms only seem to have cold water...but this is refreshing on a hot day. The lake has resident frogs which hop over the walkways at night. The stars are plentiful and the pool clean and refreshing.
The horse riding tour to the waterfall was wonderful and the horses were well cared for and very willing. The walk to the hot springs is supposed to take 45 minutes but took us 90 minutes and that was a hard walk. The facilities there are adequate though and if you enjoy walking it is a pleasant way to spend an afternoon. We spent two nights here and could have happily stayed longer. The National Park is closed on Mondays. The restaurant food was not great but it was adequate and although in theory there was only red meat on offer the manager came up with some fish when requested.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreaat62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews