We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past her prime?”
Review of Ryokan Fujioto

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nagiso-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ryokan Fujioto
Certificate of Excellence
hawaii
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Past her prime?”
Reviewed 23 November 2007

We just spent three days traveling the Nakasendo. Started in Narai, then on to Magome and finished in Tsumago. All three villages well worth the time to visit, all three with a different charm. THe first 2 nights were in Minshuku, the last at the Ryokan Fujioto.
After reading glowing reviews here and elsewhere we certainly had high hopes that the final night would be the best of the three but were sadly disappointed. Fujioto seems well past her prime. To summarize:
We were able to leave our bags at the Ryokan as we arrived early with plenty of luggage and that was a help.
When we checked in a couple of hours later, we were shown to our room, which had nice views of two gardens. The room however was in serious need of a facelift: holes in the wall, badly worn furnishings, tatami that were well in need of repair, and a restroom that was a serious trip down a steep flight of stairs and a very long a drafty hallway which in the middle of the night was none too fun; the bath a nice wooden tub but too small for the number of guests...after staying at much less expensive Minshuku that were spotlessly clean and very well maintained we were saddened though not at all surprised as Ryokan often learn to coast on their laurels.
The meals were good, though not at all great by Japanese standards. Certainly the quantity of food was no issue. Several of the dishes were excellent including a grilled river fish. The owners seemed to be quite helpful to guests and especially to those in need of assistance not in Japanese that would certainly be a blessing. Overall,
I would not recommend Fujioto to a friend travelling to the region if other choices were available

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dougiedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    23
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
48
195
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fukui, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2007

First, Tsumago is a must-see, especially if you stay overnight and enjoy the town after the tour buses leave at 4pm. Almost untouched since the 19th century, in many places you see just what you would have seen hundreds of years ago. And Fujioto is the place to stay--one of the family members speaks English beautifully to attend to foreign guests--I don't think you'll hear anything but Japanese at the few other places in town. Fujioto is also quite a beautiful little inn, with wonderful views inside and out--the rooms themselves are works of art. Finally, Fujioto is a wonderful place to experience a first class traditional Japanese meal in a traditional but friendly setting. I take all my visitors here, and most have said that this is the one and only place they really felt like they were in the beautiful Japan they'd always dreamed about.

  • Liked — Inn itself is simply gorgeous, in a gorgeous location. Staff is fantastic, food is superb.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank privard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2006

This ryokan met all our hopes and requirements. It was in an excellent location. The service was friendly and welcoming. The food was totally tasty and local. We loved the setting for the meals looking over the rice pattys.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2006

We stayed here for 2 nights. The owner and his family were extremely friendly. We believe we got the best food in Japan here. (We were in Japan for 9 nights and stayed in 2 other Ryokans and ate in restaurants 3 nights). There are no bathrooms or showers in the rooms. The family bath, however, is convenient and private. There are toilets on each floor. Tsumago and the region is beautiful as well. We highly recommend this ryokan and town - it was the highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_Anne_Drizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2005

We stay at Fuijoto Ryokan 2 nights,and was wonderful !!!!
We traveled in Japan 2 weeks and Tsumago was the nice and picturesque village : you feel to stay in Samurai epoca !!!
The top was to stay at Ryokan Fujioto : the atmosphere ,the kidness of the owner Franco ,his wife ,and the daughter Sayaka make our stay memorable!!!
Our room was very spaciuos, clean and with a amazing view of the japanese garden and the mountains.
The food is excellent ,and all the family try to help you with all you wishes, we can highly reccomend .







  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagiso-machi
8.6 mi away
Hotel Route Inn Nakatsugawa Inter
0.0 mi away
Tokonamiso
Tokonamiso
#4 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Fuki no Mori
Hotel Fuki no Mori
#2 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Kisoji
Hotel Kisoji
#3 of 8 in Nagiso-machi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Hanasarasa
Hotel Hanasarasa
#1 of 15 in Nakatsugawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
4.0 mi away
Tajimaya
Tajimaya
#1 of 16 in Nakatsugawa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryokan Fujioto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryokan Fujioto

Property: Ryokan Fujioto
Address: Tsumago Azuma, Kiso-gun, Nagiso-machi 399-5302, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kiso-gun > Nagiso-machi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Nagiso-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Ryokan Fujioto Hotel Nagiso-Machi
Ryokan Fujioto Japan/Nagiso-Machi, Kiso-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing