We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring air freshner, slippers, linnens, or extra $$ to stay elsewhere!!!!”
Review of Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is the absolute worst most disgusting hotel my family or I have ever stayed at!!!! If it was not 11:30PM we would have attempted to secure a room elsewhere. Needless to say we only stayed 1 night. Is the option for no stars available?
Upon checking in the clerk attempted to charge us extra for our 7 year old. The halls of the hotel are not air conditioned. Upon entering the NON-SMOKING room, we were overwhelmed/smothered in a thick stale stench of cigarette smoke, when brought to staffs attention they said that housekeeping never mentioned this upon maintaining the room ("maintaining the room"......laughable) however ultimately did bring us some air freshener (which didn't work). Not enough towels, though we stated intended occupancy in online booking (again why we refused to pay extra for our 7 year old).
Though I never trust bedspreads, never have I actually been able to “literally” count the stains on a bedspread, I had gotten to 6 different distinguishable stains before I was skeeved out and threw the bed spread in the corner.
Everything was dusty (again laughable that the rooms are "maintained"). The carpet could not be trusted and we ensured everyone wore something other than walking on the floors in bare feet. The shower had mold growing in the grout (not a little, a LOT!!) and the door to the bathroom had a hole punched into the center of it, poorly repaired with no attempt to even make it blend in. The continental breakfast was poor with the mix used in the waffles being so thin it that it ran out of the waffle maker as soon as you poor it into the iron. Lastly due to the sheer disgusting state of everything we were afraid of “bed bugs” though this never ended up being an issue this is totally the type of place that something like that would be an issue.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sboxrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it was not the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the mold in grout of the shower and the damaged bathroom door of the room assigned to you and instructed to see to necessary repairs.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

I got this place through Priceline. It was so awful I don't even know where to start. Upon arrival, I asked the clerk for 2 beds. He told me that since I chose 2 adults when bidding, I only get one king bed, it was their policy. I had to pay an extra $26.00 to get 2 single beds. I was baffled by this because not all adults want to share a bed. I argued for a while, but just gave up since they had a made up excuse for everything. The room was disgusting. The blankets had at least 5 holes in it. The headboard was so dusty, it looked like no one has cleaned it in months. The mini fridge didn't fit into the space they place, so the door swang open the entire time. I won't even go into the bathroom description. Don't bother using the Wifi, it doesn't work, even from the lobby. I don't know if I can trust Priceline for the lower stars. To add insult to injury, the hotel is not in Palo Alto, but in San Jose. I was visiting Stanford with my son and needed something near. I was also driving up to Portland after, so convenience was important. By the way, this place is not cheap. It was over $100. Here's a tip, just stay at any other chain motel, and stay away from this crap hole.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it was not the pleasant experience you had anticipated.

Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping staff received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem you reported concerning the mini fridge, the problems with the bathroom, and the non-working Wifi and instructed to all necessary repairs.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Upon arrival to the room, I noticed what smelled like cigarette smoke that had tried to be covered up.
I asked to be moved to another room, was shown two other rooms, which had the same smell. Because of the condition of the room in general, I pulled the sheet and blanket down. The sheet had was appeared to be blood stains along with holes on the sheets. The pillowcases also had stains and looked used without washing.
I called to have clean sheets brought up...but I forgot to add additional clean pillowcases. I would think that would be automatic to include the cases with the "clean" sheets. NO...had to specifically ask for clean cases.
There was ONE washcloth in a room for two people.
I had to go and ask for another one from the woman cleaning the rooms.
When I mentioned the washcloth issue, I was asked why I didn't call and ask for one????
REALLY! Are you joking?
My question is why would I have to ask..makes sense 2 people, 2 washcloths.
More to the point was the attitude of the clerk...not concerned with the paying customer...
only her inconvenience.
I have stayed in that hotel on another occasion and had a good experience.
That is why the reservation was made.
I know "things" happen but it is the clerks duty to represent the companies policy and attitude and to make sure staying is a good experience so you want to come back.
This was hardly that.
This hotel is off my list.
You don't pay to be treated like you just came off the street and the hotel is doing YOU a favor.
I am so stunned that a hotel such as this would have the first person you meet, have such an attitude and be rude on top of that.
This will never happen again, at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't book your reservation at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41traveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• The desk clerk received additional training in the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated.

• Housekeeping received additional training in the courteous manner in which our valued guests are to be treated. They also received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The bed was very comfortable and the room was extremely quiet. Couldn't hear any traffic. However, there was suppose to be a refridgerator and there wasn't . There was a cupboard where it should be with an electrical outlet, but no fridge. This was very inconvienet.

Room Tip: ask in advance for fridge in room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

interfered with sleep. December 2009, the mattresses were fine but a year makes a big difference. We had 4 rooms for family and they all complained about the beds.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lattylock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlylehotelcampbell, Webmaster at Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Carlyle Hotel for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• We approached the management with your review, and the problems you and your family experienced with the beds. We discussed the possibility of making them more comfortable.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Carlyle Hotel. We take our reviews seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed one night. This is right off the freeway, I mean RIGHT off it & on a busy street. We were worried because the area does not look safe in daylight & it is right next door to a hotdog haus <that's open 24 hrs a day..that's just weird>
the parking is in the basement & not attended or patroled. A sign said not to leave anything valuable in sight in the car...that was kinda scarey. The luggage cart had under inflated wheels. We told them about it & we used it the next day & the wheels didn't want to turn they were still so flat. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing away from the street.
The curtains were really efficiently room darkening. The beds were comfortable I'd rate them 8 out of 10. The room was not cramped. The bathroom had a light that was motion sensitive...and a toilet that was super loud as it was a water conserver kind. The carpet was kind of old, and there were stains on the mattress cover, though the sheets were clean and very soft. There were plenty of blankets though some were showing their age they were soft and clean. The breakfast was included and was continental... it was not hugely varied, but it was adequate if you aren't into big hot breakfasts. We found didn't have a problem sleeping, it was quiet, comfortable convenient and the staff was attentive. Note: we always travel with a white noise maker because we have a difficult time sleeping, it doesn't mask medium to loud noises. I believe that you could hear the freeway noise but I think that it was a constant swishing background noise that other people wouldn't mind. and it wasn't obvious if you were just sitting in the room reading.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanyM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel a few times. What I really enjoy about staying at the hotel is once you stay here, the staff won't forget you. I have business right down the street. It's clean, comfortable and front desk gal is very helpful with local area. This guys understand that everyone is an a budget. Rates are affordable and lots of local resturants. Try the indian place next door. Great trail for you runners.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Campbell
0.4 mi away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
167 reviews
1.8 mi away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
1.3 mi away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#8 of 9 in Campbell
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Los Gatos Lodge
Los Gatos Lodge
#6 of 6 in Los Gatos
242 reviews
6.6 mi away
Cupertino Hotel
Cupertino Hotel
#1 of 6 in Cupertino
1,079 reviews
5.2 mi away
Valley Inn
Valley Inn
#50 of 75 in San Jose
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1300 Camden Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-6702
Region: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range: £100 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlyle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Carlyle Hotel in Campbell, California located just off Hwy 17. After a long, tiring day on the road, there's nothing better than checking into the Carlyle Hotel that offers the best location, the most amenities and a totally stress free environment. From the time the guest steps into the Carlyle Hotel lobby, they are surrounded by European Renaissance artwork. Imported marble, crystal chandeliers, Queen Anne furnishings and superior guest service. Our spacious guest rooms are well decorated with fine Queen Anne cherry furnishing as well as Crystal chandelier, armoire and well-lighted desk. If you want truly affordable Luxury, look no further! Carlyle Hotel in Campbell will be the easiest part of your trip. At the Carlyle Hotel, we want you to enjoy your stay and to help make sure that happens we offer beautiful, clean rooms, to help you relax at the end of a busy day.Every morning our Carlyle Hotel guests are invited to enjoy our complimentary Breakfast Buffet. Our Breakfast spread includes eggs, sausage, potatoes, fresh fruit, hot or cold cereals, fresh hot waffles, breads, pastries, assorted juices, teas, and fresh brewed coffee.Carlyle Hotel visitors are close to Los Gatos Creek recreational areas that offer boating, hiking, and picnic areas. There are several shops and a variety of restaurants located in the surrounding area. Our hotel is accessible to Highway 17, 880, 85, 280 and 101. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Campbell
Best Western Campbell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing