We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kichu Resort Paro
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
88
105
37
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
105
37
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbig areanice cottagesscenic locationnon vegetarianroom servicehot waterseparate sitting arearooms are comfortablesurrounded by mountainsindian foodmemorable staycomfortable staytown centrestandard roomneeds improvementelectric blankets
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

As we were coming from the Wangdi Kichu resort, we had high expectations and we were not disappointed. The property is huge. We were given the last cottage near the stream which had beautiful views on both sides. Early in the morning, the sight of cloud covered hills is entrenched in my memory. The cottage is actually 4 average sized rooms with a common living room. Neat and clean and nothing more.

Both food and service are good. We reached in the evening and wanted tea and snacks. Initially, they said that as they had too many guests, the chef is busy with dinner and cannot make snacks. But later, despite our acceptance of the reason, and even though the hotel policy is no room service, they served us hot pakodas and tea in the room. At dinner, we were served Kewa Datshi, which is potato in a chilli-cheese gravy dish. Yummy!

One day we wanted to go for a walk and I had picked up the key tag and didn't realise that the key had fallen off. The room is kind of self-locking and doesn't require the key to lock it. When we returned to the room, we found that I didn't have the key. When we went to the reception, we were in for a shock. They didn't have a duplicate key (they said only for this room). After trying for some time with various keys, the house-keeping in-charge simply entered the room through the window (which was latched, the carpenter managed to open it) and opened the door!

Unforgettable place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrisBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

When we drove ourselves from Kolkata planning last minute we couldn't book any hotels. On reaching Paro while searching out for a good hotel with a view ( which was a must for us) we came across this resort. Got inside to check the place & room, the reception girl was very warm and welcoming and readily agreed to show the room.Since all the deluxe rooms were already booked She showed us the standard room. But honestly it was a blessing in disguise.. Standard room had the best view :- the windows directly open to the water stream flowing nearby.. amazing view.. we couldn't have asked more from this beautiful place of Bhuttan..
Resort is big enough with a garden area, tents & night party area,Spa & massage,sauna & steam driver accommodation with food.
They also have very good Wi Fi connectivity but only in lounge and reception area..
The rooms were a little bit small and less amenities but for that price it was good enough.
one disadvantage we felt was no coffee/ tea arrangement in room. so morning had to walk all the way to reception to ask for tea in the room.as they don't have telephone in the room..
But the staff are very friendly and welcoming.
You can't expect more form this place for such a reasonable price. We were very happy..

Room Tip: Though the rooms are a bit small in Standard they have the best river side view of the resort. Standard rooms are like a cottage with four different rooms and a common lounge space.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DivyaNSaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This place is value for money. The location of this hotel is very serene, calm and close proximity to paro chu river makes it ideal location for all the tourist who wants to enjoy in the company of mother nature. The manager Mr Norbu deserves special praise for taking special care of us. The staff are very friendly and courteous. Keep it up

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rahul7705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

First your are Bhutan that doesnt mean that you cant get excellent properties - you can and not only the Taj or the Uma - Druk in Thimpu is excellent as well.
Kichu, first the people are lovely. Staff is very attentive and they try and make help you as much as they can. Its a nice setting and its a great place for kids to play.
BUT, the property is quite old, the bathrooms have a problem that you can have one shower and have to wait an hour for the water to heat up again. The rooms are quite small and basic but clean. So if you dont mind that its fine.
The food is a problem - its not good. For vegetarians the choice is very limited and the portions are very small. For me there are better places in Paro.

Room Tip: We had the basic room as part of the package but I guess the higher categories might be better. The spa is good though.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhavalm420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our guide said that this was one of the ace properties in Paro a few years ago. The property itself is huge with cottages scattered all over so there is ample space even if it is full. There is no concept of service here though. Nobody seems to want to do anything and nobody seems to be in charge. Most of the times I found the staff just chatting on their phones oblivious to the needs of the guests. Rooms are large with separate seating area with TV but a bit run down and service is very substandard. We wanted out bed together and each was at different heights . They served coffee on one occasion and spilt it all over the table and did not even bother to apologise or clean it. Garden is huge but very badly maintained. The river runs by the edge of the property and presents a pretty sight. the only thing I found right about this place was the Spa. The place was spotless and treatment was very good. Not worth recommending. Hope the management wakes up and takes notice of the issues and hopefully it will return to its glory some day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vidhusagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews