We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Larkspur Landing Campbell(Campbell)(Great Value!)
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bristol Hotel(Campbell)(Great Value!)
US$203
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carlyle Hotel(Campbell)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Residence Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard San Jose Campbell(Campbell)(Great Value!)
US$360
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Campbell Inn(Campbell)
US$199
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$481
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$458
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Row Hotel(San Jose)
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
33
31
8
8
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
31
8
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsextended staywalking distance to downtownlos gatos creek trailvisit family in the areamarriott chainpet policybusy freewaywhole foodsone bedroom suiteroom was very clean and comfortablesilicon valleyan upgradebreakfast was includedfree parkinghotel staffnice staywould definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We just had a HORRIBLE few days at this hotel. I feel badly for some of the people we talked to who were staying longer. There is a REALLY nice Courtyard a couple of blocks away and as soon as we could get a room there we moved. There is another hotel accross the street that we would have moved to if we could not have found a room at the Courtyard.

This hotel is very tired and worn out. Furniture is beat up, bathroom and kitchen cabinets are beat up, AC units are really noisey, and the beds are extremely uncomfortable. It was nearly impossible to sleep as you can hear every door open up and close. The gym is a joke, a bike and a broken treadmill. They do offer a pass to a gym down the street but I never could find anybody in the office to get a pass.

Staff is indifferent and will barely acknowledge you when you walk in. Definately not a typical Marriott experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank coloradoheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for staying with us in August. We appreciate your business. I am very sorry that you had a negative experience.

We are only 7 years new, so I am sorry that you reported that we are worn out. Incidentally, we are going through our mandatory Marriott renovation (every 6 years). We are just finishing the painting and re-carpeting of all of the rooms. We will then replace all of the sofas, lamps, drapes and mattresses.

I apologize that our extended stay, limited service gym did not meet your needs. We have three pieces of equipment in there with a weight area. I have not heard of any issues with the threadmill. It is working fine.

I am sorry that you could not find anyone at the front desk. We do have front desk 24 hours a day. They might have been refreshing the complimentary coffee or fruit that is out in the dining room 24 hours a day.

Again, I am sorry that you did not have a great stay.

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We chose this property as it was dog friendly and close to where we were going to a retirement party. We knew the area and it turned out to be even better than we planned. There is a large set of trails (bicycle, jogging, walking, dog friendly) that start right behind the hotel. While you are right next to the freeway, you immediately feel like you are out in the country on these trails. Lots of friendly people, lots of different places to go. There is a dog park nearby, a bit of a walk, but a nice one. The rooms were quiet and the breakfast served was more than sufficient. We had a great time and would return. We liked that they do a lot of recycling in the dining area, cute signs to indicate which of the breakfast items go where in the recycling scheme.

Room Tip: Ask for a room along the creek side of the hotel, away from the freeway.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLRaceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Thank you for commenting on my compostable, recycle and trash organizer in the dining room. We were a test property for the Waste Company for the compostable program. It has been very popular. We still have the examples of which garbage item goes in what hole. That was a suggesting by a guest. It was a great idea and I see people stopping and looking at the examples before they drop their item in the corresponding hole.

We also have recycle trash cans in all of the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We were very satisfied with our two night stay. The hotel is located in an excellent area, not only close to several big companies but also to a nice old-fashioned shopping complex (walking distance) and a large recreational area: Right behind the hotel you will find two bike trails along a creek. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was large and well furnished including a complete kitchen. The bed was comfortable, everything very clean and in perfect working condition. No complaints of any kind. Not even the busy freeway right in front of our windows disturbed us: With three layers of window panes it was very quiet. Receptionists and housekeepers were friendly, polite, and helpful. A few months back we stayed at a different TownPlace Suites only about ten miles from this one. It was good but not on the same level as this hotel in Campbell.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel border a public park and are very quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buddy-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband & I needed a place to stay with our cat while work was being done on our house for a few days. This hotel perfectly suited our needs. It was in our neighborhood, so we could get to all the things we wanted, plus we could check up on our house. We had a queen studio room, which was essentially one large room with a kitchenette & bathroom attached. It was just the right space for a few days, but would have felt cramped for a longer stay. Not much storage in either the bed or kitchen area. Also no dining table / just one chair at a small desk, so you have to eat at the couch, which is weird considering how there's a full fridge, microwave, & 2-burner stove -- no point in cooking anything substantial. But fine if you're just getting takeout. Byo coffee filters unless you want to drink hotel coffee. Basic electronics -- we couldn't hook up a DVD player to the TV, so you're stuck w/pay-per-view. The hotel has a nice hot tub & is next to a great park & the Los Gatos Trail for walking/biking. Walking distance to downtown Campbell in one direction, the Pruneyard Shopping Center in the other. Staff was great, & having our cat with us was not a problem for them or us.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are pet-friendly (so don't go there unless you have a pet!). The side that faces the park has a better view.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrystanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Trystan,

Thank you so much for your review and kind words. I hope that your cat had a comfortable stay also. You can visit our pet facebook page to see pictures of other pets that have stayed in the hotel over the years and hear about some of their stories. We do accept pets ($75 fee) and always try to put them on the 1st floor, so that they can easily exit the building. There are other people who stay on the 1st floor that do not have pets.

I am sorry that the studio suite's desk did not meet your needs. In the future, please request a home office suite. The only difference is that the desk is very large and has a lower desk that rolls out and you can move it anywhere in the room.

I am sorry that you could not hook up your devices on the TV. In the future, you can call the desk to help or simply disconnect the one cord for the pay per view and then plug in your DVD and operate the TV manually.

Again, I am glad that you had a good stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The person at the front desk was extremely nice. The suites were very large. The beds comfortable. The setting quiet. But, the couch was so nasty I did not want to sit on it. The test of the furnishings were old and just felt not clean. For over $209 a night I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onobed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2012

Onobed,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you thought the couch was dirty. We have the carpets and sofa bed couches professionally cleaned two times a year. The hotel and all of the furniture is only 6 years old. We are scheduled for a renovation this year (estimated around September right now) and all of the beds, couches, carpet, paint, and pictures will all be replaced. I hope that you come back then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews