We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed!”

Taktsang Palphug Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$955.00*
and up
3-Nights Highlight Tour of Bhutan from Paro
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Dehradun, India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was recommended Bhutan to travel from one of the my best friend and i only search for Bhutan and later, i was suggested by a travel agency, you should not be missed Tiger's nest and which is absolutely true! Even i am slow walker and take long time to get on the top, i feel like i am in the heaven.

It was very hard after a hour walk, but our guide says slowly slowly... so we finally made it. All of this credits goes to www.bhutanprivatetours.com who makes this trip very successful. If you are planning to visit Bhutan, dont miss this!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,647
    178
    20
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular!!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Only one word can truly tell what the Tiger's nest is really like. Spectacular! However, getting up there is a grind. Starting in the car park you walk for hours up rough dirt pathways. There is only one way up & down. I suggested they put in a cable car.

I'm 63 years young and it was tough. There is a café half way up - only toilet in 3 - 4 hours of walking. I guess bushes or trees are your only cover. After a long walk there are 700 steps down & up & along a mountain cliff face until finally you get to the monastery. The final entry to the monastery is so good. What an amazing experience. Then back you go to the car park again.

The views are spectacular! Rising up a few thousand meters gives panoramic views of the Paro mountains and the Tiger's nest hanging precariously on the cliff edge. This Building is a rebuilt structure as the first burnt down. I can not imagine how they got the job done the first time let alone the repairs. There are horses you can hire from the car park to the steps but only going up not down. It is tough but don't miss it. Bhutan is fabulous.

Regards,
Larry B

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank blandimportscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place in the world. The temple on the cliff , the highest temple in the world !!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Once you arrive , you can feel that you achieve. 10,000 feet from sea level. People who can achieve must be a special one.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julnudda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakarta
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ancient and beautiful monastery”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Taktshang Goemba or Tiger’s Nest Monastery was blessed and sanctified as one of Bhutan’s most sacred religious sites. It hangs on a cliff and stands above a beautiful forest of blue pine and rhododendrons.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vyonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Words can't explain what you see.”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

One of the must see places in Paro. While going up we took the pony which was perfectly safe. The dal and rice was awesome in the cafe on the top.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GMRAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taktsang Palphug Monastery also viewed

Thimphu, Thimphu District
Paro, Paro District
 
Paro, Paro District
Thimphu, Thimphu District
 

Been to Taktsang Palphug Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing