We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay hotel at Paro, Bhutan”
Review of Hotel Druk Paro

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paro
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Druk Paro
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is located in an elevated place outside the Paro town about 2 km away. It is a very good location from where one can view Paro Airport, Paro town, far away snow covered Himalayan moutains. A nice view of the flights landing and taking off at the back drop of mountains is a view to enjoy. More over, it was a very quiet environ.
It is a newly built hotel. Some construction works were still going on during day time. As we were told by the hotel staff, there are three categories of rooms viz., Standard Deluxe Single costing INR 2900, Standard Deluxe Double costing INR 3200 and Suites costing INR 4500 (1 USD = 60 INR approx. as on date). We had stayed in Standard Deluxe Double.
As we enter the lobby, we got feeling of a heritage hotel as the lobby is designed carefully with Bhutanese art to give a traditional look. Even the hotel building and rooms from outside are looking very colourful and traditional. Hotel porters were there to help with our luggages and most of them are ladies which embarassed us to make them to cary our luggages.
Rooms are very spacious, very clean with spacious twin beds. We had asked for a room with Queen size bed, but it was in the ground floor while we prferred a room in the first floor to have a good view. TV, intercom, coffe/tea makers were there. Attached bath room is also very spacious with good lighting and aesthetic bath tub and a seperate bath cubicle all having new design shower attachments. Hot and cold water was available all through day and night. A private balcony was there for the room. It is a memorable experience to sit in the balcony with a cup pf tea or coffee and watch the far off snow covered montains during morning or evenng. Only problem is of house flies in the balcony which may enter the room if the room doors anot closed.
The restaurant is very spacious, clean and serves limited continental, Chinese, American, Indian and Bhutanese food items. Food was by and large good and tasty. All the staff are courteous and helpful.
We stayed there for two nights and it was memorable. Feel like going again and stay there during winter to have a winter experience in such a nice hotel and its location.Value for money is very good.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give a nice view of the Paro town/Airport/Mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Trinetra7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

The hotel is beautifully located just next to the airport , you can actually watch the air strip , you can watch the snow capped peaks and the view from from my fourth floor was cool. No lifts so better be walking, Food is just ok. Ask for a water bottle pay right their !! no signing to your room bill. People are friendly and only women bell (girls) which was a little embarrassing. conveniently located from the paro market and tiger monastery.

Room Tip: try getting the first floor rooms which have balcony gives you a better view and only a floor to cli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gannitraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We have reached Paro Airport as backpack travelers and did not have any prior Hotel booking at the airport but the immigration officer insisted on providing an accommodation before allowing a permit. (Whereas Indian passport holders are allowed without any visa and prior hotel and guide booking.) The officer suggested us Hotel Paro and told us that we had to stay there.

The rooms were quite small with the standard of other hotels in Paro. After checking in, the owner told us that the water supply is disrupted and it will be resumed within an hour. So, we decided to have a sight seeing meanwhile and have breakfast/ lunch outside because the Hotel restaurant could not provide any meal because of non-availability of water.

Also we realized that the toilets in both rooms we have checked in, were in complete disarrayed and were not flushed after their usage before we have checked in whereas they were tagged with Sanitized stickers. We complained of that and the receptionist told us that she would rectify that however, the maximum she did was to provide us with a bucket full of water after 45 minutes.

After that the owner assured us that everything will be resolved by the time we would be back. We came back in the evening and realized that still there was no water moreover they could not provide any meal. When inquired how and when this could be resolved, the owner answered that they had fixed the problem but a guest kept the tap open and emptied the water tank so there was no water but they would resolve it within next hour.

Having no option to checkout at that time, we decided to stay. We could not bear with any longer when there was no water until the next day and despite several requests, the hotel staff did not provide us any water. Later on, we had to bring water by ourselves in the morning a bucket from downstairs. I still feel that that was the worst experience of my life.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank njaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lenguina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Все номера прекрасны
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ирина М
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ganz63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2014
Thank PeterdeNooijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paro hotels
0 mi away
Kichu Resort Paro
Kichu Resort Paro
#5 of 16 in Paro
241 reviews
0 mi away
Olathang Hotel
Olathang Hotel
#8 of 16 in Paro
335 reviews
0 mi away
Tiger's Nest Resort
Tiger's Nest Resort
#9 of 16 in Paro
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Naksel Boutique Hotel & SPA
0 mi away
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
Hotel Dorjee-Ling
#14 of 16 in Paro
16 reviews
0 mi away
COMO Uma Paro
COMO Uma Paro
#1 of 16 in Paro
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Druk Paro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Druk Paro

Address: Paro, Bhutan
Region: Bhutan > Paro District > Paro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Paro
Price Range: £21 - £26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing